We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So, so disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NESTON, WIRRAL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So, so disappointing”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Booked in a day spa package with my wife for our 10 wedding anniversary. Package was £180 which included full body massage, facility use and light lunch. Have been on many spa packages at various places around the UK, we know what to expect and what hotels shoulder deliver.

First good points, gym facilities are very good, latest technogym equipment and lots of it. The Spa, well the actual massage for both of us was really nice.

Now the issues, in places like this it's the small details which can make or break a spa. Firstly biggest issue, the light lunch is awful. Heard other guests say it was disgusting, and it was. A very poor attempt at a buffet salad, very poor. Motorway service stations do a lot better. Only item not a salad was some dire pasta or the worst quiche in the world. If this lunch is made in house the chef needs sacking. The deserts are cake slices covered in cling film, honestly it is so awful.

Next, the pool / thermal areas some will like, some not. As there's very little natural light, it feels very Claustrophobic. There is also a lack of loungers, but that's probably as it's not a big space. There are notices for people not to reserve loungers but while we were there a lot if people in an aqua class were actually doing that. So staff not checking as the notice says they will. There was a couple who has brought a baby into the pool area, and constantly left it by itself in a carry cot unattended whilst they went off, out of sight into the outside thermal pool area. Unbelievably these days that people can do that, but again no member of staff challenged them.

Then there's some picky thing, not heating the towels in the treatment rooms, the young spa desk staff chatting about personal things and giggling really loudly, no area to nip for a coffee or drink and so on.....

I would definitely not recommend the Spa, go to Chester Grosvenor, Pullford, Thornton Hough Hotel and Spa, Craxton Wood, all are so much better than here,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GYP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,342
    888
    392
    156
    87
See reviews for
431
1,393
49
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lovely hotel but a bottle of water in the room would have been nice and the internet was very slow. I would stay again on a leisure basis as it would be nice to use the pool and spa. great staff, very friendly but I would expect this high standard for the room rate they charge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed on business last week at this hotel, the whole experience was excellent staff were very welcoming and helpful. Service in the bar and restaurant were great could not fault anything, the bedroom was nice and comfortable and very clean. The hotel is set on lovely grounds and offers a great location for families and business trips. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great Spa facilities and treatments. Food in bar good although choice limited. Breakfast selection great. Disappointed that Marco Pierre White's wasn't open on a Sunday. Mix up on room, gave us a double rather than a twin, but they fixed it quickly. Cleanliness of room leaves a bit to be desired though - wouldn't expect dirty cups in a hotel of this class... or in any hotel actually...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank JennyKenny6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is set in lovely grounds with plenty of parking. We spent two nights here in a family room - very spacious and comfortable, excellent breakfast. Good location for visiting Chester and the zoo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booked a combined spa day/dinner/bed & breakfast for a large party of ladies. Spa excellent, but very busy on a Saturday. Terrace cafe struggled to cope, although the lovely food made up for that. Atmosphere at dinner excellent - lively! Family suite for 3/4 people amazing. Breakfast good. Beautiful walled garden to sit out in. Overall brilliant value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank JHughes365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here in May as we went to the Chester races, we arrived early in the morning 5 hours before check-in and rooms were ready so manager gave us some hot Hilton cookies and brought us through for breakfast which was really good (chef needs to use less vinegar on the poached eggs) ;)

After breakfast we decided to head into Chester and with the rooms not ready they let us the spa facilities which were great... So after we finished we headed out for the day.

Hotel is about 2 miles from Chester city centre, but hotel called a cab and it arrived quickly

when we got back late into the morning and slightly tipsy we were informed our bags were brought to our rooms and we had been checked in.

Rooms were great, lovely and spacious with modern decor and great bathroom etc..

overall great hotel and very helpful staff and would not hesitate in recommending it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing