We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“other than checking in which took a while - everything else was pretty much perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“other than checking in which took a while - everything else was pretty much perfect!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

took around 30 mins to check in as our room wasn't ready - which would have been fine but we had spa treatments book so wanted to get ready - that is the only thing i can fault during our 1 night stay with spa treatments - the spa facilities were the best my wife said she'd ever been to - would definitely recommend and will be visiting again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Apologies your room was not ready upon check in, I will ensure this is followed up with the relevant departments.
The spa is continually praised for offering guests an amazing experience, it is great to see your wife enjoyed this.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    883
    392
    154
    85
See reviews for
430
1,388
49
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This weekend was booked for a group of young ladies and a more mature mum and her mate. The drive up to the hotel is lovely. On entering reception we were greeted with a smile and a warm chocolate cookie, very impressive. The rooms were really clean and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. I have never slept in a more comfortable bed away from home. Even a choice of pillows - soft/firm - it's the little touches and extremely attentive staff that made the weekend for all of us. The breakfast was brilliant - again staff very attentive. Lunch was also enjoyable - in fact there was far too much! Any concerns they send a member of staff immediately e.g. i couldn't figure out how to switch tv on with remote, a member of staff arrived pronto. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The taxi fare into Chester itself is only £5 one way. We used the spa facilities connected to the hotel and would definitely recommend the treatments.We all said that we would come here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
What an excellent review.
We thank you for all of your wonderful comments and the praise you have given our team.
We do our upmost to ensure we offer an exceptional standard of service to our guests, and it is very rewarding to know you’ve left us completely satisfied.
We look forward to seeing you all again.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is a loverly modern,clean hotel with friendly helpful staff. The food in the bistro was excellent and we were serenaded by two young men doing accoustic versions of popular songs on the Friday evening which was a nice surprise and we stayed in the hotel that night because they were so good.didnt sample the breakfast so can't comment on that or the spa as we ran out of time. The only negative I could find with this hotel was that the doors to the rooms are so noisy when closing that if you are a light sleeper it could spoil the experience for you. On the plus side it's the best room I have stayed in for mirrors you can see to put your makeup on properly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliet069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
We are very glad you decided to stay in and join us in the restaurant.
The two guitarists are fantastic and help to create that comfortable and relaxing environment for everyone to enjoy.
When you visit us again please do make use of the spa facilities, they really are fantastic!
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hotel was amazing! Staff couldnt do enough for us! The hotel food was lovely! The pool area was fab! And the rooms were great very good overall! Custemer service was fab! Defo going to return! :-)) x

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LnaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Short but sweet review, thank you!
We hope to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights with our tesco clubcard vouchers to visit Chester and Liverpool.
Standard room and bathroom were clean with a large comfy bed. However there are some issues. Hardly any drawer space in room.
No power point near the desk mirror for drying hair.Had to balance my straighteners on the arm of the chair while straightening hair.
Intermitent supply of shower gels, water and biscuits which meant phone calls to housekeeping.
The safe is placed too high in the wardrobe for petite women.
The small tablet of soap in the bathroom was never changed and the stainless steel dish it was sitting on was not cleaned once in four days.
The view from our very small window overlooked a brick wall and a type of worksite.
The service for removing the dirty breakfast plates was very slow.
Most mornings the fried eggs were very hard and stale as if they had been sitting on the hot plate a while.
We were not told we could order boiled eggs and omelettes.
The brasserie and conservetory area are both pleasent areas to enjoy your food in.
Overall, a very enjoyable stay and we would reccommend this hotel for our visit to Liverpool to see all Beatles related memorabilia and oldie worldie Chester.
We are husband and wife in our early sixties.
Chester to Liverpool is 25 miles, motorway all the way.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffytaf_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for the detailed feedback you have given us.
All your comments have been noted and will continue to be monitored to ensure we remain consistent in the services we provide.
Ending on a positive to say you had a very enjoyable stay is pleasing to read.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have just been as a group of 6, girly weekend! Had a great time, it's in a fantastic location, the rooms are very nice and spacious - the beds are huge and very comfortable! Nice modern bathroom. The staff on reception were very friendly and were nice and chatty, provided useful tips about the area and places to go etc. the staff at breakfast were also very helpful and attentive. The staff in the spa however... Disinterested, couldn't care less. Also kept our credit card (because we didnt have any cash on us) - as a deposit for a padlock for a locker - so make sure you have a spare £10 on you. Really not happy at having to leave our actual card with them. The facilities though we're fantastic, a big hot tub, that leads outside, lots of different rooms like steam room, sauna, aroma room, hammam room, all brilliant. Would definitely go back (just hope that 1 miserable spa member isn't there or has taken a happy pill!!)!! Overall a brilliant weekend and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinkleYNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
A brilliant review for us to read, thank you!
We are pleased our reception staff were particularly welcoming, along with the Brasserie team also.
I apologise in regard to the staff member from the Club and Spa, I assure you this will be followed up.
Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your girly weekend with us, we hope you decide to come again.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weirdfish2
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Nice hotel a little outside Chester, standard rooms were very nice and a very impressive Spa in the hotel. We had dinner in Marco Pierre Whites steakhouse and that was excellent. However Breakfast was disappointing, the whole setup is very disorganised with a queue for coffee another queue for toast a queue for hot food, but best of all my wife ordered boiled eggs, these were delivered on a plate and when we asked for an egg cup, we were told that there was not one in the whole hotel, she was offered a larger plate if that would help, I thought the waiter was being funny.
On the whole great hotel but sort the breakfast service out please.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrion-owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Apologies for the issues you encountered during breakfast service.
We of course have taken your comments on board and will feed this back to our management team.
We are pleased you still had an all round enjoyable stay.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing