We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother and Daughter Spa Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My 4 daughters and I had a great spa day using a
Living Social Deal. The spa was very welcoming although quite busy for a Friday. We had treatments each followed by a two course lunch. The treatments were performed by experienced professionals and we left feeling very relaxed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing a review with us relating to your recent spa day.

I am delighted to read that you all had a great day here at the Club and Spa Chester, and left feeling relaxed after your treatments.

We all look forward to seeing you at the hotel and Spa again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,883 - 1,889 of 3,116 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed for one night to sample spa facilities. Great location and spa facilities. Friendly staff. Great service and food in the Marco restaurant. Only letdown was the leather bacon provided at breakfast.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased tp read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the use of the Spa facilities and your meal in our Marco Pierre White restaurant.

We all hope you can come back and stay again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package. Room was very nice and the meal in the restaurant was lovely. We planned to breakfast then enjoy the pool/sauna/steam room facilities. However on returning to our room after breakfast there was a letter pushed under our door informing us that due to the spa being oversubsribed the pool area was closed to hotel guests after 10am that day. They would have known this the previous day yet did not tell us to allow us to use the faculities the night before. With nothing else to do in the hotel we had no choice but to leave. This hotel markets itselfs based on its pool/spa and yet you arent allowed to use them. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loveholiday04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us in relation to your recent stay.

It is lovely to read that you had a relaxing evening with us and enjoyed your meal in the hotel restaurant.

Please accept my apolgies in relation of the closure of the swimming pool to hotel guests. It was brought to our attention in the morning that the pool was going to reach capacity due to the number of bookings arriving and the number of guests in the hotel. We had to make a decission to inform our guests by letter, as opposed to them being turned away from the Club reception, that access from 10am would be denied to all hotel residents. This is not common practice for us, but we do have a duty of care for our guests and their safety is our priorty, therefore on this occassion we did have to take this option so as to not overfill the pool area. I would like to once again offer my sincerest apologies, please feel free to contact our Spa Manager, Catherine, should you wish to discuss this any further.

We hope that you will consider coming back to stay with us again, we would all like to welcome to back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The overall service was poor, teabags were on short demand and after asking for some extra teabags/coffee this was ignored, the room had no hairdryer although one was eventually found, no hot water for a shower and to cap it all on our last day the room was not serviced at all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies for the shortfall in service, this is certainly not the lasting impression we wish to create and your feedback will most certainly be acted upon.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove that we are capable of providing a relaxing and comfortable stay in the future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I visited the Spa on 20 March on a Sparkling Spa Day for Two, which was a gift from our son and his partner. The day started off with a glass of sparkling wine, and just got better. The facilities were fantastic, we each had a Facial as part of the package, mine was carried out by Katie, very good experience, and my wife thoroughly enjoyed hers equally. We were able to relax in the Dreamwave room, and then visited the pool and sauna area, before partaking of an excellent lunch. All the staff were friendly and helpful, a really good day, no hesitation in recommending the Club and Spa to others. Thankyou for a first rate experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your recent spa day.

It is fantastic to read that you and your wife had a great day here at the Club and Spa and found your facials to be enjoybale and relaxing.

I hope that you can come back and use the Spa again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Me and my Husband stayed here on Thursday 20th March for our wedding anniversary. We got one of those ‘group style’ deals and paid £132 for both of us one night stay with a 3 course meal and spa access. The full cost should have been £307. I’m sad to say we would not have paid the full price for this hotel/experience. The outside of the hotel is beautiful to look at and I’m sure it is even prettier in the summer on a lovely warm summer’s day when you can sit outside.

We were quickly and pleasantly greeted by the receptionist and check in was simple and straight forward. We had pre-ordered a bottle of champagne by email to be in our room for us on arrival and we had the option of setting up a tab so to speak by them taking a swipe of a credit card (not debit card). We just chose to pay as we went along so we knew where we were up to. The champagne was £49 and although we have tried better for less at other spa hotels this was very nice and easy to drink. A bit too easy haha.

Our room was small but very clean and modern with an Iron, Hairdryer and Tea/Coffee Facilities. We used our tea and milk quite quickly but it was easy enough to get more from reception. Unfortunately we both didn’t sleep too well but this was only because the beds were a little too hard for our liking. I’m sure they would suit some people though.

The room was very warm but there is a temperature control panel for air con if required. We just opened the window and that was enough.

That afternoon we used the spa area and had a treatment each. The spa is quite small and intimate but one of the best equipped we have been to. There were many rooms to use apart from the usual Sauna and Steam Room. The Jacuzzi area is the best we have been to with an outside area you can walk into through a small opening in the water.

That evening we went into the Marco Pierre White restaurant and had a lovely meal with wine. The wine menu had lots of choice and started from as little as £18ish which we thought was fair for the Hilton name.

The food was absolutely beautiful. We had Ham Hock and Beetroot and Feta Salad for starters and for main my husband had a medium cooked steak and it was so tender and well cooked it fell apart and melted in your mouth. I had chicken and chorizo risotto and this was quite a big portion. We finished with Apple Pie and Custard and Lemon Drizzle Cake.

Would we stay here again.....? Yes we would but sadly only on another discounted day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for sharing a review with us.

I am delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us and were able to take advantage of the recent Groupon offer we had running which included an overnight stay with breakfast, 3 course meal in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and use of the Spa facilities, and that it did not disappoint.

It pleases me to read that you enjoyed the use of the facilities in the Club and Spa and particulary enjoyed your meal in the Steakhouse.

We hope that you do get chance to come back and stay again soon, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Me and my partner have just got home from our stay at the doubletree Chester feeling massively disappointed ..... From the start of even booking our stay there was massive complications and lack of communication between the hotel,the spa and the restaurant .
I called the spa to book our treatments was put on hold and cut off then couldn't get back through for hours ( no one would answer the phone ) when i finally got through we couldn't have the treatments what we wanted doing after being told originally before I was cut off that they where available , which was really disappointing so we settled for what they could fit us in for .
When we arrived at the hotel the reception staff (a lady ) was lovely and managed to get us a table in the Marco Pierre White restaurant which originally was fully booked when we called to book so we were happy about that , the staff in the restaurant where lovely and very attentive , food was ok , I had the haddock risotto which was nice but full of big bones which was off putting .
Our stay in the room was comfortable quite basic and there was no drinking water in the room which was really annoying .
Mine and my partners spa treatments where booked for 10am but we were called by the spa at 9 and was told that one of us had to come at 10 and the other at 10.30 which would mean us eating breakfast separately which we were not happy about we tried to call the spa to cancel our treatments and again could not get through again , I don't no why they have phones because they don't answer them !!!
So over all our experience was a bit rubbish and don't think we would be back in a hurry .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out to share a review on your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that your left the hotel feeling less than satisfied. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the Spa. It is disappointing to hear that your stay was not up to standard and please rest assured that this is certainly not the lasting impression that we wish to leave with our valued guests.

We would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your comments have been adressed with the Spa Manager. Please rest assured that it will not go unnoticed.

We hope that you will consider staying at the hotel in the future, we would be grateful of the opportunity to make ammends and prove this is by no means a reflection of our usual standards of service.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,735 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,495 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,153 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £66 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing