We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the doubletreee for a spa weekend with my partner. Everything was fantastic! Rooms, spa, service and food were all spot on. Staff couldn't do enough for you, the spa was extremely clean and well looked after. Very relaxing. Food was beautiful. The only thing that we had a problem with was the shower, very tempremental. It was either scolding hot or freezing cold. But this said, we had an excellent weekend at a beautiful hotel and spa. Would definitely recommend!!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing a review with us in relation to your recent stay.

It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and in particular liked the time spent in our Club and Spa.

Please accept my apologies in regards to the shower, we would always encourage you to contact us during your stay so that we are able to rectify this at the time for you.

We hope that you get the chance to come back and stay with us again soon, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,913 - 1,919 of 3,079 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend booked an overnight stay at the Double Tree by Hilton, Chester as a surprise for my birthday. The whole stay was a delight from start to finish and I couldn't recommend this hotel enough!

We were on a package deal which included an overnight stay, use of spa facilities, 3 course meal in brasserie restaurant and breakfast the following morning- all for a very very reasonable price!

We stayed in a standard double room which was stylish, comfortable and spacious and had the biggest king size bed I have ever seen in a hotel! Bathroom was lovely, very modern and very good shower. We had a nice surprise from the restaurant staff - a birthday cake was delivered free of charge and left in the room upon our arrival which was very thoughtful and absolutely delicious!

The spa area is excellent. The hot tub/pool/jacuzzi is to die for and was perfect for a relaxing break! There is also a seating area to relax, steam room, sauna, swimming pool and gym- although we stayed in the jacuzzi!

Our three course meal in the evening was delicious, which was complemented by exceptional service from all of the restaurant staff. Special mention to Laura and Emma our waitresses who were friendly, genuine and put candles in a mini cheesecake just for me! I would recommend the gammon with crushed new potatoes for main- absolutely gorgeous!

We had a peaceful and comfortable nights sleep and went down to have our breakfast the following day. We did have to wait around 5-10 minutes to be seated for our breakfast, it was very busy and the staff apologised and seated us as quickly as possible. The buffet breakfast was lovely, a good variety and very tasty.

One tiny complaint is that we struggled to get parked in the car park. For the amount of guests I think the car park could definitely do with an expansion!

All in all our stay at the hilton was wonderful! I can't wait to stay again in the future ! Thank you to all the lovely staff at the hilton for making our stay so lovely.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank helloanniekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for coming to stay with us at the DoubleTree Chester.

It is lovely to read that you boyfriend booked your stay as treat for your birthday - and it didn't disappoint.

I will pass on your thanks to all the staff, especially Laura and Emma in the restaurant.

We hope you do get to come back again soon, we all look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here at Christmas and all very reasonable but there were a few dissapointments.
When we booked our stay we were made aware that the Swimming Pool would not be open until the 23rd December - we arrived on the 22nd and were leaving on the 27th, so that was ok.
However when we arrived we were advised that the pool would not be open until the middle of January.
This was a bitter dissapointment especially for my wife and daughter, and had we known earlier we would have rearranged.
On top of that there was no offer of compensation.
I suppose it was only to be expected but there were also a lot of nosiy young children running around late on in the evenings. I think areas should be allocated with youing families to keep them together and avoid upsetting other clients who just want a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 208Adrian_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Christmas period.

Please accept our sincere apologies that the pool was not finnished on time. We had to ensure that the maintenance work was completed fully before allowing any guests access to the pool.

Your feedback regarding children is appreciated, as you can understand it is not always possible for all children to be allocated in one area of the hotel due to the different rooms types we have. I am sorry if you felt disturbed by other guests, we are a family hotel and welcome guests of any age.

We hope that you are able to come back and stay with us, and get the chance to now use our new pool.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel and I was impressed the first time we visited a year ago. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us. The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a huge bed. The breakfast the next morning was excellent and plentiful. We will defiantly be returning again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearytraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us in relation to your recent stay.

I am delighted to read that you had another relaxing stay with us and that the staff were friendly and helpful throughout.

We all hope that you get the chance to come back and stay with us again, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I frequently stay at this hotel and rate the rooms as very good - beds are great. The Hilton honours points are always a bonus. The only niggle about staying at the Hilton is the menu in the restaurant is the same as it was last year and when they are busy the service is often very slow....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us.

I am pleased that you frequently stay with us on business and find our rates to be competitive and the beds to be comfortable.

You feedback in relation to the restaurant is gratefully received and will be fed back to the relevant department head.

All the team here at the DoubleTree are looking forward to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just had an amazing overnight spa stay here, facilities are second to none, & the rooms are beautiful, comfortable and spacious. The spa is amazing too with fantastic amenities, would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank samjb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

It is great to see that you had a fabulous stay here with us at the DoubleTree Chester.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Everything was perfect, from checking in, food, staff, room and spa. We had a great time.We did upgrade to a late check out, which was really worth it. I did request a spa treetment but wasn;t able to get one, so I would recommend booking with the spa and not the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in king room, there was plenty of room for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1001bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank your for your review.

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I am pleased that we were able to accommodate a late checkout for you.

Great advice for others too; to book the Spa in advance, it is extremely popular!

We all look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,698 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,134 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £91 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing