We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 February 2011

My wife and I stayed overnight on our way to a Wedding near Liverpool. Our room was excellent with a huge very comfortable bed, we enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep. Shame we never had more time to enjoy the facilities on offer.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, albeit a brief one!

I hope on your next visit to Chester, you will have more time to experience the facilitites we have to offer, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,880 - 2,886 of 3,080 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

Me and my wife are staying here at the moment for our anniversary. We have stayed here a few times before and love it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a suite, booked in advance, didn't cost that much, and some other hotels charge as much for a normal room. We always come very relaxed and dress down, the brasserie is excellent and the marco pierre White steakhouse is also excellent, but when we are just the two of us, it's usually just the brassiere. We paid about 156 bed and breakfast. Got it right again Hilton. Please open one in Oxford (our other place we visit).

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clanpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Stayed at the hotel for four nights. We were given the Family Garden Suite. The room was excellent with a separate room with sofa bed for the little one. The catering was excellent. We used both hotel restaurants during our stay. The hotel spa was very good and we went for a swim every evening. The only thing I would pick up on, admitedly nit-picking was things like the TV remote switching on both TVs in the rooms at the same time (annoying when children are asleep). The maid would only leave 2 packs of biscuits for the room during the day, when there were obviously 3 of us; and we had started with 2 robes, then noticed that the maid had taken one away. We had to ask for a replacement dure to the fear of being charged for one, the hotel thinking that we had nicked one!

Nit-picking aside. A good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester, I am delighted you enjoyed your break with us.

I have passed your comments on relating to the room amenties, please accept my apologies that these things were overlooked during your stay.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

stayed at this hotel for a weekend break,everything was spot on,was even better that tesco vouchures paid for most of it!! BUT WOULD PAY normal price on a return visit, breakfast was good and tasty,busy but not too full. we had a meal in the hotel brassier on friday night which was good, pool etc well worth trying out. the cookies on check in are a nice touch. one thing to watch out for is a 26 pence service charge to deliver a paper, was not told about this untll checkout,got it knocked off bill after complaining (thank you). a taxi into chester 2 mile away is £5.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neila82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Doubletree.
I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the facilities we offer and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Stayed at this hotel a few times and every stay has been good. The rooms are in good condition and comfortable, the staff are pleasant and the spar facilities are very good.

The only things that let the hotel down a little are that the car park always seems to be jam packed and it is hard to find a space, although there is always space. The other problem that we have had on several occasions is the staff in the restaurant, they often seem not very motivated and that they don't want to be there. This is especially apparent at breakfast.

Would recommend this hotel and if you book in advance the price you will pay is well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visits to Chester.

It is great to hear that you are satisfied with the facilities we provide, and you have continued to stay with us regularly.

However, It is disappointing to hear that there are couple of areas you fell let us down. The difficulty you have experienced parking is suprising as we do provide additional parking behind the abbey suite, which perhaps was not communicated to you?

I will ensure that your feedback is relayed to our Food and Beverage Manager relating to the staff at Breakfast, again, I am suprised that you have noticed this on more than one occasion as we are often praised about the effeciency aswell as the friendliness of the staff.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, please be assured that your feedback is taken seriously, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed here for valentines weekend, a big factor in choosing this hotel was the MPW restaurant. The hotel was lovely, the driveway leading up to the hotel was very impressive and upon entering the hotel we were not disappointed. Room and all public areas were very nice, modern decor, very friendly staff throughout. We ate at MPW the first night, amazing experience (see separate review) and in the brasserie in the hotel our second night which was also very good food and service. Nice comfortable lounge and cocktail bar with comfy sofas. Breakfast was also very good, very organised, it ran like clockwork which is more than I can say for a lot of hotels. We will most definitely be returning to this hotel again sometime in the future. Thank you Doubletree for a great valentines weekend.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank xxxNatsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Doubletree Chester to celebrate your special weekend.

I am very pleased that you were impressed by our product. We are praised regularly for having such friendly and helpful staff and it is a pleasure to read such positive feedback.

It is great that you were able to experience each of the dining options we offer and I am delighted that you were more than satisfied by the service and food quality you received in both of our restaurants.

Your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel whilst on business in the Chester area. I was a bit concerned about the stay as the hotel did not appear to be near the city, however it was only a stone throw outside.

I had a fantastic room at a rate not much more than a hundred pounds and a great dinner in the MPW restaurant, Mo the head waiter was fabulous and could not have been more attentive.

The whole stay was professional, enjoyable and highly recommendable.

Please visit and dine if you get the chance

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Chester. It is fantastic to read your stay was enjoyable and you found the location suited your business needs.

We are extremely proud of the awards we have won and constantly strive to maintain high standards in both product and service.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,699 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,134 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £91 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing