We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My boyfriend and I LOVE Chester and we visit every year for his birthday. We always stay at the Doubletree because its just faultless. The rooms are always lovely, clean and the bed is so comfy! The pool and spa are great, especially the outdoor jacuzzi. Lots of parking available, never had any trouble finding a space. The staff are extremely polite and really look after you. The breakfast is lovely - lots of choice!

Great location for shopping at Cheshire Oaks and close to Chester town centre. Also great for Chester Zoo which is a must!

Would definitely recommend and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    848
    379
    148
    81
See reviews for
413
1,340
48
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

this was a last minute booking as me and the mrs wanted a spa day. worked out cheaper to spend the night instead of just pay for the spa day. hotel is nice and modern staff are friendly rooms.... could have been better there was some mould on our curtains and some dirt on the celling but nothing to bad. if you want to relax in the spa though I would recommend going at a later time as the first night we went in quite late and it was ace ! went in a again the next morning and it was fairly busy and had a lot of kids in there, which you wouldn't want if your going to relax in there. taxi into chester was a fiver and 7 on the way back. all round not a bad stay and would probably stay there again if the price was a little cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 672ryanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booked this hotel for a weekend away and I have to say it was lovely, the hotel itself is fantastic very clean and the rooms are great with huge beds!! everything was impectable from the service to the cleanliness off the rooms. The hotel sap is a must visit with different saunas and steam rooms and a outdoor jacuzzi.

We ventured in to chester centre during the day which is only a short taxi ride (approx £6) We also booked a table for 2 at Marco Pierre Whites in the hotel which I would definately recommend very relaxed atmosphere and great cocktails in the bar.

I will definately be returning - great hotel, great value for money - very happy customer!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dellucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Abbie - Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review your hotel experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to see that you had such a lovely stay with us, and that you enjoyed our spa & restaurant facilities.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel some time in the near future.

Kind regards

Abbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

As Hilton honours members and double tree hotels this was a little different to the city hotels
Although the hotel was a good standard the higher price is not worth the hike
Also the breakfast was a big let down - even the tea & coffee was self service, the buffet breakfast was to a poor standard with rubbery eggs, dried up bacon and the cheapest beans around!!
Really not up to Hilton standards!
All in all this dud let the stay down

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank craidon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We went to celebrate our silver weddin aniversery, having spent our wedding night, 10th, 15th & 20th aniversery here. as alway the quality of the room (junior suite) was excellent. The spa facilities are excellent and the resturant/brasserie both top notch. Free WiFi was also very useful. Will stay again in 2019, if not before

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Abbie - Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review Our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you choose the Double tree by Hilton Chester to spend such a special wedding anniversary.

I am happy to see you enjoyed our spa facilities & both our in-house restaurants.

We look forward to you visiting us again soon

Kind Regards

Abbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Overnight stay for my girlfriend's birthday, we both used the spa facilities and she had a massage - very enjoyable! Room was well kept and bathroom was clean, huge bed! Only downside was the food in the brasserie, very disappointing burger - totally burnt - sent it back and the replacement was not much of an improvement. All in all enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Abbie - Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review your hotel experience on trip advisor & for choosing double tree by Hilton Chester to spend your girlfriends birthday.

I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience in the hotel & spa.

However I am disappointed to read that the food on this occasion was not to our normal high standard.

I have passed your comments over to our Head chef, who will look into this matter further.

We hope to see you again some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fabulous relaxing day - Staff all very friendly and helpful and our treatments were great. The Dream room - could have slept in there all day ! Hotel Room was gorgeous, nice large bathroom. (take your own hair dryer - hotel one very weak waft of warm air - would take forever) Easy to find and not £5 taxi into town, lots of nice bars and restaurants. Waikkiki bar for cocktails - Brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank wadnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Abbie - Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review your Hotel & spa experience on trip advisor.

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience here, and the whole experience was to a standard we work so hard to achieve.

We will look forward to welcoming you back some time in then near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing