We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back in a hurry.”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #10 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Won't be back in a hurry.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Bitterly disappointed with our visit today! Was really looking forward to a light lunch after our walk along the Sandstone Trail. Granted it was busy, but my Welsh rarebit was cold, think it just saw a kitchen blow torch, rather than a grill, sent it back only to be given an equally cold replacement. My husbands 'hot' beef sandwich was luke warm & my daughters fish & chips (off the children's menu) came with peas, despite telling the waiter twice, we wanted beans. The waiter who served us was monosyllabic & to top it off got charged £7.80 for a glass of Sauv Blanc! Used to love this place, but won't be back in a hurry. Such a shame.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynndiloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    135
    64
    46
    17
See reviews for
122
292
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This has been my top local eating and drinking place for years, friendly service if you brought the dogs in for a pint whilst walking the Hils or bringing regular corporate guests of mine for a guaranteed great evening of relaxed atmosphere and top notch food. The Pheasent was the place we benchmarked all others by. We held our breth in anticipation for the new grand opening. Maybe we picked a bad day to go, but mid week, I doubt it ! The place looks nice enough, but now lacks the lovely sofas to just chill and have a drink. Tables have been squeezed in everywhere. So it's sadly no longer a place to drop in for a pint with the dogs. Okay, it's clearly an eating establishment now, that's progress. We visited as we regularly do for a quiet pint and a simple good meal. We were greeted by the manageress who strutted around like a clucking hen, placing us at a table we could not get our legs under, she said yes that often happens at that table ! We were then relocated to the main dining area.
Fifteen minuets later we were offered a drink, "oh you two haven't got drinks" I'll be back !
The food arrived, my normal predictable simple order, it was just okay when it arrived. The Bar girl was lovely and asked us how our meal was. In the background was the manageress wizing up and down making clucking noises, making everybody dizzy, not creating the relaxed atmosphere the Pheasent should have.
Sadly I feel like we have lost a good old friend with visit to the new improved place !
Don't get me wrong, I like change for the good, but the place was not broke, why fix a good thing ?
The now long gone manager Adrian, introduced himself to every new customer and treated them as an old friend when you returned, incidentally remembering there name. Amazing.
So for me, I've lost my fave place !
Progress has lost some of the charm the pheasant once had in the bucketfull.
Give it a go if you have never been before, you won't know what's now missing ! You might even love it.
But in this case, progress sucks !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roverland90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We popped to The Pheasant on a sunny afternoon for a light lunch and I have to say it was fantastic. As far as garlic bread goes, it was the best garlic bread I've ever had. The gnocchi and meat platter were equally as wonderful and the setting of the restaurant was idyllic. Lovely young lady called Charlotte served us and she was pleasant, chatty and informative. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surelynothey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I had a one night stay for a short break, the room was nicely appointed and was good value for money. Dinner was excellent - the food was top notch and again very reasonably priced. Our only (very) minor gripe was that service was a little bit slow, although all the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast the following morning was similarly great. We would definitely stay and eat here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Just had a cracking lunch
All 5 mains & 5 puds all tasted superb and presentation tip top will defiantly return well done to all try and sit by the window for some of the best views a restaurant will offer c u again soon my father in law has found a gem
Many thanks

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here the night before the wedding of our friends at Peckforton Castle. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch, evening meal and breakfast at the inn. Quite honestly we wish we had stayed here on the evening of the wedding rather than the castle!
My partner was best man at the wedding and the staff allowed me to print off his speech after making some alterations, along with the grooms speech which he had typed that morning.
We are still struggling to work out why we only paid £75 for one night bed and breakfast and our friends staying in the room above us paid £105...

Room Tip: We had a room with a view, I understand some do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilyrutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It is many years since we ate here WHY oh Why oh Why, We were visiting the Cheshire Farm playground with our granddaughter and decided to have a break, so drove over from there only 10minutes away. The staff were very nice indeed, friendly and pleasant. The food could not be faulted, absolutely delicious,and the service excellent. It is a child friendly pub,and our four year old also enjoyed herself. We have already recommended it to our other daughter as it is also dog friendly, dogs allowed in the bar area, and I shall be suggesting a visit with my ladies who lunch. We won't leave it so long next time . Keep up the good work, I think you deserve Cheshire dining pub of the year award

Room Tip: We only lunched here this section only seems to have to ratings for the B & B section
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Vikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
9.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.2 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
477 reviews
4.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester
The Pheasant Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing