We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant girls weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Ranked #6 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire England
2 reviews
“Brilliant girls weekend”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay room was brill for the 3 of us plenty of room clean bright lovely big windows to open(needed to weather was hot!) ideal location short walk into chester. Hosts friendly and helpful full English breakfast set us up for the day. Was a lovely weekend for our friends birthday. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcaseredy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thanks for the great review ladies, so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and of course Chester itself, we look forward to seeing you all again. Take care, M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    83
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
46
99
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with family for one night. There were 5 of us and we booked two rooms. Good location with ample parking which was great for accessing the centre of Chester on foot and also for Hoole and the lovely shops and restaurants locally, without having to pay parking. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was very good. For the price we couldn't have asked for more. The bar was also welcome for a nice drink after a day in Chester and prior to our meal out! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LEW9884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Many thanks for the great review, so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and your breakfast! We've also passed on your good review about your nice experience at the Abode restaurant to our other guests looking for a nice meal. We hope to see you all again next time you're in Chester. All the best, M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Room was clean but very basic. Very irratating things, such as handles missing on wardrobe and chest of drawers. The list of house rules just went on and on, just like being in the army. Avoid this guest house if you want a pleasant stay in Chester!

Room Tip: Avoid this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 301harryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear 301harryw,
as we can't as yet trace your booking could you please forward on to us your name and exact date and room you stayed in.

We are very sorry to hear that your stay at the "Devonia Lodge" wasn't, (allegedly) a pleasant experience for you, however we encourage every guest to tell us immediately if there is anything wrong or problematic, usually soon after check-in. With reference to "Just like being in the Army" with the list of rules, please enlighten us with the said list as we generally remind our guests both verbally on arrival, on our website and in written form in all of the letting rooms, (located on the wall by the TV), by means of a sign which is very prominent.

We have on the list just two rules No1 "No Smoking please", (this has been English law for public places since July 2007) and "We kindly ask guests not to bring food into the rooms", we have no other lists!? If you are the gentleman who I think you are, you came into the foyer whilst I was talking to another guest and walked sideways looking straight at me with a Pizza box behind your back, I asked for a word with you in private and reiterated to you that food was not permitted in the rooms and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. You maintained you were not told this on arrival and there was no sign in the bedroom not even the one by the TV on the wall.

I must say at this point that if that were the case why would you want to hide the pizza behind your back? I thank you for your comment on cleanliness of our rooms albeit "very basic" which I in part agree with as there is no en-suite in the single rooms as you no doubt required economy accommodation to reflect your budget, a wash hand basin is however in all single rooms, if there were handles missing off the wardrobe and draws I again apologise for this and will instruct our staff to check this out and repairs and/or replacements will follow.

In my experience some things can get way out of proportion due to an aggrieved guest/s not having his or her own way, which can provoke a review such as yours, saying that, thankfully the TripAdvisor community are in the main very thorough regarding making informed decisions and would see a one point award amongst dozens of near maximum points per guest review a little strange, especially as the reviewer has just opened a TripAdvisor account just for this one review.

Regards
Mark Holding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

nice room, fast wifi, good tv, nice and quiet, only 5 mins walk from the train station, nice owners, decent breakfast, recommended for anyone wanting to spend the night in chester. maybe the only bad thing is that its on the wrong side of the train station from the city centre, if youd rather be in the heart of the action.

Room Tip: theres a beer garden out the back and a road at the front so i guess there are upsides and downsides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtaylor477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Manager at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write us a fair balanced review, we hope to see you again sometime.
Kind regards, M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely little guest house with clean, comfortable rooms and friendly, welcoming hosts who were quick to offer any help and advice on the local area - and free car parking !!
Ideally situated for Chester city centre (15 minutes walk) or pubs and bars in and around the Hoole area, literally around the corner.
Breakfast was nice and we got exactly what we requested with no trouble at all.
Would definitely book again !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Many thanks for the great comments, so glad you enjoyed Devonia Lodge and Chester itself and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes, M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here last week. I booked direct over the phone and paid with debit card. It was quick and easy. One is never sure about the quality of the bed and breakfasts. This one was great, and I was made to feel that it was especially for me. They told me the room was small, and it was , but it was extremely comfortable and I had a good sleep. The breakfast was enourmous and very good indeed, with as much as I wanted: bacon and eggs etc, fruit, cereals, cheese, tea, coffee, toast and more. Thoroughly satisfying.
If I have to come to Chester again, which I will, I will definitely stay at this same place again. I am really pleased to have found it, and a big thankyou to Marie, who owns it with her partner.

Room Tip: Any room is good. No problems with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychlura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, if only we were 5 star.....maybe one day!! We always think it's important to be truthful about the rooms etc, room 2 is quite a small single but as you say is clean and comfortable and we feel very good value for money. We do have much larger en-suite rooms available, something for everyone. We hope to see you next time you are visiting the Zoo.

All the best, M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I attended a 75th birthday party at the guest house, where we were situated in the bar. Food was catered for about 30 of us and was of exceptional quality, there was a great variety- something for everyone's needs and it was great value for money. The location is perfect as it is not a far walk into the town centre. There is a lovely little beer garden which I imagine is gorgeous in the sun! The staff were really friendly and catered for every need we had. Would definitely recommend staying here or hiring for a party!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks for the positive feedback, we are so glad you all enjoyed the buffet. We felt the party went well and everyone seemed to enjoy the atmosphere. Look forward to seeing you all again soon in the bar! All the best M&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonia Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonia Lodge Guest House

Property: Devonia Lodge Guest House
Address: 33-35 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonia Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeDevonia dates back to 1856 and uniquely Devonia Lodge is the first guest house on Hoole Road in Chester both in time and location, Hoole Road (A56) is principally the main accommodation area of Chester, popular with visitors from all over the world due to its excellent location.Of all the guest houses on Hoole Road, Devonia Lodge is closest to both the city centre, (which is approximately 8-10 minutes walk), and 5 minutes to the railway station. The same family has run the Devonia since 1964, we offer you tremendous value for money and a homely welcome.Excellent ValueDevonia Lodge prides itself on offering you the customer comfort, service and highly competitive rates, our staff is largely made up of family and a competent morning team, each with their own personalities to make you feel at home.Stuteley's Cafe BarDevonia has been trading as a guest house for nearly half a century so we recently decided to open a medium sized licensed bar, (October 5th 2012) for residents and non residents alike. Stuteley’s is an idea put together by us to provide a Cafe Bar for all to come and enjoy, We feel that Stuteley’s is in a well located position for Mums that do coffee, Ladies and Gents that do Lunch to folk that like a relaxing drink in nice comfortable surroundings anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devonia Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonia Lodge Guest House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing