We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marco Pierre White JOKE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 January 2011

As a 40th birthday surprise for my wife we booked into the Doubletree Hotel with evening meal at the Marco Pierre White "cafe". The only surprise was the appauling service. 45minutes between starter and main course, 15 minutes between mains coming out and the side dishes, decided to forget desert. Management appeared to not really care. Wrote to Marco to be told by his minion that they would investigate and get back to me. Wrote to them again a month later and then again a month after that. Still no reply !!!! I suppose that is understandable given the whole Marco Pierre White arrogance. I guess I am not worthy to eat in one of his "franchises". If you want Berni inn food at Marco Pierre White prices , this is the place to go !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toddsclotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Dear Guest

I apologise that nobody has responded to your letters, however, should you wish to contact myself or the Marco Pierre White Restaurant Manager Chris Stackhouse directly at the hotel, we will ensure that your comments are responded to in person.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,049)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,857 - 2,863 of 3,049 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2011

We had a pleasant one night's stay at this hotel for my birthday but overall there was nothing that made this hotel stand out. There old building is very handsome but it didn't feel like the refurbishment and the new extensions were at all sympathetic to this and actually, once inside, there was no sense of the buildings history at all. The room we had was nicely fitted though was small and there were already signs of deterioration in the finishes even though the room was newly decorated.
The meal in the steakhouse was very nice. Breakfast was ok, but would have been more impressive if not a routine buffet and the conservatory is probably nice to use in the middle of summer but when we were there in springtime it was cold, wet and breezy in there!
The spa/pool etc is nice, though a shame they make you pay extra for it, and although the pool probably feels very modern and trendy to some, I actually found it a little dark and dingy.
Overall its not a bad hotel, but I have certainly stayed in many better.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in May last year.
I am dissapointed to hear that you weren't satisfed with some of our facilities. We aim to consistently improve our product and our guests' feedback is extremely valuable in assisiting us to acheive this.

Use of the gym and swimmimng pool is a complimentary facility offered to our resident guests, and the bedrooms, though recently refurbished, are all in the process of being refreshed.

I do hope that you will choose to stay at the Doubletree again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel as we had reserved a table at Marco Pierre White's restaurant. I'm so glad we did. The hotel was fantastic. Staff very friendly and attentive. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and set in lovely grounds. We enjoyed relaxing pre-dinner drinks in the bar before eating in the amazing restaurant where we enjoyed one of the best meals we have ever had. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
It is great to hear that you had a fantastic stay and you found the meal in the Marco Pierre White restaurant an enjoyable experience.
Your positive feedback is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Frequent visitor - 5 nights every 28 for over a year now with no interest in changing. The service has always been first class and the front of house staff have always been very welcoming - as have the bar and restaurant staff.
The beds are extremely comfortable with more pillows than you know what to do with. All rooms have free internet access (essential if you are there for a while) and the fridge is stocked with complimentary bottled water (plenty of room for your own supplies).
The gym, pool and spa are excellent, the latter a lovely treat if the wife is joining you for a few days.
The hotel is just over two miles out of town, it is walkable but there is a bus stop by the hotel entrance and taxi rates are very reasonable. Chester its self is a wonderful walled city to visit by day or by night ranking at least equal to York.
It is difficult to describe something least liked but in common with all hotels the heating can be difficult to control sometimes it's best just to leave the window open but you are far enough from the road to eliminate traffic noise. The air con has always worked well during the summer months though.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmlynDHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Dear Mr Hughes

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of our hotel.

It is great to hear that you are continuously impressed by the service and facilities we offer and it is a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel on such a regular basis.

This positive feedback is hugely encouraging to the staff, who all work extremely hard to provide the high standard of service expected from our much valued guests.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I heard about the hotel and March Pierre White's resturant on our local radio station and decided to have a look proceeded to book when found half price room offer. Went for my husbands birthday and greeted by warm, welcoming staff on arrival who informed us of everything we needed to know we even received a warm cookie! (it's the little things that go a long way!) we stayed in a standard king sized bedroom and have to say that we were throughly impressed with the size of the room. They had, to our delight, left a birthday cake with happy birthday written in chocolate on the table for my husband and have to say the cake was gorgeous! Only fault with the room was the shower curtain smelt a bit off (as is residual odur of previous occupant) but was not enough to dampen the impression of the room or hotel.

We made the most of the Incredible gym and spa facilities (spa offers were also given at check in) the gym has all the latest technology and I asked a personal trainer to advise me on some weight loss techniques for which she was more than happy to provide without charge. The pool was large although I did not swim much due to the amazing steam room and hydropool which has an open roof, this was much fun the following morning when it snowed! I can't beginto explain the joy felt swimming in a warm spa with the snow falling on our heads!

We ate in Marco Pierre White's resturant and can only sum the experience up in one word - amazing! The food was top quality and the wine sublime! Yes a bit pricey but I went off the Al la carte menu (as given 25% off voucher) which was just as good as what my husband had from the main one. The waiting staff were attentive and could not be faulted, so much as I cod not take a sip of my wine without someone coming to pour more! They had a large party in too which I thought would lead to us being overlooked but this was not the case! Overall we were not shocked at the price of our meal more pleasantly surprised!

The breakfast was lovely with loads of variety and no wait to be seated. Again the staff were attentive despite being busy.

I will mist definately be booking this hotel again an have gone out of my way to recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craftydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Dear Guest

Firstly, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

Thank you also for taking the time to write such a complimentary review about your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break away and found the facilities and service to be of the high standard we aim for.

Your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed for a break between Christmas and New Year on our way to visit family. We stayed two nights and were really impressed with the hotel. Very friendly check in with warm cookies! Our suite was a big room with the large double bed separated from the bed settee with a revolving large flat screen TV and mirror. Bed comfortable and two bathrooms clean and spacious. We ate in the bistro restaurant and enjoyed cocktails in the bar - all very nice and whilst over pub prices not exorbitant. Breakfast - lots of choice and room service on the second day very good. Spa was the best bit and children (mine aged 9 and 12) were allowed between 7-11 and 4-7. Swimming pools and sauna/hamman perfect! We even enjoyed the fish nibbling our feet in the spa! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandamays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent break away to Chester.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities excellent. Your feedback is hugely important to help us continually provide exceptional service to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

we stayed here 2 nights for a get away break, we wanted to do c=some christmas shopping in chester, but enjoy some spa treatments.
Had a glorious treatment at the hotel, one of the nicest rooms with heated massage table, lovely and polite spa staff, really professional but friendly, was so pleased.
It's not a romantic hotel, it has a lot of conferences and so there's not much of am atmosphere in the bar etc but we paid for our trip with tesco club points, so were VERY happy
:) rooms are quite small though.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinehappygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your visit to Chester in December.

Your feedback is much appreciated and we value your comments to help us continually improve our product and service.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,326 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,900 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £85 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing