We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Rustic and Charming Inn that Welcomes Dogs”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #9 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We took a drive out to the Pheasant Inn for lunch on a friends recommendation and we were not disappointed. The views across Cheshire from the front beer garden are spectacular and they have a telescope for an even better view. The menu has plenty of variety and choice. I had the bagel with cream cheese and smoked salmon. Delish!! They allow dogs inside which is great for us dog walkers. Staff were very friendly and helpful, they even let me borrow a guide book for local walks, food great, lovely atmosphere, everything you could want.

Room Tip: I only stayed for lunch but we would definitely like to stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hi on a Cheshire hill with views as far as Liverpool! But pleasantly over the Cheshire plains towards Chester. Working backwards the beast breakfast selection I've seen or had in years. Including scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, eggs benedict and of course 'The full English'. The bar and restaurant areas are rustic with wooden beams stone floors and several open fire places. Excellent menu and daily specials. My last dinner a 28 day aged steak was divine, every mouthful succulent and never tough. My room was charming again stone floors, modern bathroom and good amenities. Small complaint dinner service whilst very friendly needs to be more observant as to when you want to order or have your next course. But perhaps as I saw on a Friday and Sunday night the place is full... Would I go again YES...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoogieLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a much vaunted restaurant/hotel so my family and I decided to book for my Mum's birthday. It does take a while to get to it and the roads aren't wonderful, but once you are there you appreciate what a fantastic location it is, rolling Cheshire hills, very serene and relaxing. You could tell from the expensive cars in the car park that it was quite an affluent place to go, and the decor and ambience was top notch. We were seated right next to the window at the back which was great, as I was worried the tables close to the bar area and entrance wouldn't be the best as lots of people pass there. There was a good variety on the menu, albeit on the expensive side, and the waiters were very friendly and knowledgable. The manager also came round most tables to introduce himself and if anyone needed anything which was a nice touch. The food was excellent, I had a lamb burger which was delicious and very filling, the homemade chips also very good. I couldn't really find any faults with it and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joliff85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Booked to stay here in March, received email week before due stay stating that owing to computer error could not guarantee booking. Having initially got over shock (as we had booked another room for friends) spoke with manager who offered alternative accommodation at sister hotel (Grosvenor Pulford). Due to lateness of this cancellation we accepted the alternative and were subsequently very pleased with the Grosvenor.
However we did visit for an evening meal which was of excellent quality for all four of us, with magnificent views over the Cheshire plains, unfortunately spoilt with poor service, particularly having to wait 30 minutes from being left with dessert menu to having to chase waiter to order.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Called in here for a spot of lunch on bank holiday Monday. Although the place was busy it was a pleasure to eat outside and take in the stunning view. The food was very good but the onion rings could of been better drained. Overall though the food was very nice and I'd definitely eat there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This pub was recommended in the good pub guide, but it can be a bit tricky to find.
We fancied a change from our nearby hotel menu, so thought we would give it a try.
Didn't get off to a good start when they messed up our booking, so we got stuck in a back room.
That said, the food was very good and the staff were very friendly.
They also have a very pleasant beer garden, with wonderful views.
Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndyBernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We needed to stay one night and host some friends for a birthday party. The rooms are very well appointed with a good sized bathroom. The only complaint involved bins. Bins at night when they were filled at 12:00 and bins at 07:00 when they were emptied...seemingly for ever. Such a pity. Be careful to ask for a room looking over the Cheshire plain. Much more quiet.
Dinner was very good indeed. All as ordered, hot and very tasty with good attentive service. And all at a very reasonable price.

We were very well looked after and will come again.

Room Tip: Not at the back. Looking over towards Liverpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muchtravelled065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,023 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,416 reviews
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £86 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester
The Pheasant Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing