We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed in one of the suites for 2 nights for wedding were very nice the pool/sauna area was also very nice and relaxing will definitely visit again only negative was the breakfast of a poor standard was more like service station food not what I expected and overpriced

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    849
    380
    148
    81
See reviews for
414
1,341
48
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is ideally suited for visiting Chester and surrounding area . Family friendly and more casual than the Hilton brand . Visiting friends in the north and broke the journey for three days to explore Chester . I would stay here again .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank anon676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a last minute break here and was not dissapointed, I simply cannot fault this hotel!

We spent the morning exploring the city walls in beautiful Chester before checking into the hotel.

Our room was a spacious twin with lovely views of the gardens. The air con was needed and worked well on one of the few days hot days in the UK! The room was very clean and the bathroom was modern with a good shower and two sinks. The beds were comfortable and the hotels location is very peaceful.

We made use of the hotels spa facilities (free to guests with towels provided) this spa is much better than the sister hotel in Bristol. We enjoyed a sauna, steam room, hot tub and the pool. Well worth visiting as very relaxing.

Prior to going for dinner we enjoyed a relaxing drink on the terrace in the garden.

We had a package which included dinner in the Marco Pierre White restaurant. The staff here were very friendly and accomodating to the needs of my mother who is gluten free. We had 3 courses (paying a supplement for a nice steak) The wine was reasonably priced (£21 for a bottle of good Australian Shiraz.)

We were still full from dinner the previous evening but managed to try the breakfast. Everything was hot and fresh and a request for gluten free bread was met with a smile. The breakfast room had outdoor seating, just lovely on a summers morning. I don't understand why this hotel (and the one at Bristol) make the tea and coffee self serve, it would be nice for this to be offered and served on arrival.

Check in and check out was quick and the staff very friendly.

Based on our fantastic stay i have booked my sister a night here for a birthday treat and i hope to return for a spa break with some friends later in the year.

Highly recomended, a fantastic hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

On entering the hotel you know you are walking into a top rated hotel. staff first class, service first class. we took a trip into Chester for a night out and arrived back at 3am. we asked if it would be possible for some food. its was delivered to our room and was really nice. thanks to Lucas and Tony the night staff for looking after use. the pizza was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the first time. It was lovely, very attractive hotel in its own grounds, close to good links. We would certainly like to go back again for another visit next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This amazing lady should be able on the NHS per expertise and knowledge are second to none. Her professional and up lifting manner cared me thought for 4 weeks detox cleanse,she completely changed how I eat ,what I drank and how I exercised. Her encouragement has chanced my life. It is a must if your filling bunged up, bloated and fatigued. Thank you soon much for an amazing experience double tree and would recommend Joanne Wilcox to everyone you feel so nurtured and looked after. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoriaamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We got a last minute deal on this hotel as something to do to celebrate our second wedding anniversary, we stayed in standard king guest room which was a decent size and standard. The staff we encountered were both friendly and helpful. The spa is great and worth a visit even if you are not booked in for any treatments. It is also in a great location literally just off the motorway, but close enough to the city centre to mean it won't cost you a fortune in a taxi, think we paid £7.00 when we went out for something to eat. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing