We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This is an vert good hotel which has good facilities,well prepared and presented food,and very well organised staff. The standard of cleanliness was very high
We went with friends for a wedding and did not have one complaint

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slough499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,044)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,869 - 2,875 of 3,044 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

The hotel was lovely, a giant warm chocolate chip cookie when you are booking in, and a bed the size of a small country!

The spa suite was nice but very full on a Saturday afternoon, seemed half the hotel was there and of course there was some of those people who seem to think their relaxation is much more inportant than yours so were quite rude in asking you to move when you were in the steam room, sauna and relaxation areas.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

An excellent hotel in lovely surroundings. Food and service in the Bistro, both at breakfast and in the evening, was really good. Dinner was exceptionally good! The spa is pretty luxurious, and different from most I've been in.

On the down side - though really quite small, but if you're giving attention to detail it should be addressed:
The lights in our original room wouldn't work, but we were quickly moved to another. As there were three of us extra cups, towels etc. were brought up. Again quickly and pleasantly sorted. However, the next day the room had been re-set for 2 people, so we had to ask again for a third cup, towel etc. This was odd because the sofa bed was re-made so it was obvious there were three people staying in the room. Some of the bathroom tolietries which we had started to use had been removed and not replaced.

On the whole though it was a wonderful weekend, and we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindyloohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

on arrival we had no working fridge,no safe no working internet access,all needing maintainance.These were put right but we were not even left a bottle of water.We stayed for 2 nights and there were about 4-6 weddings in that time.
We were unable to enjoy a drink in the bar in afternoons as wedding guests were using the bars,if there had been a copuple of seats this is not what we would have wanted or indeed expected.Very noisy and of course everyone dressed for weddings.
We were out all day on saturday and on our return at 4.15pm,the cleaners were just moving into our room.None of the cleaners spoke a word of english so we just had to wait in the corridor,as I said,we were unable to have a drink in bar.
Breakfast on saturday was chaotic.Queue for everything from tea/coffee breakfast was served on cold plates and we had to wait for eggs/bacon etc oh and to use toaster.I have stayed at several of the hilton group and have previously had good service.Is it beyond this staff to at least bring tea/coffe and toast to your table.Sunday breakfast was somewhat improved due to less people there This is a good wedding venue but NOT for a relaxing leisure weekend I must say though that the spa is first class

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

As you would expect with a Hilton Group hotel, this did not disappoint. The surroundings are lovely, the food was very good and the hotel is close enough to the Park and Ride and Ellesmere Port Shopping Outlet. This was a 60th birthday surprise and we were not disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adviser2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Any hotel that gives you a warm cookie as you check in is off to a good start in my book and this one maintained that level of experience all weekend. The rooms are stylish and clean. Spa facilities are great, definitly above normal hotel standard. Breakfast was good, lots of choice, hot and cold. We also ate at the steakhouse one evening which was expensive but the food was amazing. Unusually for me I can't think of any downsides to this hotel. It just had a lovely atmosphere and service that made our stay relaxed. We both left saying we'd love to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MjAyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Stayed for Anniversary weekend and what an absolute pleasure!!
Hotel is beautiful and immaculate, brasserie a lovely place to dine and spa was indeed first class.
The staff are very proffesional and attentive in there approach, particularly Sarah (front desk) whom i would like to thank personally for making our stay so special, your kindness and attention to detail were so warming and a true reflection of premium hospitality.
I would also like to thank to laura for her kindness in providing our reservation.
Thankyou so so much.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsChristinaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,685 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,313 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,885 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £83 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing