We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
weirdfish2
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Nice hotel a little outside Chester, standard rooms were very nice and a very impressive Spa in the hotel. We had dinner in Marco Pierre Whites steakhouse and that was excellent. However Breakfast was disappointing, the whole setup is very disorganised with a queue for coffee another queue for toast a queue for hot food, but best of all my wife ordered boiled eggs, these were delivered on a plate and when we asked for an egg cup, we were told that there was not one in the whole hotel, she was offered a larger plate if that would help, I thought the waiter was being funny.
On the whole great hotel but sort the breakfast service out please.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrion-owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Apologies for the issues you encountered during breakfast service.
We of course have taken your comments on board and will feed this back to our management team.
We are pleased you still had an all round enjoyable stay.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    901
    400
    158
    89
See reviews for
444
1,413
50
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uttoxeter
Level Contributor
210 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel was fantastic,the beds are so comfortable ,the staffs great nothing was to much trouble.
We ate in the Brasserie the food was fantastic and the choice at breakfast was unbelievable.
Great great great place to stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkosteph28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Again, another great review praising us for the helpfulness of our Hotel staff. A great comment regarding breakfast also.
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay.
Many thanks,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a suite which was lovely; clean, spacious & with bathrobe & slippers for the spa. The spa facilities were brilliant, lots to choose from, the highlight was the open roof section of the pool. Only downside was the noise from the groups of girls in hen parties who spoiled the relaxation element of the spa and the children in the pool. The Marco restaurant was really good, amazing food, friendly and unpretentious staff, and affordable prices. Would return and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
Please be assured your comments regarding the high quality of service you received in the MPW restaurant will be passed on to all the team.
We are pleased you enjoyed making use of the Club and Spa facilities.
Looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed here during 2011, I'm just getting round to updating my account for the hotels I have stayed at over the last year........

Upon entering we found the hotel grounds very impressive and hidden away in a very peaceful setting. Check in was very quick and friendly.

Bar service was good.

We cannot comment on the restaurant as we ate out in Chester centre, but the room service for drinks on the evening was very quick and friendly too.

Rooms were more than adequate, and the location had a couple of nice pubs nearby, but it's only 10 minutes away from

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttonChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Great to see you had a pleasurable stay.
We do you hope you return to stay with us and perhaps take the opportunity to dine in one of our restaurants too.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel back in Feb my partners Birthday, stayed 2 nights and the whole experience was faultless.

Checked in and was given our cookie, our room was a little small but perfectly acceptable, clean and well furnished.

We had our Friday night meal in the hotel rest which was very nice, not exactly fine dining but all the same yummy.

Excellent night sleep!

Now the crown of this hotel is Marcos Steak House, food here was excellent as was the service, we had 3 courses, they were more than accommodating when we asked to have our deserts in lounge. A trip here would not be compete without visiting.

All in all had an excellent break and would love to come back and visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Wonderful to see such a positive review.
The Marco Pierre White restaurant is indeed very popular with all our guests. The team will be very pleased to read your comments.
Fantastic to hear you will visit us again.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Had an excellent stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpfull, nothing was too much trouble. Carpets were well worn which let the hotel immage down slightly but they were spotlessly clean. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: King suit was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
A great review.
We thank you for the comments regarding the helpfulness of our staff.
Please do come again.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we have just spent the week end at this hotel and by and large had a good time. the staff are great, nothing is too much trouble, and all are very helpful and polite.

Rooms need a bit of a look over by housekeeping as dirty marks on chairs and on bed spread.
Bed wonderful, large and very comfy.

However the week end was marred by noisy inconsiderate ladies (? hen Party) who made so much noise coming and going up corridors at 1AM, 2AM, etc. no thought for any guests who may be trying to sleep, and we were woken up on both nights by these people.
Now i am all for letting people have a good time but they should consider other people.

Room Tip: try and get a room down the end of a corridor so as not to hear noisy guests. Bus into Chester fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muddyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay.
We place trust in guests that stay with us to have consideration for others. Please be assured it is just as upsetting for us to hear you were disrupted.
Due to nature of weekend business, it is expected for others to return later in the evening, but we of course fully understand your comments.
We hope you decide to stay again, especially as you mention the Hotel and staff were great.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,615 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing