We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dene Hotel
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We had a lovely stay, staff very friendly, aproachable and willing, yes it's in need of an update, but most people only stay 1 or 2 nights and the most important thing for me was a comfortable bed and lovely clean sheets. 25 min walk to city centre 10 min (in car) from zoo, what else could you ask for. If you have high expectations from a 2 star pay £80 a night and stop somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2010

Bar area a bit small , lots of 'stains' on seats , dining area a bit small too, doors firmly SHUT 'til proper times , at breakfast , they could have opened it to let in folk who wanted a 'cold' breakfast, or eat same, while waiting for 'hot' meal to be ready. Evening meal was a bit late I thought, at 7.30 ..... by the time it's finished - it's getting on for 9pm or more, the serving of meals was a bit higgldy-piggly, in that some had one preferred main meal, way before the rest, instead of dishing it out in variety .... resulting in some us waiting and watching ..... The other main complaint was the annoying pop 'muzak' blaring out of the bar's CD player , which is also 'piped' into the dining room .... more, i think, for the staff's consumption than the guests !

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierre34th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We travelled from Scotland to Chester last week for a reunion weekend. We were allocated the disabled room which was OK but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Luckily my husband is not confined to a wheelchair because whilst there was every conceivable handle, there was no room to manouvre a chair over the toilet and it would have been better if it had been a shower only rather than a bath with shower. We hardly had any water coming through the shower head and the maintenance guy tried to fix it but said we needed a new shower head which he didn't have. Given the glorious weather at the weekend this was most unsatisfactory.
All the chairs at the reception and bar were dirty and many had stained seats as did several chairs in the diningroom.
The food was OK although the hotel ran out of marmalade and tinned tomatoes on Sunday morning. Our trip had been planned for months so there was no need for this.
The fire alarm went off several times during Saturday evening and when we got back to our room at about midnight the red indicator in the ceiling was flashing and eventually a member of staff came and covered it with a black bin liner and cellotaped it to the ceiling. The central heating was still on and there was a musty, mouldy smell.
I think the English Tourist Board should pay a surprise visit and remove their rosette until drastic measures are taken to refurbish the whole hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank chavgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My overnight stay was OK, didn't book breakfast so cannot comment.

Checking in was smooth and my room on the ground floor looked clean but shabby. The bathroom window was rotting away but as only staying one night and the price that was paid, I didn't expect much.

As we arrived about 9pm on a Saturday night we grabbed some food from the bar.
Warning!! Don't bother. Everything is microwaved or fried. I guess the very low price should of given it away. If I was in charge of booking I would not of stayed.

This hotel seems to be geared towards the male travel, cheap & cheerful. If you are thinking about a romantic weekend away book somewhere else, you will not earn any brownie points here.

There are lots of B&B's and motels/hotels in Hoole Road where this hotel is located.

For the money it's OK if that's what you are after.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmanBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

booked via internet as part of chester zoo visit and although we arrived a touch early at 1.30pm (check in stated 2.00pm) was told our room wasn't ready and to call back later. After going into Chester to do some shopping we arrived back at hotel for about 4.00pm and was told it our room was in fact not in the hotel but one of the wooden chalets in the hotel car park. I told the receptionist I wasn't happy about this but she said they had no other rooms to offer us and they were fully booked. At this time I couldn't understand it as car park seemed empty. Interior of chalet was spacious and had obviously being used as a disabled unit as there were grab rails etc in bathroom. Initially seemed clean but on closer inspection was more than shabby. Mattresses were in very poor condition and sheets stained. Bath tap ran constantly due to worn washer and must have done for some time due to stain in bath. When it got to early evening I realised who all the guests were when a number of vans etc started to fill up the car park which was literally outside our door. Also very close to the hotel foyer where the large number of smokers were stood all evening.

Was woken at 6.00am to the sound of all the vans with workmen setting off for work. Went for breakfast at 8.30am and was told they had just finished serving and had to make do with what was left. They obviously catered for workmen as breakfast was between 6.30 and 8.30am - what hotels don't serve breakfast up to at least 9.00am?

Very glad it was only the one night we stayed and think people should be aware it seems to be geared towards construction workers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillyjcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the Dene Hotel after attending a family wedding. The hotel is well located on a busy road between Chester town centre and Chester Zoo and appears to be very popular; when we booked (several months before the event) we were unable to secure a double room as they were already all reserved. At £50 per night (advanced rate), the hotel offers good value accommodation and was fine for our purposes as we simply needed somewhere to lay our heads after a long day. The room was a bit shabby with a stained mattress and dirty floors - given that we were only there for one night we didn't complain about this, but I get the feeling that this probably wasn't unique to our room. The hotel has a small bar which was very busy in the evening and somewhat understaffed - the same person was manning both the bar and reception, which meant a bit of a wait when we went to collect the room key that we had left behind reception before going out for the day.
The hotel was very noisy during the night of our stay; the walls seem be very thin and we could hear every word from a group who appeared to be having a party in the room directly above ours at 2.30am. At one point they put on loud music, but fortunately this didn't last for more than ten minutes, presumably due to a complaint from another guest! The bed was pretty comfortable so we got a reasonable night's sleep once the noise had finally abated.
The room rate included breakfast, which was a buffet consisting of cooked items and cereals. The cooked breakfast was fine; freshly cooked and hot.
I would recommend this hotel (with reservations) to those seeking cheap, well located accommodation in Chester, however if you want a relaxing or luxurious stay this is certainly not the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piglet-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

After a long drive, we were surprised to find that the hotel hadn't received our booking. Even though we rang them the weekend before and gave our card details-slightly worrying! We stayed on the first floor and found that the landing was boiling hot. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast the next morning was good although there doesn't seem to be enough tables for guests to sit at. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#37 of 44 in Chester
1,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#40 of 44 in Chester
193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene Hotel

Address: 95 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £27 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing