We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here at Christmas and all very reasonable but there were a few dissapointments.
When we booked our stay we were made aware that the Swimming Pool would not be open until the 23rd December - we arrived on the 22nd and were leaving on the 27th, so that was ok.
However when we arrived we were advised that the pool would not be open until the middle of January.
This was a bitter dissapointment especially for my wife and daughter, and had we known earlier we would have rearranged.
On top of that there was no offer of compensation.
I suppose it was only to be expected but there were also a lot of nosiy young children running around late on in the evenings. I think areas should be allocated with youing families to keep them together and avoid upsetting other clients who just want a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 208Adrian_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Christmas period.

Please accept our sincere apologies that the pool was not finnished on time. We had to ensure that the maintenance work was completed fully before allowing any guests access to the pool.

Your feedback regarding children is appreciated, as you can understand it is not always possible for all children to be allocated in one area of the hotel due to the different rooms types we have. I am sorry if you felt disturbed by other guests, we are a family hotel and welcome guests of any age.

We hope that you are able to come back and stay with us, and get the chance to now use our new pool.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,328
    871
    387
    153
    81
See reviews for
422
1,369
49
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel and I was impressed the first time we visited a year ago. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us. The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a huge bed. The breakfast the next morning was excellent and plentiful. We will defiantly be returning again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearytraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us in relation to your recent stay.

I am delighted to read that you had another relaxing stay with us and that the staff were friendly and helpful throughout.

We all hope that you get the chance to come back and stay with us again, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I frequently stay at this hotel and rate the rooms as very good - beds are great. The Hilton honours points are always a bonus. The only niggle about staying at the Hilton is the menu in the restaurant is the same as it was last year and when they are busy the service is often very slow....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us.

I am pleased that you frequently stay with us on business and find our rates to be competitive and the beds to be comfortable.

You feedback in relation to the restaurant is gratefully received and will be fed back to the relevant department head.

All the team here at the DoubleTree are looking forward to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Just had an amazing overnight spa stay here, facilities are second to none, & the rooms are beautiful, comfortable and spacious. The spa is amazing too with fantastic amenities, would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank samjb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

It is great to see that you had a fabulous stay here with us at the DoubleTree Chester.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st helens
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Everything was perfect, from checking in, food, staff, room and spa. We had a great time.We did upgrade to a late check out, which was really worth it. I did request a spa treetment but wasn;t able to get one, so I would recommend booking with the spa and not the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in king room, there was plenty of room for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1001bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank your for your review.

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I am pleased that we were able to accommodate a late checkout for you.

Great advice for others too; to book the Spa in advance, it is extremely popular!

We all look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I had this hotel on offer via Groupon. It was an excellent deal and an excellent stay. The hotel was pure luxury from the staff to the quality of the room furnishings. The Marco Piere White restaurant was beautiful- the steak was to die for

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thnak you for your lovely comments.

It is fantastic to read that you took advantgae of one of our recent offers and had a great time with us all.

We hope that you are able to come back to stay at the hotel again, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

A brief review because I didn't use any of the facilities so comments on the room ony.

Good points:
Big Car park
Quiet location
Comfortable work chair
Clean

Negatives:
Noisy.... loudly closing doors, I could even hear the person in the next room using the loo - very clearly!!
No plugs by the bed - cant plug phone in
Small room
Tiny window
Room was very cold on arrival

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnG1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing a review with us.

I am pleased to read that you found our quiet location to be an advantage to your stay with us and that all facilities were clean.

I am disappointed that you were disturbed by your neightbours closing doors.

We hope that you are able to come back and stay with us again soon, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing