We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Joanne willcox at the spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Visit Joanne willcox at the spa”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing colonic from Joanne willcox! Lovely atmosphere at the spa and included in the deal is the use of all spa facilities which is a bonus! I felt clean and fresh after the experience! Makes you feel a lot better! And great advise given!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D03A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    883
    392
    154
    85
See reviews for
430
1,388
49
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here on business for one night. Great service at check in. Very friendly. On arrival in the evening, I decided to use the spa facilities. It was quite busy there (thursday evening) and so wasn't as comfortable as I would have liked. The facilities also need updating as they are looking a bit old now (I have stayed here before three years ago). After a swim, I was faced with very unhelpful spa staff who told me I couldn't charge back drinks to my room as it was a separate business to the hotel. I went to get some money from my room and was then told they only accepted cards. No apology and they were very rude. The reason I needed a drink was because there was no water available in my room, despite there being a fridge. This is unacceptable for a four star hotel. A shame as it's a great location, good value, but the spa service let it down here. That said, other hotel staff were very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel on the outskirts of Chester. Easy to find. The parking lot logistics took a day to get used to. Parts of it are one way and loop around a small piece of the lot. There are sharp 90 degree turns to watch for because you cannot see on coming traffic. Watch out for tour buses loading and the folks on the bicycles. Whew! The welcome was great with that baked chocolate chip cookie smell. The room was nice, especially the spacious bathroom. Although we were across from the elevators, the room was quiet. We ate in the dining room both nights... not the steakhouse which was just as well because a storm blew through in Oklahoma style with rain gushing through where it ought not. The food was good not quite excellent but the service was thoughtful. Breakfast was good with lots of choices in food and tea. All in all a good place to stay for visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tulsa_Traveler_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We've stayed at the hotel before, and thoguht we'd give it another chance. The hotel is situated quite nicely just off the main ring road around Chester so for us perfect to stop off before heading to Ireland. Unlike our last stay, all of the rooms had duvets and sheets on them which was a plus. After our last experience we decided to stay in one of the nicer rooms and ended up in the "Presidential Suite" which is just a normal room with a nice lounge attached to it overlooking the back of the hotel. The room itself was rather dirty and obviously needed a good deep clean. We ordered some room service food which was mediocre and of course at a premium price. The staff didn't seem to know the layout of the hotel and when given our room number kept telling me it wasn't a room. Breakfast is thankfully nicer and the only thing about the hotel that is worth staying for. The hotel is noisy and seems to cater to the party/wedding crowd before guests needs are taken into account with music blaring throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the lifts as possible for a quiet night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for couple of nights with friends. Hotel has some real positives; rooms well appointed with the beds being so comfortable and great bathrooms. I know this is a minor thing but the towels they have are so soft and luxurious Food really nice in evening and staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel was fully booked when we stayed but it was quiet at night with no noise from other guests. The hotel has a nice ambiance and is just a comfortable place to stay. Only one niggle, food at breakfast was not up to the same standard as at evening. Eg, ran out of mushrooms before breakfast ended. But I suspect this was due to fact fully booked. Would not put me off staying here again and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very warm welcome and staff service continued throughout our stay. Room very clean with excellent facilities - the sound system in the bathroom was my personal favorite! Very good food - both room service and breakfast Bar staff very friendly and helpful....and they made a mean cocktail!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Abbie Critchley - Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review your hotel experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and you enjoyed all the areas of our hotel.

We hope you choose to stay at the double tree by Hilton Chester again, some time in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just got back from staying here for 2 nights, plenty of parking and in a good location. We stayed here to visit Chester zoo which is very close to the hotel. We arrived late so ordered room service which was easy and quick, also the servers were polite and friendly. The room was nice and clean, but hot because the air con wasn't great!! We had a meal in pierre white restaurant which was lovely and definitely recommend to go. The breakfast was lovely, only complaint is they put a service charge on the bill but you service yourself no one services you. I thought that was a bit cheeky, but apart from that overall nice hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Abbie Critchley - Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review Our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I would like to apologise that you had issues using our Air con systems, I have passed on your comments to our maintenance department who will look into this issue further to ensure this does not happen again.

However I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our restaurant facilities especially our Marco Pierre White restaurant & Room service from our brasserie.

We hope you visit the Double tree by Hilton Chester again sometime in the near future.

Abbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing