We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ayup its allrite ere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ayup its allrite ere”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Had four nights here it wa rate good
being an international traveller i always go Hilton and have stayed in nearly all the Hilton hotels worldwide its good value for money and always clean and tidy

Room Tip: get the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren-Douglas, Senior Receptionist at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
As a regular visitor to Hilton Hotels, we hope Doubletree by Hilton Chester is a favourite and you continue to stay with us when you next return to the area.

Kind regards,

L Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    883
    392
    154
    85
See reviews for
430
1,388
49
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Ummmm. A little disappointed here.
Attended the MPW book signing night and the man himself seemed rather knackered if the truth be known. Not to worry cos the food will be fab - but although better than average the service was a little casual and a bit rushed/.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevedotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren-Douglas, Senior Receptionist at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the book signing event with Marco Pierre White. These will be fed back the restaurant manager.

Great that you thought the food was fantastic, the event was very much a success.

Kind regards,

L Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Booked the Spa package for my sister and I. The Spa deal available was amazing. £70 for a spa day for 2 people including lunch and champagne. We arrived and were given our robes, slippers, towels etc. the changing rooms was lovely, modern, clean, and had all the little touches including hair dryers, earbuds, facewipes etc.
We booked for a Saturday afternoon and there was a wedding on so the hotel was pretty busy. the Spa was totally packed and it was obvious that alot of people were there for the wedding. The pool was gorgeous, as was the hot tub, the bubble bed and the outdoor spa area which was even better because it was snowing when we were there and the pool was so hot we didnt even notice the snow falling on us!!! the spa also had steam rooms, saunas etc. 5 in all.. you are meant to do each one in turn and inbetween us the cold showers... however they were so busy that we couldnt use them all.. in fact we only used 2 rooms.
It was unfortunate that they allow children in the spa to use the facilities.. as it turned a relaxing spa day into a loud day with kids crying and generally misbehaving. we also found that the fire area was water logged and that there were dirty towels everywhere. we told the spa reception about this and they sent someone down immediately to clear them away but surely it would be better to have someone in the spa area rather than just watching on CCTV?
Now for the best part - the LUNCH!!! Oh my god it was amazing.. it didnt look much when we arrived... we were served fresh tomato soup and bread rolls and a glass of champagne. then for our main we helped ourselves to the salad buffet bar which had lots of gorgeous anti pasti, olives, meats, pasta, vegetables, fruit etc. it was amazing and incredibly tasty. And then for dessert we ate a big slab of carrot cake each and chocolate fudge cake with a pot of tea before going downstairs in our robes to continue with the spa day.
All in all I would highly recommend.. but perhaps better to go on a day when the kids are in school.. or when there isnt a wedding on at the hotel. I will definately be visiting again!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren-Douglas, Senior Receptionist at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Great news that yourself, among many, used and enjoyed the Club & Spa facilities.

Naturally during weekends and holidays it is expected that children will be using these, but we of course understand your comments.

Please do come again, remember to join us for lunch in the café too!

Kind regards,

L Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Love this hotel, was our third visit yet the first time we had used the spa facilities. Pool, steam room, aroma room, outside jacuzzi all lovely and relaxing and a perfect way to forget about the rain on the Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend.
We had dinner at The Marco Pierre White restaurant which was gorgeous, worth every penny. There were two weddings the weekend we were there but in no way did they impose on our stay. Lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds and only a 20 min stroll into the city.
Staff very attentative and friendly, will definitely visit again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeti1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren-Douglas, Senior Receptionist at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Great feedback, what more could we ask for!

Here at Doubletree, our aim is to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere for all of our guests, it is lovely to read your comments.

Having stayed with us several times before, we will be pleased to welcome you back again and hope your enjoyment continues throughout all your future stays.

Kind regards,

L Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here while visiting Chester. Room was nice but the spa facilities was the best part of this hotel especially reg outdoor relaxation pool. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_curran14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren-Douglas, Senior Receptionist at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
We too agree that the Club & Spa facilities are fantastic. Perhaps book yourself a treatment for next time!

Kind regards,

L Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed at Double tree chester for 2 nights on way south.
The excutive suite was excellent, everything about the hotel was very good BUT the srevice in the brasserie was appaling. We chose to eat in there as we had to be out for an eveing meeting.
Allowing over 1.5 hours for a meal we thought was enough. But no.
There were only 4 other tables ebing used and plenty of staff. We had to ask for our order to be taken, we had th chase for the food to arrive. After the first course we had to go and ask for a menue and again chase for the order to be taken. We pointed out that we had to leave in 20 minutes so need the food to be served quickly. After nearly 15 minutes we had to tell them we had to leave after no food had arrived. How long does it take to serve cheese and biscuits and an sweet?

We reported this to the hotel, who by this bad service ahd lost the booking we intended to make for the next evening for us and 3 guests. They were concerned and took the details and apologised. We did recieve a bottle of wine in our room that night, unfortunatley the note with it had a complete mis-spelling of our surname!!!
The chef, who was fairly new at the hotel, had overheard our complaint and came over and asked for the deatil. He was extremely concerned and had been aware of a cancelled desert order. He offered apalogies and said he would be dealing with the bad service - I usupect this was not the first time he had been aware of this.

I did say that the meal was excellen, indded the steak was one of the best I had ever had. We had just come of the Hebridean Princess ship after a cruise, where the food is the very best one can find. After all they serve the Queen when she hires the ship so they know thier stuff!

I really hope that for the chef's sake the serving staff/managers can get a better sevice to clients.

Room Tip: suites very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren-Douglas, Senior Receptionist at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received whilst dining in the restaurant. Of course all feedback is passed on to the management team, so please be assured this has been followed up.

Aside from this, whilst understandably disappointed, I am pleased you found the rest of your stay enjoyable.

We do hope you decide to stay again so we have the opportunity to provide a better service to you both.

Kind regards,

L Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights over the bank holiday weekend. What a fabulous hotel! We used my husband's Hilton Honors points for the room so we only had to pay for breakfast and dinner. We had dinner in the Bistro the first night, good food and not too expensive. We treated ourselves to dinner in Marco's on the second night and it was worth every penny! Service was excellent and the food fabulous. Personally I didn't think it was any more expensive than other good restaurants that I've been to closer to home.

Our room had a huge bed, minimalist decoration and it was on the small side but I guess we were allocated this room because we hadn't paid for it as we had used the Hilton Honors points! I think that if I had paid the going rate for the room I would have been disappointed.

The best part of this hotel is the spa with it's 4 different steam/saunas and hydrotherapy pools. I've been to quite a few spa hotels in the UK and this is by far the best!

This is our fourth weekend break in the Chester area but the first time we have stayed in the Doubletree - Next time we go we will stay there again - definately better than other hotels in the area!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue10England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Great that this was your first time to Doubletree Chester, and you are planning to come back again. We offer a selection of different room types in the hotel, that differ in size and decor, and certainly wouldnt have selected any inferior quality rooms due to how you were settling the account. Glad you enjoyed our dining options and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards

Peter Hendry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing