We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Came here to celebrate our first anniversary and for relaxation. As we were staying the night we had full use of the spa facilities from 10am till 6pm and again in the morning till we checked out at 12 noon.
We booked a full body massage which was lovely and relaxing, then lunch on the terrace - two courses for £9.99 each.
For the rest of the afternoon we used the spa for the steam room, sauna and hydro swimming pools which were fab.
We checked in at reception at 3pm and received our warm chocolate cookies; when we entered our king size room we also found a lovely surprise of a cake with a strawberry on top and icing on the plate saying happy anniversary - a lovely touch :)
The room (118) was spacious with large TV which also had volume controls in the bathroom. Unfortunately the large bed squeaked every time we moved on it which kept me awake, apart from that our stay here was lovely and enjoyable.
The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Assisting us when necessary.
We visited the Marco Pierre White restaurant and the food was devine. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HezzieT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,914 - 1,920 of 3,201 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Thanks for a lovely visit. We were a party of 10 with 5 rooms. All our rooms were together and they were immaculate. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The pool and spa were amazing! The breakfast was good although we arrived towards the end and we had to wait 30 mins for a table of 10 which means that a lot of things were running out. I suggest if you are with a large party you arrive a couple of hours before the end of breakfast. I can't wait to come back to stay here again :)

Stayed: May 2014
Thank NicolaSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked a package where you get a queen room, 3 course meal for tea access to the spa and breakfast in the morning for £120.. Good value!

CHECK IN/ROOM
Friendly helpful staff when checking in and loved the cookies we were given. The hotel reception is nicely decorated and has a pleasant feel to it. The grounds that surround this hotel are beautiful. Allocated a room on the first floor, which was reasonably sized with a huge bed, nice modern bathroom, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities, everything you need.No view from the window but the room was nice so we weren't bothered by this.

THE SPA
Didn't have any treatments but maybe next time. Pools and sauna rooms nice and relaxing. Quite busy but not over whelming. Is very clean and has good facilities would have loved to have spend more time there!

DINING
Had dinner in restaurant and Sat at a table looking over the garden. The menus were explained to us and i was printed out a vegetarian menu which I thought was a nice touch as I can often find menus limiting. Food was tasty and service was good. Lots of cocktails to choose from also which is a bonus. Had breakfast in here the following morning which is buffet style, wide selection to choose from, hot and cold things, tea coffee and juices.
Ordered room service quite late at night and there wasn't much to choose from, only sandwiches and curries, which was a let down as we only wanted bits to nibble on. But the sandwiches we did get were nice.

To summarise, this is a lovely hotel and it was very relaxing. Good customer service which makes it an enjoyable stay. Will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great & impressive place I would recommend taking your partner for infrequent long weekends and certainly lengthy Business Stays. Helpful & friendly Reception Staff. Overall stay is a great experience - fantastic Restaurants but it does take a long while for your food to arrive. Apart from a few Hilton Points - I am not sure whether my stay and loyality is appreciated and/or reciprocated i.e. not wanted during Chester Races.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed for one night of a two night hen party, I cannot fault the hotel staff they were all pleasant and very helpful but not intrusive. We had a meal in the Marco Pierre White restaurant, again all the staff were attentive and polite but the menu I found very expensive for what it was, 13 of us were sat in a lovely private area ( good idea for a hen party group) but the table was cramped, I have to admit I did not complain I was not the organiser and did not want to spoil the evening by complaints! I had the native lobster for main course but I was disappointed there was little flavour. In fact I would say my whole meal lacked flavour. The pool and spa was a good facility which I enjoyed thoroughly. I would recommend the hotel but not the restaurant at the current prices.

Room Tip: Some of the group shared a room for 4 double bed and sofa bed. The sofa bed is not really big enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at the hotel. Nothing was too much for the staff, they were friendly and helpful at all times. Room was clean and tidy, as was the hotel. Plenty of options for breakfast. Grounds beautifully maintained and thankfully we had fantastic weather providing us with the opportunity to enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We returned home last Thursday from a wonderful 2 weeks in Mexico for my Daughter and Son In
Law's Wedding .On Saturday evening 26 th April we had the most fabulous Wedding Celebration
Reception at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chester .From when we entered the hotel from reception ,
to help from Eric who was professional ,pleasant and polite ,the housekeeping staff ,particularly one lady who was looking after the rooms ,bar and waiting on staff ,we could not fault anyone or anything .Everyone was lovely, polite ,professional and helpful .Hannah from Management who looked after us prio ,during and after the event wa just amazing ! We couldn't thank her enough . She was also helpful prior to the event . I couldn't believe ,how beautiful she had made the gorgeous conservatory look .Hannah is just a lovely person ,so talented at her job ,professional ,smartly dressed and has such a presence about her , She is an asset to the DoubleTree ,Thank you Hannah for helping to make the perfect evening and Wedding Celebration for Vanessa and Robert and thank you to everyone else who made this happen too !Also thank you to Jemma ,Wedding Coordinator also for arranging the perfect evening who was alnso fantastic and to Rachael for your help too . Hayley on reception was so lovely and helpful when we dropped items off the night before and we felt so welcome .
All the rooms we stayed in overnight were absolutely beautiful , lovely clean rooms .We couldn't complain about anything at all .
The food at the wedding evening was just fabulous ,as was breakfast and the tastiest pizza's ever delivered to the room in the early hours of the morning ,when we were watching Vanessa and Robert open their presents .
Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff and We thank everyone at The DoubleTree Chester
Hilton for making our stay and our daughter and son in laws weddding celebration so perfect and
magical !

Brides mum

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful , the junior suites are just fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krh880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,597 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,183 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £63 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing