We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #10 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Had a lovely stay; the room was very nice with a great view. Great facilities in the room; we stayed in one of the rooms in the barn, so can't comment on the rooms in the main building. The pub was very cosy with open fires. The food was excellent and staff were very attentive and friendly. The breakfast was delightful; enough choice to please everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    137
    64
    46
    18
See reviews for
123
293
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Went here again this year after getting engaged there last year, and it was almost as good this time too! (marks off because this year because last year we got engaged!). Food was amazing, room was lovely, views were amazing, staff were very helpful and the whole place is fantastic. Would highly recommend anyone to stay here or just go for food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plaura89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We cycled here and enjoyed a delicious lunch and cold beer on a gorgeous sunny Saturday whilst looking out over the valley. Cannot recommend this pub enough! We didn't stay but the rooms looked lovely in the pictures. Staff were attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jojo5580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This hidden gem near Chester is well worth a drive out to. We enjoyed a lovely meal sat outside in the sunshine overlooking the most amazing views. Food was excellent. I would definitely recommend going. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We took a drive out to the Pheasant Inn for lunch on a friends recommendation and we were not disappointed. The views across Cheshire from the front beer garden are spectacular and they have a telescope for an even better view. The menu has plenty of variety and choice. I had the bagel with cream cheese and smoked salmon. Delish!! They allow dogs inside which is great for us dog walkers. Staff were very friendly and helpful, they even let me borrow a guide book for local walks, food great, lovely atmosphere, everything you could want.

Room Tip: I only stayed for lunch but we would definitely like to stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hi on a Cheshire hill with views as far as Liverpool! But pleasantly over the Cheshire plains towards Chester. Working backwards the beast breakfast selection I've seen or had in years. Including scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, eggs benedict and of course 'The full English'. The bar and restaurant areas are rustic with wooden beams stone floors and several open fire places. Excellent menu and daily specials. My last dinner a 28 day aged steak was divine, every mouthful succulent and never tough. My room was charming again stone floors, modern bathroom and good amenities. Small complaint dinner service whilst very friendly needs to be more observant as to when you want to order or have your next course. But perhaps as I saw on a Friday and Sunday night the place is full... Would I go again YES...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoogieLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a much vaunted restaurant/hotel so my family and I decided to book for my Mum's birthday. It does take a while to get to it and the roads aren't wonderful, but once you are there you appreciate what a fantastic location it is, rolling Cheshire hills, very serene and relaxing. You could tell from the expensive cars in the car park that it was quite an affluent place to go, and the decor and ambience was top notch. We were seated right next to the window at the back which was great, as I was worried the tables close to the bar area and entrance wouldn't be the best as lots of people pass there. There was a good variety on the menu, albeit on the expensive side, and the waiters were very friendly and knowledgable. The manager also came round most tables to introduce himself and if anyone needed anything which was a nice touch. The food was excellent, I had a lamb burger which was delicious and very filling, the homemade chips also very good. I couldn't really find any faults with it and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joliff85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
363 reviews
4.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,622 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester
The Pheasant Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing