We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
620 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“I'll be back !!”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Fabulous experience at the Doubletree. Check in fast efficient and smiles all round. Reasonable size room with large comfortable bed. Modern decoration, clean and well cleaned. Bathroom also very nice. Tea coffee in room along with iron and free Internet. Great breakfast. As for the spa ... Fabulous experience and could have spent much longer in there. Will def return some time soon.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    901
    400
    157
    89
See reviews for
444
1,412
50
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here with friends as a base for my Chester Hen Party. Arrived just after 2pm and checked in easily, although one of the rooms wasn't yet ready, this wasn't a problem as we were heading straight to the spa.
We had twin rooms which were modern, clean and spacious.
The spa had ran out of towels, but reception quickly got us some more, and all the facilities we used were great.
We were advised of the busy times for breakfast on check-in so made sure we were up early so we didnt have to que. On arrival to the restraunt we were seated straightaway and the only problem with breakfast was that it was too nice and i think we ate too much (i am vegetarian and there was still plenty of choice).
After breakfast we went back into the spa to make the most of it before out check-out time of 12noon.
My sister left her bag in the toilets in the changing room area, and it was handed it with everything still in-tact... thank you to whoever handed that in..!
We are all going to book for another girly weekend very soon, and we are going to book it as a treat for the hubbies/boyfriends too :-) 100% recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superstar1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We arived here for a 2 night stay for our honeymoon, first arrived given a cookie and a room key, was a little disapointed by the welcome as i came in a wedding dress so was clear we had just got wed. After a struggle with the bags ect, got to the room and was very happy as we booked a suite, cleanliness wasnt great bathroom a little dirty. The next day we had lunch in the lounge was nice but nothing special. After lunch we went to the spa, this was fab the staff were great and would recomend it to anyone, Later on that night we ate at marco pierre's resturant, which was the biggest dissapointment of out stay, menu was poor, tables and chairs old and drap, and the meal we had was not great very greasy. Would just like to say a thankyou to all the staff in the spa for making us feel so special will be returning soon to the spa.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree for an anniversry break whist visiting Chester.
I have to say that from check in to check out the stay was faultless.
All the staff are friendly and professional and really seem to value your custom.
The room was well equipped and spotlessly clean and as others have already commented the beds are extremely comfy.
We ate in the MPW restaurant where the staff once again were helpful and attentive, the food is not expensive when compared to similar higher quality eateries.
Breakfast is well organised and relaxed with freshly cooked items regularly replenished.
Lastly ensure you spend some time down in the spa complex - a great chill-out zone.

Taxis into Chester are £4-5 and are bookable at reception

This was our first visit and it will not be the last, well done.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greatoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Having had some less than exceptional experiences with the Hilton group hotels in the past, this made a pleasant change.
The staff always seemed to be working hard, were well presented and extremely helpful.
Excellent room as expected, and free wired internet at the table was most welcome. Found the lighting a bit difficult to control, seemed to be either all on or all off, perhaps we didn't get the hang of it! Very comfortable king size bed however.
Particularly liked the no-nonsense approach to breakfast, being included in the room rate and no complicated distinctions made about continental or cooked options with separate pricing that some hotels seem to deploy.
Only criticism was the extortionate prices for evening meals in the two on-site restaurants.
Would have no hesitation about booking here again, a short break that restored confidence in the Hilton brand.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldal9305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
147 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Doubletree is a nice hotel in large grounds situated on the outskirts of Chester - not really walkable into the centre, but there is a direct bus into town twice an hour or alternatively a short taxi ride (10 mins).

This "business" hotel with a spa and health club attached offers a good quality/price ratio and is a good choice for a stay in Chester. Large well-equipped bedroom, attractive breakfast/dining room bar area and a welcoming reception - excellent helpful staff. Parking right outside, free wi-fi and even free mineral water in the mini bar.

Breakfast (included in my booking via Travel Republic) was plentiful with a good choice of cereals, full english, fruit and bread/patisserie.

Overall a great experience and I definitely recommend the Doubletree.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGRBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

we stayed for a two night break for my birthday and we really enjoyed it all the staff are friendly and welcoming hope to go again in october we ate in the MPW resturant all excellent

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P1U2D3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree to celebrate your birthday.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your meal in the Marco pierre White Restaurant.

Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in October.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,076 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing