We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great girly trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Enjoyable stay at the doubletree Hilton - spa great and food good quality. Service at breakfast was slow (table clearing) we were told by member of staff this was due to half the staff being drafted to another room to cater for a wedding party (surely more staff needed when wedding on)? Apart from this can't fault it - clean good sized room with everything we needed - young male member of staff in dining room (sorry can't remember his name - fair hair - tall looked in his 20's) served us as was a credit to the hotel - very engaging and polite but with a sense of humour too (more like him please) looked like he really wanted to be there - great to see. We booked a special deal and it was exceptionally good value. Well done Hilton. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Penmonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Front of house team at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest

,
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. 

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a great stay with us, and your feedback will be passed onto our team members here at Double-tree. 


We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. 



Kindest Regards
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,049)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,589 - 1,595 of 3,049 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Really nice in every respect. Quality decor, facilities, rooms etc.....and only 6 pound in a taxi to Chester. Expect to pay 10 pound for a G & T and 9 pounds for a glass of white wine though. Breakfast is 9 pound continental and 13 for cooked. Would stay again all things considered and had a good time there. Would recommend

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank clitheroekid91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Front of house team at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. 

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to take this time to thank you for your feedback.

We hope that we will be welcoming you back very soon. 

In the meantime, why not like us on Facebook and start to follow us on Twitter to receive our latest offers and promotions.


Kind regards
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here for a night and the website states that the check in is at 3.00pm. My daughter and I arrived at about half past 3 and the room wasn't ready due to maintenance. They said the room would be 45 minutes late so I had to have a drink in the bar whilst occupying a tired 5 yr old. Luckily she isn't a problem but if I had a few over excited kids I think the bar would have been a bad idea.
The room was very clean, beds comfortable, temperature was ideal and the amenties inside were good. Free wifi too which is brill to plan your next day.
The spa area was superb and was a shame I couldn't try the spa rooms out as with young daughter.
The food in the restaurant was good quality, came out hot and was reasonable prices. Each day they had restaurant specials too. The marcos restaurant didn't have a childs menu so that was the end of that.
Breakfast was lovely, hot and buffet style. Only issue here was the self service tea and coffee.(come on guys really???)

The only issues I had were the noise the other room doors made when closed. They slammed and it was really noisey in our room. If this was fixed then I would have given the hotel top marks.

Staff were very friendly, ideal location for the zoo.

I will be staying here again for defo.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank partonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Front of house team at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review Our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I would like to apologise that you had issues with noise from next door. I have passed on your comments to our maintenance department who will look into this issue further to ensure this does not happen again.

However I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our restaurant facilities.


We hope you visit the Double tree by Hilton Chester again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

its the worst hotel bed ive ever slept in my wife and I had bad backs both mornings we even left early due to our discomfort our last stay in a Hilton at Gatwick the bed was fine apart from that we had a great weekend the staff & service was great

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Front of house team at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review Our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I have passed on your comments to our Front of house manager who will look into this issue.

However I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our restaurant.


We hope you visit the Double tree by Hilton Chester again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned home after an over night stay at Doubletree. I just wanted to say thankyou for a lovely stay. My first impressions as we turned into the drive of Doubletree were - 'absolutely beautiful'. The building and grounds, with the huge fountain are stunning. Lovely staff on reception, very helpful too. Our room was clean and fresh. The beds are huge! My husband and I both had the Signature back, neck and shoulder massage at the Spa, which is incorporated within the hotel. It was absolutely fabulous! Lovely and clean, lovely professional staff and just lovely! :-) Included in the price of our room was complimentary use of the pool and spa. There is air conditioning in the bedroom, which you can adjust yourself, which, I think, is a great idea. I have read on Trip Advisor about avoiding Doubletree when there are weddings taking place there. Well there was a wedding on when we went and we heard absolutely no noise what so ever. I would highly recommend Doubletree to anybody. Chester city centre is only a very short drive away, less than 10 minutes. We had a fabulous time and will definitely be going back :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank janetteshippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Front of house team at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review in relation to your recent stay.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time spent with us and found our hotel and spa relaxing. 


We are all looking forward to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.



Kind Regards
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

With distressing inevitability my birthday arrived,so as a treat a stay here was arranged with food and spa.On arrival to our joy we were given the presidential suite,best in house.Family had stayed in this room so expectations were high.A lovely birthday cake awaited and cookies also nice.However coffee machine previously there had gone but minor glitch.The bathroom is fabulous beyond belief as is the room,comfortable and well appointed.I was somewhat mystified though in the midst of this luxury ,to find no socket in dressing area for hair dryer.An extension lead was provided but seems odd in such a fab setting.We ate in the Marco Pierre White restaraunt which was superlative and in all had a great stay.Staff very helpful even though v busy .Cant wait to return Once again Thank you Hilton Doubletree

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade if it's for a special occasion,they will always do their best to help.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mags e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Front of house team at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel on trip advisor, and for choosing the Double tree by Hilton Chester to spend your birthday. 

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your birthday weekend here, and the extras we provided made your stay that bit more special. 


We hope to see you again soon sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Bought from group on for £59. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Used facilities and was very impressed. Open roof swimming pool, jacuzzi, hydrotherapy pool , swimming pool, hammam, steam, aromatherapy room and sauna.

Went upstairs for treatments and instead of waiting in a waiting area we were taken to a dream works room to relax on bean beds, with mood lighting and water sounds. The treatments were amazing. The only thing that was disappointing was the lunch. It was packet sandwiches and cake.

The deal also included a 2 course Marco Pierre 2 course meal.

I left totally relaxed

Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree2, Front of house team at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing feedback. We work hard to create an experience that our guests love and am pleased that you enjoyed yours so much.

We would like to take this time to thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


In the meantime, why not like us on Facebook and start to follow us on Twitter to receive our latest offers and promotions.



Kind regards,
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,325 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,900 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £85 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing