We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

we stayed for a two night break for my birthday and we really enjoyed it all the staff are friendly and welcoming hope to go again in october we ate in the MPW resturant all excellent

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P1U2D3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree to celebrate your birthday.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your meal in the Marco pierre White Restaurant.

Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in October.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,381
    911
    403
    167
    91
See reviews for
452
1,435
51
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Just stayed for 2nights at the doubletree and although we were very disappointed to be informed the pool was closed for maintenance I am soooo pleased we didn't cancel and stay else where. This hotel was great from start to finish!! We were celebrating my sons 4th birthday with a trip to the zoo and on entering our lovely spacious suite we were greeted with a cake displaying "happy birthday" my son thought this was amazing!!!! The staff were very very helpful and the hotel itself was spotless. We also have a 10mth old baby and nothing was too much trouble in accommodating us. Food in the hotel again was really good and I will 100% stay at this hotel againand would recommend it to anyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments relating to your recent stay at the Doubletree.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you son enjoyed his birthday cake! The hotel is ideally located for visits to the zoo, which is a great day out!

We hope you will return soon, and be able to make use of the leisure facilitiies on your next visit.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have stayed a few times now at doubletree.

We had booked for three nights & unfortunately got an e-mail a week before going to say the leisure facilities were to have essential work carried out & would be unavailable. We made the mistake of cancelling & booked into Carden Park near by. We only stayed 1 night at Carden Park which was extremely disappointing. Staff were terrible. We had to go to a local pub for food. Hotel restaurants full !!

We re-booked into the Doubletree......... what a difference. From the moment you check in .....welcoming reception..... helpful concierge....... dining room team superb..... great bar staff ......... breakfast relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble.

There is a fantastic atmosphere amongst all the staff........ they all seem to really enjoy working there........ unlike the Carden Park staff.

So well done to the whole team there......... you are SUPERB !!!!

We will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us when you visit Chester.

It is unfortunate that we had to close the leisure facilities on this occasion, however, I am very pleased that you decided to return to the hotel for the rest of your visit.

Your feedback regarding the hotel and especially the staff is fantastic and very encouraging.

I am delighted that you are planning to visit again soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

even though the leisure club was shut on the monday the disturbance was to a minimum.
i would go again..wish they had a tennis court !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCarsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

It is fantastic that you had a great experience and you were pleased with the service you received from the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Have just arrived back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and have had a really lovely time. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous. We arrived to a lovely warm cookie and were checked in quickly, however 1 of our rooms were not ready but this was not a problem as our other room was. The only downside was that the pool was closing that day for repairs but we were notified in advance but did get the opportunity to try it when we arrived prior to it closing and it was impressive just sad we could not use it again during our stay.
The rooms have great facilites including internet connection, fridge and safe but there was a lack of drawers which I found unusual. The rooms are not very big but more than adequate for us. The bathrooms are excellent with a very powerful and hot shower. One thing I loved was that there was a sound system in the bathoom so you could hear the TV or music whilst in the shower. Breakfast was well organised with a good selection of food they will also make you pancakes or omelettes if required. All staff were friendly but service at the bar could be a little slow but this was not really an issue for us. There is a lovely sitting area outside in which you can enjoy drinks/lunch or breakfast when the weather is nice. The hotel in a little bit out of the town but a taxi from the hotel to the river was £5.10 which is cheaper than some of the parking charges in town, which I found were expensive. I would definatley return to this hotel and can recommend it for families as well as couples. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel and it took us a while to work out which bus passes but reception have timetables but we found that as there was 4 of us it was cheaper to take a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wander41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your break away with us and were satisfied with the facilities within the hotel. It is unfortunate that the Club and Spa was closed, though I am glad were able to make use of it at least once during your stay.

Public transport is definately the right choice into town as parking can be very expensive as you rightly point out.

Thank you for your feedback, I hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My wife and I have just returned from an enjoyable two night stay at the Doubletree Hilton. The hotel is of a very good standard. Unfortunately the pool, gym and spa were closed on the Monday of our visit for essential maintenance work. Rather a pity about the timing for us as the facilties are clearly excellent.
There is ample car parking for both hotel guests and members of the gym and spa. It is only a short journey by car or bus from the hotel into the centre of Chester. There is a bus stop directly outside the driveway of the hotel and buses run every 30 minutes so if you want to avoid problems with parking in the city centre then our advice is to use the bus!
Our double room, on the second floor, was comfortable, clean and well fitted out.
We had dinner on the second night of our stay in the hotel's Marco Pierre White Steakhouse. Excellent meal in elegant surroundings. The restaurant staff were pleasant, professional and efficient and clearly wanted to ensure that we left the restaurant very happy with our visit. We did and our thanks to them!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelupdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and particularly your meal in the Marco Pierre White Restaurant.
It is unfortunate that the Club and Spa was closed during your stay, but I hope that we can welcome you back again to the hotel in the future to experience the leisure facilities.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Would never go again, wanted to treat my daughter who was home from new Zealand and my family, the girl on the desk was rude and unhelpful, she got the rooms mixed up and blamed me, to get food or drinks you had to go to the bar no member of staff came to us, the only member of staff to smile and be nice was a chap who came to our room with drinks, overall pricey and not a nice atmosphere, I wrote to the manager to complain after our stay and didn't even get a reply.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomo1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay.

Is is however, extremely disappointing that you left less than satisfied by the experience and you were less than impressed by the service you received. Your comments will be taken seriously and are a concern as we are often praised for the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff.

I understand you may be reluctant to stay at the hotel again, however, I hope you wil reconsider and enable us the oppertunity to prove we are capable of providing a high standard of customer service in a comfortable enviroment.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,159 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,371 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing