We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and sophisticated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in one of their suites, and had a very good time.The hotel's exterior , gardens and car park are well kept, Bedrooms and public areas are immaculately clean.In-house spa, gym and swimming pool is a first class facility used not only by hotel guets, but local community too, The food in the brasserie was well cooked and presented, and Marco Pierre restaurant served exquisite food in relaxed atmosphere. Staff at this hotel are friendly, polite and helpful, especially Ashley in the restaurant.I work in hotel industry,and was very impressed by the functionality and design on the property.
Chester is a lovely place to visit , and kids loved the aquarium.We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,773 - 2,779 of 3,116 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed at the doubletree Hilton Chester on 3rd Nov it is a good mile or so outside chester. I was immediately impressed with the drive in to the hotel a great fountain greets you and a very nice looking hotel building.
Check in was fine a little wooden and staged but most higher end hotels seem to be the same,I think the young lady on reception was being trained but she was polite and informative.
The whole building is very Hilton it just feels a little bit special which I think Hilton get so right.
The corridors leading to the rooms are a little oppressive and the layout is not the best and I think most people get lost I certainly did.
The room itself was just Devine,gorgeous comfy queen/king size bed immaculate linen and lots of cushions there's a nice fridge to keep a bottle of champers in and any other drinks you might fancy.
Bathroom immaculate great toiletries and your towel is warmed for you without you even knowing a really nice touch.
We ate at the Marco-Pierre white restaurant,He was actually present at the hotel but was doing a presentation, not cooking.
The food from the set menu was very good so fresh and tasty.
I have to mention the staff at the the restaurant who were so attentive topping up glasses for you and making sure everything ran smoothly a special mention to a young Liverpudlian chap who directed us on a good wine to choose he had such passion for wine and his job and it came across in such professional courteous manner
Which was not stuffy but really friendly he will go far smashing chap.
Didn't eat breakfast so can't comment on that but overall an exellent Hilton experience very good indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boothwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The hotel was excellent and in a very good location. Chester is a good base for North Wales.
Snowdonia,Llandudno, Conway, Caernarfon and the north coast of Wales. Chester itself does not have a lot sightseeing, the shops are very good, and the restaurants are quite good.
The hotel has a good breakfast and also bar area. The Spa was well used and all facilities in tip top condition.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clinteastwood50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Staying here was such a treat! Lovely room, massive comfy bed, sparkling clean bathroom and friendly staff. And we didn't get a chance to go to the spa but it looked fantastic. All in all, a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I booked this hotel to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday! What a treat!! It was amazing from start to finish!

A lovely happy birthday cake in the room on arrival (my request) but was not charged on check out.

Breakfast in bed, dinner in the narco Pierre white restaurant, treatments in the spa, a relax in the jacuzzi and saunas. Just what we wanted!

Thankyou!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyMarie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here and I didn't want my weekend to end.
Our room was lovely and clean and so was the bathroom (very important) to me.
The bed was very very comfortable and big.
Nice touch - the mini bar that you can put your own wine in
I had a couple of cocktails while we waiting to be seated in the brasserie, the service was friendly and the food was amazzzing.
The spa area is a must, we even visited the gym !!!
Only one disappointment - we ordered room service on our second evening, I expected the quality of the food to be the same as the brasserie and it was not -such a shame or I would have given five stars

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Pleasing weekend stay. Good room, very friendly staff from reception through to the sports centre. Excellent facilities. The pools and the gym were of a very high quality. Strangely enough the warm cookie you get on arrival really made a difference to the welcome. ( I would recommend they also add a shot of Bailey's as well mmm)

One downside was that we did not eat breakfast and went elsewhere each morning. The thought of paying £26 for a cooked breakfast for two people was of putting when a short drive away you got an excellent breakfast for a 1/3 of the cost.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirral-weekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,735 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,497 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,153 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £66 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing