We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay, again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed over for one night as part of a Spa package. Fast and efficient service at check in and warm chocolate cookies. Checked in and went straight down to the Spa. It was a bit busy for a Tuesday afternoon but it was nice to chill out and relax. No problems getting a lounger and no time limit on being in the Spa. We have previously stayed here before and booked the Marco Pierre White restaurant again after the lovely food we had last time. Again it did not disappoint. The waitress was very clued up on the food and wine and she was really lovely! Never let my glass get empty!!! The food is good here and this was mainly the reason we stayed at the hotel.
After dinner we went into the bar where Chris (believe he's the head barman) makes the most amazing Mojito!!! If you've never tried one then you've got to buy one. Best Mojito ever and he's very friendly. He works long hours along with the others but he was very chatty and remembered everyone's drink that came to the bar.
We will be booking again in the next few months. This is a lovely hotel and I would recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments, It's lovely to hear you had chosen to return after a great past experience and that we lived up to your expectations this time round.

I will ensure that your feedback is relayed to the team, in particular Chris, the Front desk team and the staff in the Marco Pierre White Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,309 - 2,315 of 3,118 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Just come back from an overnight spa break at this hotel (Sunday romance package).
It has been fantastic. Staff friendly & polite, rooms clean and modern a gorgeous warm cookie on check in and two restaurants to choose from ( although we ate out in Chester) the hotel is set in lovely private surroundings with loads of free parking & only two miles from Chester centre.
Now on to the spa which was the main reason for our visit. Pool warm & big enough to swim lengths, indoor bubble pool, soft warm jets and leads to an amazing outdoor hydrotherapy pool which was bigger than the pictures look on the website. There are loungers and chairs to relax on, 2 steam rooms, 1 aromatherapy room and a Swedish sauna (which was Broken whilst we was there which was a shame. We had two treatments during our stay aback massage in double treatment room and rasul mud treatment which is really fun for couples. After the treatment the staff give you lemon sorbet to refresh you & take you to a relaxation room like I've never seen before it brilliant. We split our treatments between 2 days and used the spa loads I loved the fact there were no time limits and staff did not rush us. It didn't get overly busy whilst we were there although we weeny there on a Saturday.
The few bad reviews nearly put me off booking but you have to remember no where can please everyone and you get what you pay for - personally I think I got excellent value and will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a such a nice review about your recent visit to the hotel.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to relax in the spa and experience the facilities and treatments we have on offer.

I am pleased you were not put off by some reviews and chose to stay with us! We look forward to welcomng you back soon.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here mid week in a junior suite. We chose a suite so our baby could have a separate room to sleep- the suite doesn't have a separate room, just a small wall in the middle to separate a room. It was ok.
Staff were friendly, especially the concierge who came to fix our telly- he whispered as our little one was asleep!
The spa facilities- pool, sauna, etc are the best I have ever experienced. A gorgeous pool but a wonderful jacuzzi, waterfall area.
I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Chester.

It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family had a lovely stay with us, and we were able to assist you during your stay.

Your feedback is much appreciated and your comments will be passed onto our Concierge team!

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel should you visit Chester agin in the future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Reception on arrival were very welcoming but gave us the bad news that our booking for that evening in the Marco Pierre White restaurant had been cancelled due to overbooking! We were offered a table in the Bistro area. We waited a long time and the food was ok but not as expected in this hotel. Apparently it was the last weekend to use the Groupon vouchers so the hotel was extremely busy especially with women and included a Hen Party. The room was very nice with all the facilities and very good room service. We were able to book the MPW restaurant but only at 6.15pm. We accepted this very early booking only because we wished to try out the restaurant. Despite being almost the only people in the restaurant we waited a long time for our main course. We decided to order steaks because of the reputation and expected them to be exceptional. However, they were very disappointing, they were not cooked to medium but very well done, in fact burnt and overdone on the outside and overcooked on the inside. It looked as if they had been sitting under the lights for a long time as did the half tomato. When the waitress appeared we told her and showed her the steaks and she certainly agreed that they were overcooked-they were quite tough too and not what we had expected from a fillet steak. The manager was called and we explained the situation. He then went to speak to the chef who obviously did not think that his steaks were over cooked but offered us another meal. At that stage we really did not want another meal so we were offered a dessert free of charge. The manager also offered us 20% off the bill. This we reluctantly accepted only to find out later that in fact he had not compensated us at all as there was already a 20% discount for Early Diners anyway!

I am told that MPW, the man himself visits the restaurant regularly. I would really like him to know that we were not well treated especially taking into account the cost of the steaks. It is a pity that our otherwise pleasant stay at the hotel is marred by this experience in the restaurant. Maybe our expectations were too high in view of the restaurant's reputation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel.

I am extremly dissapointed to hear that you left the hotel less than satisfied with the experience you had in our Marco Pierre White Restaurant during your stay.
Your comments have been relayed to the Food and Beverage Manager to review how your complaint was dealt with. I apologise that you felt this was not handled in a satisfactory manner. Your feedback regarding the food is a concern to us as the food quality is usually of a high standard. Please accept my apologies that it did not meet with your expectations, this will not go un-noticed.

Should you wish to discuss the matter further with a member of our management team, please e-mail me directly on h.astley@doubletreechester.com and I will ensure you receive a response from the relevant Manager.

Kind regards

Holly Astley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here after a works do. The rooms were well appointed and very clean as one would expect. i was impressed with the food selection at the the leaving do. The staff in the evening were very attentive and good at their job.

Unfortunately breakfast was a different matter. We came down at 9 o'clock to find an enormous queue which only got longer. There was terrible disorganisation and people waiting for 20 to 30 minutes to be seated, totally unacceptable. Once in breakfast there were no cups for tea or coffee and despite asking four members of staff none were provided. Eventually I entered the kitchen and offered to wash one up myself. This prompted The only good member of staff there to go and find some cuts and start giving drinks.
It's hardly surprisingly that on a Saturday people will tend to come down for breakfast later rather than earlier and I think the management of this situation was very poor. It would indeed put me off staying here again.
Apart from this the hotel was fine and up to the standard of a Hilton Doubletree.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipehitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay was tainted by the poor experience you had at breakfast. Although at times the restaurant does have busy periods, this is certainly not the lasting impression we wish to leave with our guests. Your comments have been forwarded to the Restaurant Manager who will address how the situation was managed and review your feedback with his team to avoid this happening in future.

I hope that this will not deter you from staying at the hotel in future, we would be grateful of the oppertunity to make amends and prove this is no means a true reflection of our usual standards of service.

Kind regards

Holly Astley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Nice rooms, kept really clean by housekeeping team.Big thanks to barman, Chris ( hope I got name right) who worked nights 28th-30th April. His service was excellent. Lots to do in area for families. Didn't try MPW, but food was fine in bar and restaurant if a somewhat limited menu. Breakfast was lovely. Would probably return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a response regarding your recent stay.

It is lovely to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us, and you were able to visit the local areas during your stay.

Your comments are appreicated and I will ensure the housekeeping team and Chris are aware of your review!

We hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to Chester

Kind regards

Holly Astley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here over easter weekend. Hotel is nice, clean good staff and service. Spa is ok. Breakfast is average but acceptable. Junior or family suite with huge revolving TV is nice and spacious and light. The staff were very helpful with room changes for us.

Room Tip: Suite is worth paying for if space is needed. Tv is nice and large in the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisahpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree over Easter.

I am pleased that you left the hotel having had an enjoyable experience. It's great to hear that we were able to assist you in moving to one of our Junior suites, and you were pleased with the facilities provided.

Thank you for your comments, I will ensure your positive feedback relating to the staff is relayed to the team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

Holly Astley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,735 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,500 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,155 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £66 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing