We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stopover for The Sandstone Trail Walk.”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #9 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is an excellent inn for those wishing to enjoy the splendid Cheshire countryside. It is ideal for visits to the Candle and Ice cream factories and trips to Chester and Liverpool.
The Inn provides excellent accommodation and dining.
It is an ideal stop-over for those walking the Sandstone Trail, but not wishing to complete the 33 miles in one go. The inn is approximately half way on the trail.
I completed the walk with a friend in June and and we arrived at the inn at 19.00, worn out after a hard day. The staff could not have been more accommodating. A barman carried my rucksack to our room, without being asked and later came over with two jugs of iced water.
I would highly recommend the Pheasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montgomery54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

As a local resident my husband and I had avoided the Pheasant of late after having had two very mediocre meals earlier in the year. But feeling the need to have someone else do the cooking for a change, we ventured "back up the hill".

Fortunately we were not to be disappointed at all. The food was totally excellent and cooked to perfection, especially my husband's duck breast that was cooked perfectly pink and was both moist and tender. My chicken breast was equally delicious and both meals were artfully presented, in a manner that you would expect from a high end restaurant.

Furthermore we were warmly greeted by Sam and it was a pleasure to see him back at the helm. Notably for us, was how much smoother the evening was with Sam overseeing the kitchen and the bar staff. All in all, business as it should be and not how it has been recently.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fleur652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We went here after an activity afternoon and it was a great find. The beer gardens offered amazing views, the pub was very clean and beautifully presented. We ordered burgers and salads and everyone enjoyed these and the prices were no different to most other 'pub grub' establishments: but the quality was exceptional. Small touches like putting a strawberry in a fruit cider made this place somewhere I would recommend to anyone. Would love to go back and stay over.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceedyclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Revisited after 25 year gap, v friendly welcome in v attractive pub with lots of different places to sit both indoors and outdoors. My wife ate fish goujons in a brioche bun which she said was v good. I had a chicken Caesar salad in a roll which was a little odd in that it was in a creamy sauce but quite tasty. The best bit was the fantastic view and sitting eating our food in the sunshine looking over rural Cheshire was wonderful. Strongly recommend but maybe not the chicken Caesar salad in a bun!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I ate here with three friends, two had the fish and chips, the fish was like a whale, and two of us had the sea bream which was delicious as this is what I had, the desserts were lovely also, this is a beautiful pub with the most spectacular views, the pub is very charming, the service was excellent, we would certainly go again in fact one of our party went back with her husband days later, perfect place for a summers evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Me and my partner went to The Pheasant Inn for Sunday lunch. There was a half hour wait for a table when we arrived, but we took a table outside and were served straight away. Although it was raining the umbrellas at the table covered us easily.
The Sunday roast consisted of either Gammon or Beef with parsnips, roast potatoes, mashed potatoes, carrots and gravy.
The portion was generous and the food was served piping hot. We both had the beef, I felt like it was a bit on the bloody side , but my partner prefers his food cooked medium rare.
Service was very good and we would eat here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyrob669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Excellent food and comfortable stay in a beautiful setting. The cost was fair, and we would have no hesitation in recommending it. We stayed for only one night, but are already thinking about a return trip. Staff service gave that bit extra.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room with a view over the plain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisBartter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
9.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,230 reviews
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,752 reviews
9.9 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#24 of 45 in Chester
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £84 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester
The Pheasant Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing