We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barrow Upon Soar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Noisy night”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel initially seemed excellent with a very good efficient check in. Information was readily available. The room on first appearance was also excellent and we were set fair as we came to a wedding at the hotel for my Nephew.All was really good until it came to going to bed where neither my wife or myself got more than an hours sleep due to the noise from a compressor/air conditioning unit/boiler or whatever on the roof outside our room. If rooms had been available we would have requested a different room but we had been told by many guests they were unable to get a room as it was fully booked. Obviously this was not what we expected from such a highly rated hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,378
    911
    403
    167
    91
See reviews for
451
1,433
51
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We went here as part of the stay and dine deal, which was good, the room was nice, good big bed, clean with a modern bathroom, also had tea making facilities, iron and ironing board.

The evening meal was a good standard but could do with more choice, drinks are a bit on the expensive side but to be expected at a hotel. The breakfast was standard hilton breakfast with plenty of choice.

The Spa was busy when we stayed as there was a wedding on and it was bank holiday weekend but its a good spa with plenty of steam rooms, out door pool etc..

I would stay at this hotel again and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eduardandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Superb hotel.
Possibly the biggest and comfiest bed I have ever slept in.
All the staff were really helpful. Would definately stay again!
Room next to the lift but no noise problems.
Would love to go again soon!

Room Tip: King room bed was massive! Right next to the lift but no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

hotel and spa very good could not of wished for better as treat for my mums 80Th just remember to book your table for evening meal Chester its self is a lovely place hotel 5 mins away. overall great experience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I booked a Junior Suite at Doubletree Chester for a family getaway.

The hotel is set in the middle of wonderful grounds and screams luxury from the moment you enter the building. The highlight of this hotel has to be the pool & spa. If I’m honest one area where most Hilton (and other chain hotels) fall down into the adequate category is the pool & spa areas. This is not an accusation you could make against Doubletree in Chester.

The pool was a good size with a separate adult’s only spa pool and all the extras of steam/sauna etc. The quality of this area though is outstanding and much more akin to an exclusive health club than a chain hotel.

Our room was a Junior Suite and included free wifi. Surprisingly though there was no complimentary dressing gown or snacks which you would normally expect in an upgraded room. Despite this I was happy with the room, it included a massive kingsize bed and a partitioned living room with sofa bed. There were two bathrooms (one with a bath and the other a walk in shower/wet room).

Sadly though the one thing that let this hotel down was the quality of the breakfast. All the buffet items were top notch as you would expect however my poached eggs which were cooked to order were inedible, tasting like they were cooked in vinegar with a tiny bit of water instead of the other way round.

I almost always order poached eggs when I stay in hotels and I can say without hesitation that these were the worst I’ve ever experienced. That said, the rest of the breakfast was very good and if you don’t care about having poached eggs then you would struggle to find a legitimate complaint.

All in all I’d give this hotel a 4/5 rating. The 5th mark would have been easily achieved if only the rooms included the little extras which all other hotels in the Hilton chain offer for premium rooms (snacks of some description, dressing gown etc).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A group of 12 of us stayed at the Doubletree Hilton at Chester for my friends Hen Weekend, The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Rooms were fantastic, very clean and Spa Facilities were lovely. Overall a great hotel would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed early May for 2 nights. Hotel was paid for using Tesco Clubcard vouchers. Location is a little outside of the centre of Chester so if you are going in to Chester to eat/drink a taxi is needed or you would need to take your car. You can walk in and it would take about 40 minutes. Overall our stay was very average, dirty pillowcase (which was removed promptly but shouldn't have been there in the first place). Room otherwise was clean but fairly basic. Pillows inadequate for the size of the bed and the curtains and nets were not retained at the end of the rail so you had to be careful when pulling them to. Breakfast was ok but I didn't like having to queue for a hot drink, no pots of tea or coffee delivered to your table (this would be a nice touch). At times cups/mugs had run out so another bit of a wait.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,632 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,149 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,367 reviews
9.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing