We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RETURNING FOR FAMILY BIRTHDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
OXFORD, United Kingdom
1 review
“RETURNING FOR FAMILY BIRTHDAY”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We have stayed at the hotel on a number of occasions over the years and found it to be well placed for area attractions. The hotel offers a wide variety of dining preferences however for the Marco Pierre White restaurant we have found that it is advisable to book in advance for busy Friday and Saturday nights. The Spa experiences are also worth taking advantage of if you have the time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing a review with us in relation to your recent stay.

It is great to hear that you came back to us to celebrate a family birthday and enjoyed your time spent with us.

Thank you for pointing out the necessity to book a table at our Marco Pierre White Stekhouse in advance, it does get booked up early.

We hope to see you all back here at the DoubleTree in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    924
    414
    168
    92
See reviews for
462
1,457
52
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed for a night for my fiancée's birthday and included spa treatments. The reception staff are very welcoming and the room includes everything you need for a nights stay. The bonus was a small birthday cake was in the room on arrival without even being asked for :-)
I didn't eat but have in the past and it is very good but of course is priced for a Hilton.
The spa facilities are the best I have used with varying rooms for relaxing, steaming, saunas, swimming and a lovely outdoor waterfall jacuzzi!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I am pleased that you chose to stay with us for your Girlfriend's 30th Birthday. It is great to hear that our reception team were friendly and welcoming during your stay and that you liked the birthday cake in your room.

We hope that you are able to come back and stay with us again in the near future and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Friendly and efficient check in/out at the hotel. Although arrived early most of our rooms were ready and so minimal disruption to our plans. Spa and Pool very pleasant but spa reception a bit slow and disorganised although we may have hit a particularly busy time with it being a weekend and possibly the one lady on reception new to the hotel and/or the spa reception. Only had lunch but would try restraurant next time we visit for the next girlie trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jayne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to come and spend your 60th Birthday here with us at the DoubleTree Chester.

It is lovely to read that you all enjoyed your stay and found reception staff to be friendly and welcoming.

We hope that you do get chance to come again and prehaps sample our restaurant, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Excellent service, beautiful SPA, fantastic Marco Pierre White food and lovely room. Could not find fault at this hotel and I will certainly be staying here again. Located near to Chester it was the perfect base for work. One of the best SPA's I have stayed at for this value for money and I ordered room service from Marco Pierre Whites which was out of this world.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

We look like to take this opportunity to thank you for review on our recent stay here with us at the DoubleTree.

It is fantastic to read that your stay was "Top Class", and that you were particularly impressed with our Spa and Marco Pierre White Steakhouse.

All the team are very much looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

THis hotel is set in its own grounds, at lot of money has been invested - great spa etc

However, the regular price they charge is way over the value for money mark, I stayed for £65.00 for me this was very good value indeed.

Nicely appointed rooms, good breakfast, lovely staff.

But you need to insist on getting a good deal.

Very close to the motroway, but not that close you hear the traffice, about a mile away from Chester centre.

All in all a very good lcoation

Room Tip: Normal rack rates wat too pricey - you need haggle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

It is a delight to read that you managed to secure a great deal to enable you to stay at our hotel. We always offer competitve pricing and encourage guests to take advantage of our offers and promotions.

I am pleased that all staff were friendly throughout your stay and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

We hope you can come and stay with us again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Checked in sat due to checkout this morning. Wonderful hotel and spa is excellent, I'm not one for spa retreats but given the opportunity I jump at the chance. The spa rooms are exquisite. .sauna, jacuzzi, steam and sensory hammam rooms plus pool.. This hotel also has MP Cuisine. Unfortunately didnt access the restaurant as prior arrangement in Chester, menu and intel looked interesting. Top hotel with lots to do..great weekend offers on too..worth the stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garryc184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time spent with us, especially the spa.

We hope that you are able to come back and visit us again soon, and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Had a lovely stay for our anniversary at the doubletree hilton chester. We used a group on voucher and although I've seen some reviews stating poor service due to booking with one, we felt exceptionally welcome and had nothing but great service. Booked an 8pm table at MPW at the time of booking and actually decided to head down for dinner a little big early and were seated straight away even though they were quite busy and the food was amazing!! One of the best steaks I've ever had (and in very fussy). Room was clean, bright and had everything we could have needed. Unfortunately we were unable to use the spa facilities as we had to leave for an appointment fairly early. We definitely would stay again and use them next time.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeni90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking some time to share a review with us.

I am pleased to read that you had a lovely stay with us to celebrate your annivesary and took advanatge of the recent promotional stay we had running through Groupon.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, in particular your steak.

We really do hope that you do come back and stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,235 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
9.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing