We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday spa day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Birthday spa day”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed for a spa day and overnight stay to celebrate our friends birthday.
If I had to sum it up in one word it would be Fabulous. From check in to checkout we could not have been better looked after. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Lee the concierge went out of his way to be helpful.
The warm cookies on arrival are such a nice touch

Room Tip: We stayed for a spa day and overnight stay If I had to sum it up in one word it would be Fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1958Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Thank you for your kind words, and the positive feedback about teh hotel and particulary our concierge team member. Your feedback has been passed to him personally.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year

Kind regards

Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    883
    392
    154
    85
See reviews for
430
1,388
49
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. It really did help to be given a warm chocolate chip cookie along with your keys to the room. Cookie was a delight and so was the room. Although slightly smaller than expected, the room didnt lack in any comforts. Room was quiet and peaceful with no sounds of traffic. I did not have my dinner in the hotel restaurant, but I did have my breakfast there before heading off to work. the breakfast was a standard buffet affair. The hotel also offers complimentary Gym. There is also a Spa attached I believe. Maybe next time, I'll go for a longer stay and check out the extras! All in all, I'd recommend the hotel for business travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for that longer stay.

Kind regards

Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Had staff Christmas meal there on Saturday 10th December probably the worst Christmas meal ever. Would not have been enough food on the plate to fill a child. I tried to cut one of my 3 sprouts and it sprung of the plate it was that hard on to the floor. Everyone found it funny. I had a pint of large and the wife a vodka it came to £10 they should have wore a mask the staff behind the bar

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Areyoufreeimfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Thank you for your feedback.
Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered with your sprouts, and I note your concern with regard to the portion sizes.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future, and allow us to restore your faith in our products

Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This year we booked the Doubletree by Hilton in Chester for our Christmas party and based on the reviews thought it would be OK. We arrived at 7.45 and no parking to be found, our name was incorrectly spelt on the table plan, it was so crowded we got pushed and shoved in all directions. The tables were crammed in with tacky flower arrangements, the food was awful and served too late the disco should have caered for all ages but only to younger generation. We had a great time last year at another hotel and were very disappointed with this one so we will not be back. I hope that this is not an example of the food that the famous chef has put his name to.
This review does not include the views on the accomodation as we drove there and back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank droversNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
I am very sorry hear that you left the Hotel feeling disappointed and less than satisfied with your experience.
Your feedback is much appreciated as we always strive to improve in any way possible.
I understand you are reluctant to visit the Hotel again, but we would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back and to be given the opportunity to restore your faith in us.


Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

A magnificent hotel that is so delightful to stay in. Its so clean and tidy and well represented. You cannot fault this place in anyway.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post some positive comments about your recent stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the new year

Kind regards

Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We have stayed here on many occasions and yes it is a little pricey but the quality of everything you get is second to non. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Id like to mention Mark on reception who checked us in, very polite and welcoming. Room was lovely and clean, great shower. Id asked for champagne in the room on arrival as it was my girlfriends birthday and when we got to the room the hotel had made a birthday cake which i thought was a lovely touch! We didnt have tea in the hotel but did have lunch in the brasserie which was lovely. Spa facilities are great! Breakfast is buffet style and absolute quality. Lovely fresh, hot food. The coffee is very nice too!!! We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyer1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Lovely grounds, very contemporary, great facilities. Staff were very friendly, efficient, and welcoming. Rooms are very well-appointed, with luxurious bathrooms, good showers and huge, comfortable beds. Very easy to find and get to, huge car park close to reception. Only one annoying thing, I had three door keycards overnight as two failed to work, but was sorted for me literally in minutes. Good breakfast too! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithJobling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing