We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great untill extra charge on bill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
“Great untill extra charge on bill”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Me and my boyfriend had a lovely evening at the hilton double tree hotel and a great breakfast!! Warm welcome and delicious cookie!! Disappointed though to check my bank statement to find an additional unexplainable charge taken from them! When tried ringing to find out why there was noone to talk to. Rang 4 times and each time got nowhere. As amazing as the night was its a terrible disappointment to find more money taken from me under my nose!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne_watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent stay.

I am disappointed to read that you have an unexplainable charge on your bank statement and have not been successful in contacting the hotel, please feel free to email me directly, kirsty.martin@doubletreechester.com so that I am able to investigate this personally for you.

Aside for this issue, it is a pleasure to read that you had had a great stay with us, enjoying your evening and breakfast and in particular your warm chocolate chip cookies on arrival.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove that this is not our normal level of service, and consider returning to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,342
    888
    392
    156
    87
See reviews for
431
1,393
49
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice enough in general but a bit shabby in the rooms, and a few quirky things really put me off such as not being able to buy drinks in the spa terrace if you are a hotel resident?! Weird. I had to plead with the waiter to get us some drinks from the bar downstairs, unfortunately having to pay a delivery fee.

There was some rain while we were there which apparently caused our water supply to stop, not ideal when you want a shower to freshen up, furthermore when you are staying at the hotel for a wedding and looking to get ready for the evening reception. Other than that the staff were all fairly good (the brasserie excepted, absolute avoid that place, terrible food and service). Spa facilities a bit grubby, lines of dirt in the outside pool which could be easily cleaned in minutes, and some facilities closed. I forgot my swim wear and although they usually sell it there they had run out, OK a pretty basic mistake to forget my own, but a pretty basic thing to keep stocked up for a hotel spa?

The air con throughout (rooms, function rooms, communal areas) appeared to be deficient, never really actually meeting the targeted temperature on a humid day.

The beds were hard, and wide just how I like it, probably the best thing about the place. The noise between rooms wasnt bad although the screeching sounds of a baby crying were pretty audible in our room all one night.

Im back in Chester for another wedding in a few weeks time and would have stayed here again but I don't think this place can justify it's prices, especially considering the condition of the spa, and strange rules which make you seem like you aren't welcome if you are a resident.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsinamuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments relating to your stay.

I am disappointed to hear that you left the hotel less than satisfied with the experience you had.

Please accept my sincere apologies. Your comments regarding the spa have been relayed to the spa manager to look into with her team.

I am sorry that there was an issue with our water supply during your stay after the storm we had. As you can appreciate this was something out of our control and our engineer was here within the hour to rectify the problem. I hope that this didn't spoil the rest of your stay and evening with us.

Should you wish to discuss the points you have raised in further detail, please feel free to contact me directly - by email, kirsty.martin@doubletreechester.com or by telephoning the hotel directly on 01244 408800.

I hope that you will consider staying at the hotel again so we are given the opportunity to prove that this is not our normal standard of service and that we can provide a relaxing and comfortable stay.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

From the moment you arrive at Doubletree by Hilton you see fantastic standards at work. Perfectly clean and welcoming. Efficient happy staff ready to help and advise the many benefits of the hotel, restaurants and spa area without being pushy and sales like. A hot chocolate chip cooky is offered on arrival and tastes devine. The room was excellent, spacious and very clean. Connection to the Wi-Fi was fast and trouble free. Tea, coffee and biscuits provided in the room. Down to the spa area to relax in robes, slippers and fresh towels. The treatments are fairly priced and professionally given from nails to massage. Try not to fall asleep in the Dreamroom ! Although I didn't eat in the steak house it looked welcoming and people around the bar area gave it rave reviews. After an excellent nights sleep we all had a great breakfast with piping hot food regulary checked and replaced. All in all the best hotel experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thnak you for taking out the time to write a review on your recent visit to out hotel.

It is an absolute pleasure to read that you had a brilliant time here with us, and really enjoyed the warm DoubleTree Chocolate Cookies on arrival.

I am pleased to read that your were able to use the facilities of the Club and Spa and take in some treatments during your stay.

Your feedback is extremely important to us and will be relayed back to all the team here at the DoubleTree. Once again we would like to thank you for sharing this with us.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here around 10 times.. This is defiantly my favourite spa hotel.
On a couple of occasions the rooms have been a little small, but other than that very nicely presented.
Love Love Love the pool and spa area..
MPW never let me down yet, amazing food every single time..
Close to town centre, 5 minutes in a cab.
Absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19KS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear that you have had yet another fantastic stay, with use of the facilities in the Club and Spa and a Meal in the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse.

We look forwrad to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We styed over on Friday 26th we got there early so we could use the spa facilities which were wonderful. The only downside is if you are a guest in the hotel and not paying for a spa treatment they don't provide you with slippers and a robe. This creates a bit of an issue if you want to have lunch in the spa as you are sat in a towel (everyone else in robes due to a recent Groupon deal), so we ended up getting dressed and eating in the Brassiere and Lounge which was slightly annoying but excellent food and service, all cooked fresh where the spa was self-service. We took advantage of the £20 champagne offer on a Friday and this was lovely. The rooms were nice, spacious and clean. it was well worth the money and the spa facilities were fantastic. There was a very extensive selection for breakfast and although it was a buffet there was a high turnover so the food was hot and fresh. I will definitely visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFairy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel

It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy the facilities in our Club and Spa throughout your stay. I apologise that you were disappointed to not be given robes in the spa, this is normal practice and robes are only provided for guests having treatments as we do provide full changing facilities in the Club and Spa.

I am delighted that you had a delicious lunch in our hotel Brasserie and were able to take advantage of one of our fantastic offers currently running - Thank Fizz it's Friday and enjoy a bottle of Champagne for only £20.

All your feedback is appreciated and will be relayed to the relevant department heads to share with their teams.

We hope that you have another opportunity to return to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

From check in to our time in the gym to relaxing in in the spa, to celebrating with the wedding guests in the evening The team at Doubletree made our stay special. Chris in the bar makes a mean cocktail and Tom who worked in the evening went out of his way to help us.

The rooms were clean and plush. The beds were lovely and comfortable and the food was great. The Doubletree certainly pay such attention to detail in every aspect of their business.

We have a return stay planned for a hen party in October ....cant wait :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Dear Guest at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

It is great to hear that you had such a fabulous time with us here, both with your stay and the evening wedding reception.

Your feedback in relation to both Chris in the Brasserie bar and Tom in our Conference and Banqueting team is greatly appreciated and will be relayed to their team leaders to share with them.

I am delighted that you found the hotel rooms to be clean and plush and that you were able to have a good nights sleep in our large, comfortable beds.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 25 July 13, just me and my husband for one night. It was brilliant staff were great rooms were very clean only one snag we were facing a brick wall so be aware. It's costs about £5 by taxi from Chester station.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 120 if you don't want to face a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nofrillsboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments relating to your stay.

I am pleased to read that you had a brilliant time with us and found all staff members to be of help to you.

I apologise that you were disappointed with the view from the room, we are extremely limited with views due to the layout of the hotel.

We hope that you are able to return to stay with us again in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing