We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dene Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
47
91
109
101
182
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
91
109
101
182
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is the pits - did not bother going back after seeing room went to the Premier Inn up the road and had a lovely room. Cleaners in reception looking unkempt is a definite no no should have been warned before handing over any money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank AmandaGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Avoid - unless you are REALLY desperate! Booked a Superior room, for just under £90 B&B for a one night treat for my daughter, worse than any cheap budget hotel ever! If the Superior room is so dated, basic and unwelcoming, pity anyone staying in a Standard room! To add to the agony, she left a cardigan and the standard charge is £15 to have anything returned, regardess of weight as "they have to be sent down the road"!?!? After speaking to a disinterested and unhelpful manager and refusing to pay, am sending a SAE for the true value of postage - £2.80! Terrible way to treat hotel guests, your lowly ranking of #42 out of #45 hotels in Chester is well deserved. The only positive aspect of this hotel is the lovely girl on Reception - get another job, you're far too good for the Dene!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place is the pits staff rude it must be run by the same manager as in Newcastle didn't even get a refund or offered it just got told to write to complain quick review what was wrong /no hot water/ was gave wrong room/ staff rude ruined my boxing day couldn't wait to get home.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked to stay there on the 4/05/12 until the the 6/05/12 we upgraded to the superior room what a waste of money the room was so small you couldn't move the towels and the bedding where terrible I wouldn't use the towels as rags they where that thin and thread bear there where no toiletries offered as what you would expect for a superior room the hotel was musty and damp and if you wanted anything from the bar you had to wait for the recepconist to come and serve you. we got a refund for the second night never again.the bed where like rocks ive stayed in third world countries and they have never been as bad as this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnem613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night... Was worried after reading the reviews sillily after booking, was surprising lovely when we arrived. Very friendly & helpful lady on the reception, there is a slight must smell open entering the hotel as a few guests have mentioned on here, but nothing worth moaning about. Lovely clean spacious room, (double room we had) ordered out tea & had it brought to the room, was cottage pie was lovely, the reception lady ordered us a taxi when we were ready to go out for the night as we didn't know any numbers, once we returned back to the hotel Jim the very friendly happy reception guy told us the nearest place to go for a bar that was still open, have my partner some milk due to heartburn.. Free of charge! (The little things in life.) was lovely and peaceful throughout the night, and the full English breakfast was DELICIOUS! I think for £40 a night, this hotel is pretty darn good! & would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachNewPollard88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews