We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive building and grounds and the staff cannot be faulted.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressive building and grounds and the staff cannot be faulted.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Frequent visitor - 5 nights every 28 for over a year now with no interest in changing. The service has always been first class and the front of house staff have always been very welcoming - as have the bar and restaurant staff.
The beds are extremely comfortable with more pillows than you know what to do with. All rooms have free internet access (essential if you are there for a while) and the fridge is stocked with complimentary bottled water (plenty of room for your own supplies).
The gym, pool and spa are excellent, the latter a lovely treat if the wife is joining you for a few days.
The hotel is just over two miles out of town, it is walkable but there is a bus stop by the hotel entrance and taxi rates are very reasonable. Chester its self is a wonderful walled city to visit by day or by night ranking at least equal to York.
It is difficult to describe something least liked but in common with all hotels the heating can be difficult to control sometimes it's best just to leave the window open but you are far enough from the road to eliminate traffic noise. The air con has always worked well during the summer months though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmlynDHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
Dear Mr Hughes

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of our hotel.

It is great to hear that you are continuously impressed by the service and facilities we offer and it is a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel on such a regular basis.

This positive feedback is hugely encouraging to the staff, who all work extremely hard to provide the high standard of service expected from our much valued guests.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,328
    871
    387
    153
    81
See reviews for
422
1,369
49
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

I heard about the hotel and March Pierre White's resturant on our local radio station and decided to have a look proceeded to book when found half price room offer. Went for my husbands birthday and greeted by warm, welcoming staff on arrival who informed us of everything we needed to know we even received a warm cookie! (it's the little things that go a long way!) we stayed in a standard king sized bedroom and have to say that we were throughly impressed with the size of the room. They had, to our delight, left a birthday cake with happy birthday written in chocolate on the table for my husband and have to say the cake was gorgeous! Only fault with the room was the shower curtain smelt a bit off (as is residual odur of previous occupant) but was not enough to dampen the impression of the room or hotel.

We made the most of the Incredible gym and spa facilities (spa offers were also given at check in) the gym has all the latest technology and I asked a personal trainer to advise me on some weight loss techniques for which she was more than happy to provide without charge. The pool was large although I did not swim much due to the amazing steam room and hydropool which has an open roof, this was much fun the following morning when it snowed! I can't beginto explain the joy felt swimming in a warm spa with the snow falling on our heads!

We ate in Marco Pierre White's resturant and can only sum the experience up in one word - amazing! The food was top quality and the wine sublime! Yes a bit pricey but I went off the Al la carte menu (as given 25% off voucher) which was just as good as what my husband had from the main one. The waiting staff were attentive and could not be faulted, so much as I cod not take a sip of my wine without someone coming to pour more! They had a large party in too which I thought would lead to us being overlooked but this was not the case! Overall we were not shocked at the price of our meal more pleasantly surprised!

The breakfast was lovely with loads of variety and no wait to be seated. Again the staff were attentive despite being busy.

I will mist definately be booking this hotel again an have gone out of my way to recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craftydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Guest

Firstly, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

Thank you also for taking the time to write such a complimentary review about your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break away and found the facilities and service to be of the high standard we aim for.

Your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed for a break between Christmas and New Year on our way to visit family. We stayed two nights and were really impressed with the hotel. Very friendly check in with warm cookies! Our suite was a big room with the large double bed separated from the bed settee with a revolving large flat screen TV and mirror. Bed comfortable and two bathrooms clean and spacious. We ate in the bistro restaurant and enjoyed cocktails in the bar - all very nice and whilst over pub prices not exorbitant. Breakfast - lots of choice and room service on the second day very good. Spa was the best bit and children (mine aged 9 and 12) were allowed between 7-11 and 4-7. Swimming pools and sauna/hamman perfect! We even enjoyed the fish nibbling our feet in the spa! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandamays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent break away to Chester.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities excellent. Your feedback is hugely important to help us continually provide exceptional service to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

we stayed here 2 nights for a get away break, we wanted to do c=some christmas shopping in chester, but enjoy some spa treatments.
Had a glorious treatment at the hotel, one of the nicest rooms with heated massage table, lovely and polite spa staff, really professional but friendly, was so pleased.
It's not a romantic hotel, it has a lot of conferences and so there's not much of am atmosphere in the bar etc but we paid for our trip with tesco club points, so were VERY happy
:) rooms are quite small though.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinehappygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your visit to Chester in December.

Your feedback is much appreciated and we value your comments to help us continually improve our product and service.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Up North
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

asked if room was quiet at night a check in an it was!
Heating in room was struggling withsub zero temps outside, asked for someone to have a look, not sure if they did, minor point, food, service and spa all excellent, minor celb in hotel as well!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karatedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review regarding your stay with us in November.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the facilitties we have to offer and your stay was an enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We had a long birthday weekend at the Hoole Hall Doubletree. This hotel has great potential but it is not making it in all areas.

The good stuff - the location is great, lovely grounds, quiet, super quiet rooms, the Spa is FANTASTIC, two restaurants onsite, free wifi/internet.

I wanted to get that out of the way as there are a couple of gripes. Although this is an exceptionally cold spell I would hope that a modern hotel could have coped.Apparently not. There are some serious issues in this hotel when it is cold - first of all the design is open plan and the main lobby has multiple (and very sensitive) automatic doors. This meant that the bar, brasserie and Marcos restaurant all suffered from a chill wind everytime we used them. The breakfast area (busy at the weekend) was more than halved in size as it is served in a non-heated conservatory. Useless in this weather (and meaning you were attacked by cold on two side not just one!).

Finally on our last night they had the sense to close off one of the automatic doors and it made a huge difference.

In the rooms the heating was only just adequate - not great when you have been out, got really chilled and really wanted to warm up - especially when on a rare romantic weekend away from the kids!

Another niggle was that the linen was not changed in four days - the standard change is 3 days and we requested it at 2 days as we were there for four days.

Finally a couple of comments on our room (a junior suite) it included a ridiculous glass table that rotated to reveal two additional leaves. It was useless and would drunkenly spin around when touched slightly. And it was big so in the way all the time. Secondly there was almost no storage - a shallow hanging space but no drawer space. When there for four days of nights out and in the lack of drawers means living messily out of suitcases.

Oh, and the internet speed was up and down so I stuck to my mobile broadband. The inbuilt service clearly had issues.

In summary, great potential and we are sure it would be lovely in the summer with breakfast in the walled garden; a fabulous spa, mostly great and friendly staff but some attention to be given to heating, room service and the restaurants (reviewed elsewhere). Renting Marco Pierre White's name does not make a great restaurant. You can get the same food in town at the well known 'clubby/WAGgy' chain for a 40% discount.

We will go back for a short spa break - but will wait until it is warmer,

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Doubletree Chester.
I am dissapointed to read that there were a few aspects of your stay which let the overall experience down.
Unfortunately, we did experience a problem with our heating system during what was a very cold spell, and these issues have now been addressed.
All of your feedback has been very welcome in helping us to improve our product and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

stayed at this hotel as a last minute get away, chose it as it wasnt too far to travel for some xmas shopping in chester. beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds, lovely rooms if not a bit hot. The only thing that lets this hotel down is breakfast, it is the only hilton ive stayed at where you have to get your own coffee( which was out of a machine and awful ) and toast, by the time you had got your breakfast you had to wait 10 minutes to get your toast by which time your breakfast was cold, if you put your toast in first it was taken by the time you had queued to get your breakfast, im sorry but breakfast isnt up to hilton standard and was the worst hilton breakfast we have ever had. We are hilton honers holders and on check were not permitted to check out as we always do at the honers desk as the staff ( all 3 of them) were to busy dealing with other things, i thought that was one of the privillages having quick check in and out, dont think we will be returning to this hotel in a hurry.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucydogWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree Chester and for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding our breakfast facility, your feedback is extremely important to us to help us improve and so I have passed your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager for review.

It is disappointing to hear you were not acknowledged as a Hilton honors member, as our staff are trained to Hilton Brand Standards in Customer Care, this has been highlighted with my team as an area for continued focus.

I hope that you will reconsider staying with us again in the future to give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the hotel.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing