We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey Guys!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hey Guys!!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great venue let down by one member of staff who shouted at us across a crowded room "Hey guys have you paid?" We were very embarrassed as of course we paid and regrettably also left a tip! We reported it to reception

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,380
    911
    403
    167
    91
See reviews for
452
1,434
51
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

my wife and I made a short spa break for her birthday. the service was friendly,attentive & professional. Value was good but nothing outstanding. all aspects of the hotel (rooms, lobby, restaurants, spa, gym were very well maintained. Location is ok but slightly of the beaten track (20 min taxi to town centre). Rooms were fine. The spa experience was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

On the outside the hotel looks lovely, the staff are very attentive and the welcome is great. Inside the room although spacious was shabby. The curtains were covered in various stains, the walls also had various substances on them overall looked like it needed a really good clean. however the bathroom was immaculate

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Poor food - very expensive for what is served, Terrible location of room, no sleep at all!! Next to lift near to bar.Reception not helpful when checkingout no bathroom light working in am!! Hard to find too... Sat nav not correct! Got charged for an already paid room, when queried got told to pay!! Did get a refund when i called after leaving the premisis

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Annabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited the hotel for the weekend based on recommendations from friends and colleagues and unfortunately it did not live up to expectations. On arrival there was a 15 minute wait before we could get checked in. We were told that our room was on the ground floor. On entering the room, there was an open view onto a patio area used by the bar/restaurant area so immediately privacy became an issue. Furthermore there were marks in the bathroom of what we hope was fake tan and nail varnish. On the Sunday morning a staff member entered our room at the same time as knocking (good job I was awake and dressed) just over all a very very disappointing hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gmcc295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Arrived at the Hotel for a family wedding elsewhere and luckily the weather was glorious. First impressions were brilliant, we had a family suite with the swivel tv etc and two bathrooms which were great. However there were 4 different parties in our group and we were all charged varying different rates, some had breakfast included some didn't and some were dining. Those who did not have the table d'hote meal went to Marco Pierre White restaurant and they reported it as nowhere near as good as they would have expected and at £180 for 4 was pricey for very average food. For ourselves, we were informed that although we had booked in for two nights we had only paid for one! This was all booked last September so my memory being a big vague had to pay for the second night. Really did not expect this.

We dined at the hotel as it was prepaid and paid an extra £6 each to have the ribeye steak. When it arrived it was very dry as if it had been left on the hotplate for too long. However when the waiter asked if we were enjoying our meals I said no and he immediately changed it and the steak that followed was delicious, totally different to the first offering.

Breakfast was not so great - big hotels all do the same help yourself service and its great usually as no waiting. However the bacon was dry and overcooked and did not look fresh. I adore mushrooms in any shape or form but when I looked at their mushrooms I could only describe them as black sludge without a proper shape to them.

On waking the second day I was concerned to see something moving on the floor. It was a cockroach. Getting dressed a little later there was another cockroach in the bathroom which I stood on. I informed staff who presumably arranged for the disposal.

So it was a bit of a mixed bag really. Staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful. I have put the cleanliness down as poor because of the cockroach problem but the hotel itself looks beautifully clean - just did not expect cockroaches.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanmalpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The staff were absolutely amazing, helpful, charming, courteous. The food was superb and not expensive so we dined in all the time. Location was great with only short walks to major sights such as the Opera House and and the markets. Also we had a great river view room with a huge bed, the softest sheets I have ever slept in and a snugly also very soft. Lovely swimming pool area ., helpful, charming, courteous. The food was superb and not expensive so we dined in all the time. Location was great with only short walks to major sights such as the Opera House and and the markets. Also we had a great river view room with a huge bed, the softest sheets I have ever slept in and a snugly also very soft. Lovely swimming pool area .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CASACOKAS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,159 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,371 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing