We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“check-out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“check-out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I had to wait for 15 mins to check-out. There was a long queue and only 1 person at the desk - people were really complaining ! I would expect an easy, quick check-out, especially in the morning when people have to catch planes, trains, taxis,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Noella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It disappoints me to read that you had to queue to check out. We do offer an express check-out service, whereby you are able to sign the bill left under your door through the night and leave it at reception to be processed and forwarded on to you to avoid having to wait.

I apologise if this service was not of help to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,328
    871
    387
    153
    81
See reviews for
422
1,369
49
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I can not say how much we appreciate the way we where treated by the staff of this hotel from start to finish Rachel in sales was so helpful in the booking and arranging the room and on the day we where looked after by two gentlemen called Dave & Adam who where a credit to the hotel every member of my family where impressed with the service we received so please give a BIG thank you from me David Wightman

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Mr Wightman

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree to hold your remembrance for John.

I have passed your thanks on to Rachel in our events team, who helped to organise this special time for you and also to Dave and Adam who ran the day for you.

Your comments are greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Thought I would book this for a special birthday treat for the wife and I. Looks a nice hotel and wanted to do a SPA treatment and eat at Marco's Restaurant on site. Seemed like a great idea..... This is the most difficult night away I have ever tried booking. You have to book all 3 events seperately. The SPA 'NEVER' answer the phone. (yes I do mean NEVER) reception can't book Marco's as they haven't had the training on the booking computer. (???) Phoned at least 8 times and emailed. Eventually all booked, hurray. Then we arrived. Pool was very busy, SPA massage had wedding guests running outside, so very noisey and not relaxing. Think more conveyor belt experience than special pamper. Marco's was average if I was being polite. The specials steak was terrible. (The staff were excellent in restaurant.) great atmosphere. Nice bedroom. Booked out in morning and they overcharged by £100. Sorted that... 3 days later the SPA charged me again.. Phoned to get a refund. (did I mention they never answer the phone?) eventually spoke to hotel reception who said someone would phone me back. They did and refunded. Nice facilities, nice hotel. Hope I was just an unlucky client. Not easy to book. Don't pick steak off special's. Other steaks looked nice. Been to nicer SPA's but the facilities are good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments realting to your recent stay with us.

It disappoints me to read that you left the hotel feeling less than satisfied with your exeperience, especially in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and the Club and Spa.

This is certainly not the normal high standard of service we wish to deliver to our guests.

I am pleased that you did like the facilities in our Club and Spa and the hotel itself.

We do hope that you will consider coming to stay with us again, so that we are given the opportunity to prove that we are more than capable of providing a relaxing and comfortable stay.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The reception desk were not very helpful when I called with regards to the early check in upgrade that I was offered at £16 a couple of days before, I don't understand why it is offered if the hotel cannot guarantee an early check in we had a wedding at the hotel and did not want to travel in our wedding attire, I asked if there was anywhere to change if an early check in was not an option and I was told quite bluntly 'the toilets' . The service of staff in the dining & bar area was also very poor we kept getting charged different prices for the same drinks which in themselves were not cheap £4.50for a pint of Guinness.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies if you felt misled at all by the offer of an early check-in. This is something we are not normally able to guarantee until the day of arrival. This is due to all guests being allowed to check-out of their rooms at 12 noon. As you can appreciate if the hotel is full the night prior to your arrival, and all guests choose to check-out at 12 noon, then it is near impossible for us to have rooms ready before the designated check-in time. If you arrive at the hotel and a room is ready, we will always check you in, and we priortise ready rooms for those guests who have requested this service prior to arrival. The only way to guarantee an early check-in is to book your room for the night before so that no-one else is able to reserve that room.

I hope that you were able to enjoy the wedding that you attended and will consider coming back to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We've stayed here a few times before and the experience is always consistently good. The pool and spa facilities on site are excellent and towels are provided at no extra cost. Cookie on arrival is a nice touch. All staff were polite, helpful and friendly. As it was my wife's birthday, they sent a complimentary birthday cake up to our room which was a lovely gesture and tasted great! My only minor issue was that no skimmed milk was available at breakfast, which is all my wife can drink due to health issues. I don't expect many people to request skimmed milk though so we understood when they said there wasn't any available. Another good stay and will be staying again in the future when visiting Chester.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out to share a review.

I am pleased to read that you have had another enjoybale stay with us, and found all staff to be helpful and attentive during your stay,

Please let us know when you are returning and we will make sure we have skimmed milk available for your wife.

We all look forward to seeing you back soon for some more Cookies.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Visited the Double Tree again yesterday after a lovely spa visit a couple of years ago. Booked on a similar deal - although not quite as good value as the first time- through living social.

First off - the good points. The facilties are good- steam room, hamman, sauna, jacuzzi, outside pool etc. Changing rooms are nice with really powerful showers and good hairdryers. The best point of the day was my hot stone massage - so so good and relaxing. The lady on reception also was helpful when we needed to change 2 appointments when we arrived from what we had prebooked.

Next - the bad points. I guess they had a really good response to the living social deal because even on a Monday day the pool area was rammed. There were no free beds or chairs so once you're out of the pool / steam room etc what are you meant to do?? Sit on the floor!???? We were also left waiting quite a while to be seated for lunch because the poor guy in the restaurant was on his own. He was seating people, refilling the buffet, getting the drinks, clearing the tables - all by himself! Poor guy! The lunch was OK but I got some cheese and biscuits for afterwards and the cheese had cleary been sat out for quite some time - the edges had gone hard and discoloured. NOT NICE.

I was also annoyed to realise after we got home (when I was looking at the email that contained the offer) that our spa day should have included a glass of fizz for each of us but none of us were offered this at all, even though I saw lots of people at lunch with champagne glasses, plus in the area where you wait for your treatment some people had them too.

It's a nice spa but really needs to minimise the amount of people that can come in at once - or get a lot more beds. I don't think I will book again if this offer comes up which is a shame as we had such a good time the first time around.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stocktonhfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review relating to a recent spa day with us.

I am pleased that you liked the use of the steam rooms, hamman and jacuzzi areas, and also enjoyed your hot stones massage.

Our spa is exetremely popular and is open to hotel residents as well as spa users so the pool area can become a little busy. The staff are very good at monitoring the number of people in the area to avoid it being over populated, I would like to apologise if you felt that this had happened during your visit.

We hope that you will consider using the Spa again, and we look forwrad to seeing you back soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deganwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Everything was FAB, the disabled room was amazing, wetroom & bathroom, lounge area and swivel TV in the middle of the room so can be watched from the settee or the bed, awesome. The day was very special at this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank lyn102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

I am delighted that you had a very special and memorable day with us here at the DoubleTree Chester for your son's wedding.

It is great to hear that our accessible room was adequate and spacious to help with all your needs, enabling you to have a realxing stay.

All the team look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel again soon, and wish your son and his new partner all the very best for their new life together.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing