We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dene Hotel
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total Dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were booked into this hotel as an overnight stay on way back to Holyhead from London and Manchester. We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children. We are used to travelling on a budget and never require much luxuries when staying in a hotel for 1 night. A comfortable bed and a decent warm shower is all that would be required to meet our needs.
This is not even provided in the Dene hotel. What people do not say in other reviews is that many of the rooms are situated outside of the hotel in nothing better than converted sheds off the carpark! The smell of damp and must combined was nauseating. The sheets appeared clean but there was pubic hair in my sons bed. Two of the beds in the room were so old that the legs had broken on them and as a result 2 of the party slept at a 45 degree angle!! The carpet was filthy and was a risk to walk barefoot! The shower was impressive to look at, recently tiled and a large shower tray, but the hot water took at least 6 minutes to come through and wasn't enough to was a budgie!
Finally, the door to our room was off the car park and the key was a normal "basta" key (key for internal doors) and we did not feel at all secure to be here with our 3 children. Needless to say we did not stop here for breakfast and left feeling dirty, tired and out of pocket. We have stayed in many low budget hotels but this does not represent the many great places that one could stay for equal the price.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timeoutlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    72
    89
    89
    164
See reviews for
57
212
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have no idea what the hotel is like I booked a hotel and was put in a disgusting, chalet in the car park. Make sure you are not in a chalet. This is fit for women of the night or labourers only. They have some neck calling this section of the car park a hotel?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

farnhill
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very difficult to understand how anyone could expect decent people to live in a place like this.
Lets start in the bathroom, 1 light out of 6 working, the shower was just a trickle, bath panel was hanging off, window was broken, shower curtain was 6" too short, the toilet was not fastened to the floor and the mirror was at a height of 4 feet from the floor.
The beds were very old and tired, the pillow was paper thin, carpet was dirty, the curtains were black with mildew, quilt covers had mouse droppings in them. and there was an terrible smell that something had just died
Did have a word with the girl at reception but it sounded like she had heard it all before
I do have a good mind to send this report to environmental health Chester.
The place should be closed
Oh and the breakfast is shocking
Took lots of photos to share if interested

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davefarnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

A group of us chose to stay in this hotel for one night for Chester races.
After reading the reviews and what the hotel is ranked I was dreading it to say the least.
We arrived before check in which was at 2pm and even though our rooms were not ready we were shown to a locked room where we could store our bags. We advised that we didn't know what time we would be back as we were going for drinks after the races. This wasn't a problem. We were told the reception was 24 hour so we could check in whenever we arrived.
When we did check in around 12.30am, I was pleasantly surprised with the room. It was spacious and clean. The only downside was that the room we were given didn't have a window in the sleeping area so it was quite stuffy but other than that the room was fine.
The following day we went for breakfast. The staff were very pleasant and even passing cleaners would greet you with a good morning so not sure why the staff were slated in previous reviews.
Breakfast was lovely. Help yourself to juices, cereal and toast and then your order is taken. My partner had the full English and didn't have any complaints. I had bacon hash brown and sausage and it was lovely. The hash browns were amazing!!
We then sat in the bar waiting for the rest of the party to get ready (there was 6 of us) and I couldn't believe how cheap it was.
The lady that was serving us was called Lisa and she was so polite and friendly. She couldn't have done enough for us.
Again we were planning to spend the day in Chester so Lisa kindly offered to store our bags for us until we got picked up.
This hotel is officially rated a 2 store but I personally believe it deserves more than that.
My only issues were the stuffy room (other parties didn't have this problem). The inflated prices due to the races and also the distance from the main town.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and would quite happily go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

expensive 1 night stay because of races, normally a fraction of what we paid.
nice place and nice staff, and a little to far from the town to walk, bar is good value, not sure about the food because i got up to late but was told it was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lojoghp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

£169 for room.2 little round bars of soap for washing.Holes in towels.shoddy decor in room and hotel.shower was a trickle.
know we were getting stuffed with price because of the races were on but surely for that money you would expect it to be decent but it was simply awful.no way they should be charging half this price.Feel sorry for the staff who must be embarrassed at the amount of complaints knowing that things are so poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarekeeley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in room 70 and it was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in! The carpets were filthy. When we opened the door to the room there was a stink of stale alcohol and must. There were dints and holes in doors and the curtains had mold on. Shower didn't work properly. Also there were blood splats on the radiator. It cost 79 pounds for 1 night so wasn't really cheap. It wouldn't cost the hotel much to give the rooms a spruce with some wipeable paint. I actually felt like doing it myself it was that bad. You can also hire a carpet cleaner cheap. Wouldn't stay here again ever. We skipped breakfast as we didn't quite trust it going by the state of the room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katiekatjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#44 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene Hotel

Property: Dene Hotel
Address: 95 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing