We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break - fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

weekend break booked for a birthday treat - It was a superb stay - excellent service, the 'little things ' meant a lot - a birthday cake left by the staff in our room and a bottle of complimentary wine all added to the event GREAT FOOD, GREAT ROOM , GREAT STAY !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jeanatte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Abbie - Guest relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel on trip advisor, and for choosing the Double tree by Hilton Chester to spend your birthday.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your birthday weekend here, and the extras we provided made your stay that bit more special.

We hope to see you again soon some time in the near future.

Abbie Critchley - Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,824 - 1,830 of 3,153 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from our second stay at this hotel. We go to the area every now and then to visit the Zoo and Anfield. Our Son is quite insistent that we stay at this hotel.

The room (Family Suite) is generous and gives the little ones their own space. The cookies on check in are always welcome.

The spa is the main attraction at the hotel as far as my Son is concerned. He loves the choice of 3 pools and in our three night stay, we went swimming 3 times.

We ate in both the Marco Pierre White restaurant and the hotel Brasserie. The food quality is good in both, although obviously, MPW eclipses the Bras for quality.

The service is always good and helpful.

The only 2 issues I'd raise this time around would be that the menu in the Brasserie should be rotated to avoid it being repetitive; and the ceiling in the spa needs redecoration (paint is peeling over the pool).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

We were welcomed by a friendly face who told us everything we needed to know. The car park was roomy and had no troubles.

We had a meal in the Marco restaurant, the food was outstanding.

We took full advantage of the swimming pool and hot rooms. They were so relaxing. I loved that you could swim out and be outside! A lovely touch.

Thank you so much for a great stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank emmaandy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Abbie Critchley - Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am very happy to see that you had such a lovely stay here with us, and enjoyed all the facilities the hotel has to offer, especially The Club & Spa & Our Marco Pierre White restaurant.

We hope you choose to stay at the Double tree by Hilton Chester again, sometime in the near future.

Abbie Critchley - Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great hotel set in lovely grounds. What made this hotel so fantastic was the spa - absolutely amazing. 3 different types of steam rooms, sauna and most fantastic jacuzzi pool (part of it goes outside) - pure luxury. Fantastic gym for the more energetic! Helpful and polite reception, restaurant and gym staff. Had brilliant meal at the Marco Pierre White Restaurant at hotel. Relaxing bar. Complimentary parking. First time stayed here and already booked again for August! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 716Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Abbie - Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review your hotel experience on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to read that you had such a fantastic stay here with us & enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer.

I have passed on your comments to Our Club & Spa and The Marco Pierre White team.

We look forward to you visiting us again in August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband booked a Twilight evening for us both as a Christmas present. We decided to book a room for the evening as an extra treat. The spa area is lovely, was not too full and plenty of room for all. The treatments are wonderful. We had a massage and a facial and I wold highly recommend these.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank SarahMcCartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We came here for our wedding anniversary. The greeting at reception was very welcoming, and the room 230 which was a suite was excellent. Loads of room, very clean, nice big bathroom, just what we had hoped for really. We had booked Dinner B&B and had pre-booked our table. You get the choice of Table d'hote, 3 courses of each which included Chicken, Steak (for and extra £6) etc or A la carte where you get a credit of £19.95. We went A la carte and both ordered Steak which was beautiful. You also get access to a fully equipped gym which I used on both days, swimming pool, steam room etc all in the price. We had breakfast in the morning which again was great.
I saw a couple of the basic rooms and they did look small so if you can upgrade then it's defo worth the extra.
All in all we would definitely recommend and will be returning again in the near future.

Room Tip: Room 230 was nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

stayed here over the weekend for a wedding. On arrival service was professional and efficient.we went up to room and as this hotel belongs to the Hilton group had high expectations, but we could have been going into a Premier Inn! large bed only good point, housekeeping really needs attention. carpets were stained and hair in the plug holes prevents the water from draining efficiently. linen although looked clean didn't smell fresh. all members of staff that we spoke to or interacted were helpful and polite except for the MC who was attending the wedding, who seemed aloof and when a few unsatisfactory incidents were pointed out to her she either denied it had happened or said it was out of her control, 1 incident was the arrival of a refuse vehicle whilst the couple were exchanging vows something that was completely distracting! we used the spa and booked a treatment and were very impressed with the standard of service we received and facilities. the wedding breakfast itself was very good and beautifully cooked. Overall feelings were mixed about the stay but the only thing that screamed Hilton was the price of the drinks and room. we could have had a very similar experience staying in a lower priced hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandyloo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,542 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £56 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing