We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay hotel, great MPW restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Okay hotel, great MPW restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Great location and nice building. Room fairly small, but functional, and in need of a refresh. Not great view from window (bin store). Business trip so hardly any time in room, so not an issue.

Free wifi a bonus.

Staff friendly, bar a bit 'lobbyish' but okay. Breakfast reasonable, but highlight was MPW restaurant, see separate review.

Room Tip: Not 101 / 201, directly above bins....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huw C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent business trip.

Your feedback is appreciated, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am pleased that you had a great experience in the Marco Pierre White Restaurant, I will certainly ensure that we refer to your review about that, and your comments regarding our friendly staff will also be relayed.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Chester.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    871
    387
    153
    81
See reviews for
422
1,369
49
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yoxall, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Very pleasant hotel, friendly helpful staff, buffet breakfast a little caotic, could do with the tea coffee and toast being brought to the table. Make sure you take a healthy credit card to pay your drinks bill!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the hotel and staff.
Thank you also for your comments relating to the buffet breakfast, these have been passed to the Restaurant Manager, who will endeavor to act upon feedback where possible to improve the service we provide.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with my husband and baby boy after attending a friends wedding reception. The hotel is in a great location and set in lovely grounds. The staff were very welcoming and the cookies on arrival were a nice touch. The room itself was spotless, but the view wasn't the best, the back of another building. I would've asked to move if we were staying any longer. The bed was large and comfortable. There's a good selection of quality toiletries provided and there is also a mini fridge which was a god send as we were able to keep the baby's milk fresh. All In all the room had everything we needed. However, the tv service could do with upgrading as there were no children's channels and if you're travelling with kids then this is definitely a requirement.
Unfortunately, there wasn't time to sample what was on offer in the spa, but it looked great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfiegirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.

I'm pleased you had a lovely time at the wedding, though it is a shame you were not here long enough to experience all of the facilities on offer. We would certainly have tried to accomodate your request for a better view if you were staying longer.

Your feedback is appreciated and I will certainly address your comments relating to the children's channels, however, its great to hear that you were happy with the facilities we provided in the bedroom.

We hope you will return to the Doubletree in future, and look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Staff and service fantastic - might need some maintence in areas as I have been going the last couple of years and starting to look a little shabby - take your own gym lock as they give you a garden shed lock with tiny key ..not practical or sexy folks...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

It's lovely to hear that you have been visiting for the last couple of years. Your feedback is very welcome and i'm pleased to say we are currently undergoing a "refresh" program in our public areas, and maintenance project is taking place in the bedrooms and spa in order to improve and maintain our facilities.
Your comment regarding the lock has been forwarded to our club and spa team to look into, thank you for bringing this to our attention

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Ultimate spa break great value for money, great food and lovely staff, would defiantly recommend to anyone and we will be back again as we have also been here before. the bed/pillows were uncomfortable but that does not even put me off going again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visits to Chester.

I am pleased to hear that you had a great experience, and that you were able to enjoy the service, food and spa facilities during your stay. Your feedback is appreciated and will certainly be relayed back to the team here at Doubletree.

We hope to welcome you back again sonn.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urmston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice now and on both occasions found it to be a great place to stay.
The staff are helpful and attentive , it is in a nice location and the spa facilities are great!
The food is good and overall it offers good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again recently.

Your comments are appreicated and we are delighted that you find the hotel good value for money and you enjoy all the facilities and service we provide.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

What a lovely weekend we had, we were on a coach trip for two nights we were given a warm cookie when we checked in which was delicious with a cup of tea in our lovely room. The staff in the hotel were great, we had a slight problem with the dinner menu on the second night but after a word with the restaurant manager every thing was sorted top marks to the chef who did us proud thankyou. We will definitely return for another weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnedwardCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Front Office Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay at the hotel.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your break away, and i'm pleased we were able to resolve the problem with the menu for you, your comments will be passed to the team involved.

It's fantastic that you will consider booking with us again in future, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing