We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely spa but brasseried off....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“lovely spa but brasseried off....”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My niece and I booked this for a treat for us and my Mum. Difficult to book somewhere for 3 people in one room. We had a suite with two double beds. The room was prepared for two people but housekeeping promptly provided the required additional teas milks tea etc with a friendly face. You cannot check in until 3pm and neither can you use the spa until checked in, a point we had not made. There is a short bus trip into Chester. The Brasserie is fine but needs more experienced staff/management. We waited some time to be seated for lunch and then staff vacuumed around us whilst we ate lunch. A drink was available at lunch but not in the evening- unless we wanted staff to walk to the other bar (enclose by in the same building) to get it. Erm, yes we do!! Evening meal was nice, but we waited for long periods to be served. After waiting nearly an hour to receive a bill we paid for our evening meal at the bar, next day at checkout they tried to bill again. Luckily Mum had a receipt to show we had paid, but I had said no charge to the room so do not understand how that was allowed to happen. The spa was lovely, especially the waterfall pool which is really good. We had a back massage which everyone enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing a review with us.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time with us, especially in the Spa and that you all liked your back massages.

Your comments in relation to the Brasserie are appreciated and we would like to thank you for bringing these to our attention. We enedavour to act upon feedback where possible to improve the service we provide.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    902
    400
    158
    89
See reviews for
444
1,415
50
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deganwy, conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

my daughter and I went away for a special weekend, and took advantage of the sunday night stay with dinner and breakfast. We also booked ourselves in for a spa treatment the following day. The hotel staff were friendly but the fixed menu offered with this package is appalling, and of no interest at all. We therefore had to choose off the other menu and pay an additional fee. Whilst eating our main course we were asked if we wanted a sweet as the Chef wanted to go home! I wouldnt mind if we were deliberately being slow and unreasonable but this was at 10.00pm. in the evening. The next morning in the Spa there werent enough towels and robes ready so people were being asked to go for coffee but there was no one working in the coffee bar. Quite a lot of disruntled clients. i wouldnt go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

It is disappointing to hear that your stay was not up to standard and please rest assured that this is certainly not the lasting impression we wish to leave with our valued guests.

We would like to than you for bringing these points to our attention. Your comments have been addressed with the Restaurant and Spa Managers. They will not go unnoticed.

We hope that you will consider staying at the hotel in the future, we would be grateful of the opportunity to make ammends and prove that this is by no means a reflection on our usual standards of service.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great location and the hotel grounds are very well presented - the hotel is very clean and appealling. However the rooms are a little small, although the beds are comfy and the bathrooms are good. The Marco Pierre White restaurant was excellent - however, when booking, I was asked if the meal was for a special occasion, so I explained it was for my father's 50 birthday. They said they would give him a special birthday dessert... my dad isn't a fan of desserts but I persuaded him, thinking the cake would come but it didn't! So was disappointed about this as the staff were the ones to ask me if it was for a special occasion. Other than that, no complaints and would return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thnak you for choosing to spend your fathers 50th Birthday with us here at the DoubleTree Chester.

It is great to read that you had a lovely stay with us.

I am sorry to read that your father did not receive his Birthday plate in the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse. They do offer a decorated dessert plate when somebody is celebrating a birthday. I will pass your comments back to the restaurant Manager.

I do hope that you come back and stay with us again, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Picked the DoubleTree, together with 'the club and spa' for a 10th anniversary weekend away. The hotel room was very clean, comfortable and just the job. We were able to book room only (as never up early if we don't have to be) so gets our vote. Well situated for Chester, just a short taxi ride away. For note - very disappointed with the spa, treatments were very lame although the staff were pleasant enough. Go for the hotel - but not the spa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing a review with us.

I am pleased that you chose to visit the DoubleTree Chester for your 10th Wedding Annivesary and that you enjoyed your hotel stay.

I am disappointed to read that you left feeling less than satisfied with your treatments in the Club and Spa. Please accept my sincere apologies if these were not up to our normal level of high standards. I will make sure your comments are relayed to the Spa Manager to investigate with her team.

We hope that you will consider returning to us, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here on business for two nights. Service and staff were very good. Spa was good but only a couple of the steam rooms were working correctly. The gym is well equipped and well kept. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree on your recent business trip to Chester.

It is a pleasure to hear that you found the service from the staff be very good.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chester.

Kind Regards

Kisrty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Large, clean & well presented modern hotel with all the trimmings.
Could be amazing with a little extra attention to detail: front entrance to the hotel - the sign has letters missing & is covered in bird poo!.. that's a minor, but it all counts right?
The Spa was OK - but the steam rooms had some annoying high pitched ringing sound that didn't stop, the hydrotherapy massage waterfall thing was out of action in the outdoor pool, and the spa was veerrrryyyy busy - this was on a Saturday. No space for treatments, staff on the front desk were pretty rude (only in the spa, main hotel were very good). So that let it down a little bit. Oh, and the male showers were dirty - rubbish strewn on the floor, looked like they needed a good scrub!

Nice rooms, v spacious, great breakfast, good hotel staff.
The hotel is a 4.5* - the spa is a 3.5*, so im giving it a 4*. Overall we had a nice stay, but I wouldn't pay £175 for it again - look for offers, it's not quite worth that really.

That said, Chester is great - don't stay in the hotel/marcos - get out!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TP_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us in relation to your recent stay.

It is lovely to read that you had a good stay with us and found the rooms to be spacious.

Your feedback in relation to the spa is greatly received and will be passed over to the Spa Manager to look into.

We hope you are able to come back and stay with us again, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Booked on the Stay and Dine offer! Great value for money.
The hotel is lovely and all staff were very helpful. The cookies on check-in were delicious!
Room was comfy and clean, although took a while to find the plugs!
The spa was great although very busy on the Sunday. people were reserving beds with their towels but not using them, which meant we gave up and went to relax in our room! On the Monday it was quieter.
Both dinner and breakfast was scrummy.
Can't wait to book again although will look for a spa deal so we know we have full access to the spa. On the Stay and Dine you only have from check in at 3pm until 12 noon on the day you check out, unlike most places where you can use the facilities all day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank skijunkie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us on our Stay and Dine package and liked your DoubleTree Cookies on arrival.

We look forward to seeing you bcak at the hotel again soon for your spa break.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,616 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing