We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service”
Review of Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dene Hotel
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I have just checked out of here this morning and can say that for the £35 I paid for my room I am happy.

I originally booked a single room as an advanced booking on the website and was give a choice of three discount codes - I chose the free breakfast. To get these codes all you had to do was enter your email address on the member page of the website. Upon arriving at the hotel last night I found I had been upgraded to a double room for free.

The room was spacious and has a closet and an ensuite as well as TV and tea making facilities. I did receive towels unlike someone who left a review and found the room to be just the right temperature.

The bathroom was one of the cleanest I have seen anywhere I have stayed and I had hot water for a bath - although will admit that it was lukewarm from the shower.

The bed was huge - is was two beds pushed together, but unfortunately was two separate mattresses not one big one on two bases - and I found it comfortable once I got settled although it was a very hard mattress. The bedding was clean and fresh and a blanket was provided as well as spare pillows.

Breakfast was good - although I may be biased as I got it free - and I found it to be filling.

Staff are very friendly, even a gentleman who appeared to be the handyman. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LizzeeMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    84
    102
    94
    170
See reviews for
64
235
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Tatty hotel.Noisy rooms .Inadequate fire safety.No hot water in shower no water at all from shower.
Tired no sleep long day ahead. Noisy road hot room windowlatches broken.Thread bare carpet in hall .In need of upgrading.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chorler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel I was a bit apprehensive about staying here. Have to say we found all staff there to be very polite and pleasant - approachable and friendly, offering very helpful advice. The room was basic (and agree with the very cold comments - however it IS early March and it doesn't seem environmentally friendly to fully heat a hotel when rooms are going to be empty. There is an electric heater on the wall which warmed the room perfectly when put on. Breakfast was fine - self service for continental and hot served for you.

Hotel is within relatively easy walking distance of centre of Chester (me and my husband walked there twice and also walked around the city walls before returning). It takes about 20 mins at very slow pace there and 20 mins back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the downstairs corridor and did face the breakfast room - was a little bit noisy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is the worst hotel that I have ever stayed at.... whether you pay £10.00 or £100 for the night it is no better that a doss house.
Think of the 1970's CrossRoads Hotel, bed's uncomfortable, hear every sound from upstairs, no towels in the room, breakfast was not tempting or well cooked with service by uninterested staff.
No value for money or respect for it's customers.

,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy4093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel once before. This time we were upstairs and although the rooms are slightly dated, it was clean and warm.
Hot shower, clean beds. What more can you ask for???
Bar prices- cheap!
Breakfast- not that appetising, but ok.
All other reviewers that slate this hotel but book this place for £54 for two people for one night (which may I add is a Saturday night with breakfast!!!), need their heads testing!
If you want perfection, dip your hands in your pockets and go elsewhere. This is coming from someone who has just come back from a 5 star luxury holiday abroad.
We all have standards, but relating to price, this is a great little find to stay in!
Keep up the good work. But you must get your fire alarm sorted in the dining room. Not all guests like to sit with a window open at breakfast.
All in all, if you want somewhere clean with a cheap bar, this is the place to stay for budget accommodation.
Staff are friendly and polite.
Well done!



Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Songbird24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We changed our room twice in a two night stay. The heating was haphazard to say the least, the rooms were freezing cold, but radiator on in the middle of the night! Water trickling out of the hot tap was cold. The breakfast was cold, the bacon was like a piece of cardboard, I think it had been on the plate all night. The only staff we saw were two young girl receptionists on alternate shifts, and they did absolutely everything - from cleaning the dirty occasional table in the first room when we arrived, through trying to find us a warm room, serving breakfast in the morning to serving drinks in the bar in the evening! A receptionist gave me contact details to make an official complaint, which I have done, but still after two weeks have not had the courtesy of an acknowledgement. We were in the area for a funeral, our experience at this hotel made a sad occasion even worse.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lastchancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and had no complaints.
My story. I made a booking for this hotel direct with the Dene for 3 nights on the 18/11/13 all went well. Come the 07/12/13 2 of our party were taken ill and could not make the trip for 09/12/13 so I made a telephone call to the Hotel on the 07/12/13 at 14.06 to cancel the booking within the terms and conditions of the Hotel receptionist said that would be ok. At the end of the month my credit card bill arrived with a charge for £55.00 for 1 nights stay at the hotel. I emailed the hotel reception to ask for refund and was told the payment has been taken and we could not refund the money but if I would like to make another booking I would be given a complimentary night as the party were unable to get the time to do the trip again I asked for refund again by email including printed proof that I had telephoned the hotel. The hotel wrote back saying that the reception did not have the power to issue refunds and would pass my complaint onto head office giving me an email address for the head office. I have tried to communicate with this so called head office by email a few times but they will not respond to me. I have suggested the small claims court hoping to spark some life into the case but to no avail. My party feel that we have been robbed by this Hotel as we complied with the terms and conditions set out. Therefore I would not stay or recommend the Hotel to anybody. So be aware if you book and have to cancel you will not get your money back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#32 of 44 in Chester
482 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene Hotel

Property: Dene Hotel
Address: 95 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing