We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it overall”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights Sunday 20th May - Wednesday 23rd May. I am a Hilton Honors Gold member so was upgraded to a suite which was very comfortable. We ate in the Brasserie on Sunday and Monday night. The meal on Sunday was excellent. I had the fish and chips and my wife had the vegetable lasagne. We reversed the order on Monday night and can only assume there was a different chef on that night as the meal was very poor.
We ate in the Marco Pierre White restaurant on Tuesday night and it was excellent. The bill was only £15 more than eating in the Brasserie for vastly superior food and ambience and we wished we had eaten in there on the Monday night as well.
The weather was excellent during our stay but there really was no need to keep the Brasserie quite so cold during breakfast and dinner. There was a constant cold draft from the air conditioning.
The Brasserie staff could have been a lot quicker in clearing dirty crockery away once people had finished breakfast and left their table.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Great overall review, thank you.
Apologies for the couple of issues you mention. We appreciate all feedback and will ensure they are passed on to the relevant departments.
It is great that you enjoyed dining with us, in particular Marco Pierre White’s restaurant.
We hope as a valued Hilton Honors member you return to stay, and as a team we are able to exceed your expectations.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,378
    911
    403
    165
    91
See reviews for
450
1,432
51
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed at the Doubletree with 3 friends for a spa day and overnight stay. The hotel is a mixture of old and new buildings but has a very contemporary feel. All the common areas are light and there are lovely outdoor patio areas. Although there were 3 weddings at the hotel on the day we arrived, it didn't feel crowded and the staff were excellent. The rooms (standard twin with shower) were great - we liked the fact that there were no mini bars but a large empty fridge, so we could chill our own drinks. Again the rooms were contemporary, comfortable and had everything we needed.
I have stayed in many spa hotels and Spas and the Doubletree didn't disappoint. The treatment rooms, pool area and changing room were excellent. The relaxation room is probably the best I have seen! With huge beanbags and amazing water/light feature.
However, although I did enjoy my treatment, as did my friends, we all felt that they were overpriced and too short compared to past experience elsewhere. We also didn't like the way the therapists tried to sell you products before you left the treatment rooms.
The treatment rooms were a little bit chilly for my liking and the water in the showers both in the spa and the bedrooms could also have been hotter.
All in all the hotel and spa are excellent but the treatments let it down.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the conservatory function room if staying on a Saturday due to weddings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
It is great to see you enjoyed your stay and whilst here were able to make use of the facilities.
I will pass on your comments regarding your spa treatment and ensure this is followed up.
We hope you decide to stay again.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had a great day at the Spa on Saturday 19 May 2012, though oddly the reason I felt I had to write this review was because of their amazing response to a booking error they had made. We were a party of 5 and they had only booked 4 treatments in. While reception were really not very helpful at all, simply saying "we're fully booked" even when we explained we had travelled from London for the day, one of the management, Becky, went well beyond the call of duty and our expectations to make up for the error. We all had a brilliant day and were very grateful to her for sorting it all out. Mistakes happen everywhere sometimes - what was brilliant about our experience was how much effort she went to to make sure it didn't affect our day. Thanks, Becky! (And the spa as a whole is fantastic, by the way - thoroughly recommend it!)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
Becky will be delighted to read your comments and hear how pleased you were leaving us after your spa day.
We hope you and your friends come and visit again.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We recently held a conference at this hotel over three days. There was nothing that I could fault the hotel with. Reception were helpful, bedrooms comfortable and clean, food fantastic I have never seen an hotel cleaned so much.

Conference team very helpful and prompt in delivering any requests. The manger Eric was absolutely fantastic as was the deputy Dowi. They were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a conference or just a stay.

And the cookies are to die for!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Another great review from a conference guest. Thank you. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Eric and Dewi and the rest of the team.
We look forward to the next event, and can assure you there will be plenty of cookies!!

Kind regards

Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed here one on our way to Wales the reception staff on check in where really friendly and the room really comfordable and clean.
The pool area is really good with a outside hot tub also nice area to relax with comfordable beds etc around the indoor pool one small moan changing rooms upstairs and you have to walk down a flight of stairs that are wet.
Ate in the restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast good service on both and both meals really nice and presented well would stay here again .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deano223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Fantastic review from a guest who has managed to enjoy all of the failities we offer. Great that you managed to find the time to enjoy both of our dining rooms and we hope you enjoyed your onward trip

Kind regards

Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Our daughter won a prize, Vouchers to be spent at a Hilton Hotel. So we chose Doubletree in Chester. Have to say we were disappointed. First the receptionist was not very helpful, after that there was no hot water for a bath, just warm. The plug in the bath was stuck. Had a problem with the lock to our door. In the morning we went down to breakfast, really looking forward to a hearty meal. But this was the most disappointing aspect of all. Self-Service; Bacon was awful, far too salty, Sausages looked and tasted cheap, Egg was Rubbery. Toast had to made by a machine. It was very poor to say the least. Certainly will not book here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
My sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered and for leaving our Hotel clearly dissatisfied by your stay.
The front of house team are always there to help, so if you do require any assistance, a member of our team will always be willing to help.
We pride ourselves on the level of service we offer our guests. We hope you feel able to to return so we are given another opportunity to provide this to you.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

An excellent hotel when visiting chester with friends- Plenty of communal areas. Great Spa & FANTASTICALLY COMFY 6 FT BEDS.
Rooms are very well appointed with great bathrooms and plenty of plug points!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyGaga38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your stay during the busy race period.
We are pleased you enjoyed the spa and felt the rooms were also great.
Kind regards,
Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,143 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,365 reviews
9.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing