We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful location and hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Although this was a business trip, it was perfect! The facilities are excellent - from location to leisure, food and beverage almost felt like I was on holiday and not on business. I hope to revisit with friends and family to make more of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    901
    400
    158
    89
See reviews for
444
1,414
50
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Since the very big investment in modernization, a few years ago, the hotel has maintained it's standards very well. Last night the hotel catered for a business dinner for 50 people, a senior school prom and standard guests with ease. The reception and service were seamless. The food was good.
Prices are in line with other similar hotels, ie, middle of the range.
Rooms are purpose designed. Enough power sockets, wifi is good, bed very comfortable. Far enough from the main road to be quiet and restful.
The Spa is popular with local residents.
Totally recommendable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lipowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went for a nice break and left wishing I had never bothered. What could have been a lovely stay rapidly descended in to an awful stay. The Spa was nice and the staff good. Arrived at reception given a set of keys for the room only to find they didn't work had to return to reception. Asked for a double room give a twin. This was later changed. Wasn't informed the JPW resturant was closed on a Monday evening at any point only founf out when cleaned told us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank Capon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a spa break. When we checked in the reception staff were really helpful, even with touristy questions about the town. Room was lovely, spacious and clean. While staying we relaxed in the bar which has plenty of room. Breakfast was plentiful and well stocked.
The spa facilities were fantastic. Spa staff made us feel very relaxed even though we were 'newbies' to the spa scene.Would highly recommended this place, and we plan to visit again next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovesummerdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed overnight to explore Chester whilst en route to Snowdonia. Hotel chosen for the assured Hilton quality and lovely setting. We received a warm welcome at Reception, together with the warm Hilton cookies! Our room was lovely, being very comfortable and spotlessly clean, with lovely linen. We had dinner in the Bistro, and were seated In the Conservatory - very pleasant on a summer evening with a good view of the gardens. The food and service were excellent, and very reasonably priced. The fixed price menu offered exceptionally good value. Breakfast was the extensive Hilton buffet which was presented beautifully and the hot dishes were very well cooked.
The hotel is about 2 miles from the centre of Chester - we used the local bus which stops at the end of the drive rather than walk along a busy road - journey only takes 10 minutes.
We have stayed at Hilton Hotels in many places, both in the UK and abroad, and this one certainly lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyMayEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We came here for my sister in laws hen do. The beds are comfy and breakfast is delicious and plentiful! The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is best on summer days to take advantage of their garden and conservatory! We had a meal at the restaurant and that was really delish as well!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel set in lovely grounds. Room was great and quiet. Breakfast very good quality with many choices in a very attractive setting. Meeting facility was also very good with carusel set-up, water supplied at each table, plenty of space to network. I'll use this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,615 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing