We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”
Review of Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dene Hotel
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very difficult to understand how anyone could expect decent people to live in a place like this.
Lets start in the bathroom, 1 light out of 6 working, the shower was just a trickle, bath panel was hanging off, window was broken, shower curtain was 6" too short, the toilet was not fastened to the floor and the mirror was at a height of 4 feet from the floor.
The beds were very old and tired, the pillow was paper thin, carpet was dirty, the curtains were black with mildew, quilt covers had mouse droppings in them. and there was an terrible smell that something had just died
Did have a word with the girl at reception but it sounded like she had heard it all before
I do have a good mind to send this report to environmental health Chester.
The place should be closed
Oh and the breakfast is shocking
Took lots of photos to share if interested

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davefarnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

A group of us chose to stay in this hotel for one night for Chester races.
After reading the reviews and what the hotel is ranked I was dreading it to say the least.
We arrived before check in which was at 2pm and even though our rooms were not ready we were shown to a locked room where we could store our bags. We advised that we didn't know what time we would be back as we were going for drinks after the races. This wasn't a problem. We were told the reception was 24 hour so we could check in whenever we arrived.
When we did check in around 12.30am, I was pleasantly surprised with the room. It was spacious and clean. The only downside was that the room we were given didn't have a window in the sleeping area so it was quite stuffy but other than that the room was fine.
The following day we went for breakfast. The staff were very pleasant and even passing cleaners would greet you with a good morning so not sure why the staff were slated in previous reviews.
Breakfast was lovely. Help yourself to juices, cereal and toast and then your order is taken. My partner had the full English and didn't have any complaints. I had bacon hash brown and sausage and it was lovely. The hash browns were amazing!!
We then sat in the bar waiting for the rest of the party to get ready (there was 6 of us) and I couldn't believe how cheap it was.
The lady that was serving us was called Lisa and she was so polite and friendly. She couldn't have done enough for us.
Again we were planning to spend the day in Chester so Lisa kindly offered to store our bags for us until we got picked up.
This hotel is officially rated a 2 store but I personally believe it deserves more than that.
My only issues were the stuffy room (other parties didn't have this problem). The inflated prices due to the races and also the distance from the main town.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and would quite happily go back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

expensive 1 night stay because of races, normally a fraction of what we paid.
nice place and nice staff, and a little to far from the town to walk, bar is good value, not sure about the food because i got up to late but was told it was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lojoghp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

£169 for room.2 little round bars of soap for washing.Holes in towels.shoddy decor in room and hotel.shower was a trickle.
know we were getting stuffed with price because of the races were on but surely for that money you would expect it to be decent but it was simply awful.no way they should be charging half this price.Feel sorry for the staff who must be embarrassed at the amount of complaints knowing that things are so poor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clarekeeley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in room 70 and it was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in! The carpets were filthy. When we opened the door to the room there was a stink of stale alcohol and must. There were dints and holes in doors and the curtains had mold on. Shower didn't work properly. Also there were blood splats on the radiator. It cost 79 pounds for 1 night so wasn't really cheap. It wouldn't cost the hotel much to give the rooms a spruce with some wipeable paint. I actually felt like doing it myself it was that bad. You can also hire a carpet cleaner cheap. Wouldn't stay here again ever. We skipped breakfast as we didn't quite trust it going by the state of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katiekatjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Booked the hotel on line, arrived at the hotel and plenty of parking was available, the location was very handy for walking to the city center.We were handed the room keys and just told which direction to go,we found the room and unpacked.The room was an adequate size but was a tad tired,a lick of paint wouldn't have gone a miss.The bathroom was a different matter,the floor had been newly tiled and the grout had come out leaving the tiles loose and quite sharp at the edges.On opening the door wider it nearly fell off,the bottom hinge was only just screwed in,the window was made of wood and was rotten.The WiFi didn't work and the TV kept loosing signal,the room was overlooked and only curtains and no blinds. We had breakfast booked for the following day,help your self to toast and cereal, which I found OK, but didn't have anybody come to take our hot food or drink order for 20 min.We both slept OK and apart from cosmetics found the stay OK, if you didn't mind the lack of attention from the staff,on leaving it was just a thanks, and not a did you enjoy your stay,maybe they knew what was coming and avoided the obvious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't overlooked or that has blinds
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The only good thing going for this dump is the staff. They were very helpful. This hotel is a disgrace to the hospitality industry in the UK. Whoever rated this hotel gotta have his head examined. Rooms poorly lit, could not even read a newspaper with 3 lights on. Dinner, which we paid for in advance wasn't even enough as a snack. First night I had fish and chips, the fish was frozen, reformed fish. Ate diner at the hotel the first night, from then on we ate out. What really caught my eye, they were selling Budwieser multi pack beers by single bottle. I thought that was illegal. I slept in hotels all over Europe, US, Canada and Australia. Never slept in a dump like this. Beware, do not spoil your holiday by booking a room in this dump.

Room Tip: Want a good room? Keep away from this dump!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevilsTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#37 of 44 in Chester
1,027 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#40 of 44 in Chester
193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene Hotel

Address: 95 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £26 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing