We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,967)
Filter reviews
1,968 results
Traveller rating
661
602
384
190
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
602
384
190
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkcentral locationlovely hotelexcellent locationon arrivalcooked breakfastblack puddingreception staffearly hoursevening mealcity breakbreakfast was excellentexecutive roomafternoon teasaturday nightfull englishmy birthday
Filter
Updating list...
1,820 - 1,825 of 1,968 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2011

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by an unhelpful and unfriendly member of staff, quite representative of the staff in general.

Rooms are very basic, not up to 4* standard. Everything seems tired and in need of a revamp.

Levels of cleanliness generally poor and our particular room was very dusty.

Second floor rooms facing the road (the type of room we were in) very noisy until very late.

Breakfast very expensive for what it is.

Location great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bex000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The hotel had upgraded us knowing this from our booking which was a lovely suprise.

We had stayed in the Edinburgh Holyrood Macdonalds and was expecting something very special but this was not the case.

Everything about this hotel is basic but clean.
You are invited to order ice or milk but we had to ring for this twice after 30 mins of waiting. In the Edinburgh Macdonalds we have complimentary ice, bottled water, service was immediate and they even offered if you left your shoes outside the door to clean them for you.

Room was very clean and shower was excellent. Ate in the restaurant the first night as part of our package. Food was ok but nothing special, again not what we were expecting. Service was excellent in the resturant (although there were only two other tables in there).

Very noisy until 3/4am in the morning due to partygoers. Little sleep-not great for a romantic break and honeymoon.

Breakfast great choice and mixture of hot and cold, staff friendly.

Next day chester zoo tickets which were part of our package. They had ran out so gave us cash instead, asked if we could be moved rooms due to noise (round works all day also as roadworks). Receptionist Holly very freindly and apologetic and said she would see what she could do whilst we were out and said the road works had been going on for a long time. (why did no-one tell us this when they accepted our honeymoon booking?)

Got back from zoo and new staff knew nothing off changing rooms. Manager Emma after discussion changed rooms and our room was lovely and quiet (now view but did not care). Went out for tea and had an amazingly great sleep!

Breakfast great again and check out fast and efficient.

I would not stop in this hotel again due to the noise and the outdated feel of the place. I would also not choose to eat in the restaurant as it was a boring menu. I will in future not book based on the Macdonalds brand and look at the hotels as individual instituation

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamDisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Lovely room, lovely breakfast, lovely staff, great location but the NIGHTCLUB!!! Had a room on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel facing the shops and was still awake at 3.00am due to the constant pounding of music and the revellers shouting and singing in the street. The secondary double glazing was of no use, and then to top it all at 6.30am the street cleaners were out then at 7.30 the gas workmen who are working in the street straight outside the hotel started work! After complaining to the receptionist who was most apologetic she told us that she was unable to move us to a quieter room as the hotel was fully booked. I definately would not choose this hotel again, I know you can expect some noise from a city centre hotel but this was just unacceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLOSS27, Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the hotel.

I glad to read that you enjoyed the facilities and staff friendliness in the hotel. Please be rest assured that actions are being taken with regards to street noise which unfairly reflects on the hotel.

Kind Regards

Luke Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

this hotel is in an excellent position being virtually on the main street of chester, but no parking and the hotel website says that the ncp park around the corner is £8 per night but is in fact £12.50 although there is a£1 per night discount through the hotel, if they remember to tell you on arrival, but not in our case. the room was on the top floor in the eves and an odd shape with chairs and a table as you entered and the went round a corner to the bedroom but it did have 2 tv's.ther is also the tiniest of lifts to upper floors.
nice quality funishings everywhere and a nice separate coffee lounge, one problem being to actually get acup of coffee!! we waited nearly half an hour for this service at 11am sunday morning.we would stay again as overall it is an excellent hotel.
p.s. nice quality breakfast but expensive at £15.50 if your not on a b&b rate

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spidermurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLOSS27, Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Please can i thank you for your excellent feedback on the New Blossoms Hotel when you recently stayed with us.

I hope you can visit us again soon

Kind Regards

Luke Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The key advantage of the New Blossoms is its location slap bang in the centre of Chester. However, this has its downside as it can be difficult to get by car to the hotel itself as many of the streets are limited access footstreet and there is no on-site parking. They have an arrangement with an NCP car-park five minutes walk away but you will need to budget an extra £11.25 per day to cover the parking charges.

The hotel is best described as 'traditional'. This means creaking floorboards, a warren of corridors and a general 'time warp' feel about the place. Our executive room was large with a particularly large bathroom. Housekeeping standards were very good and we enjoyed a good sleep on a comfortable bed. There is a very small lift (3 persons maximum).

Breakfast was busy both mornings we were there and there was a slight wait for a table but nothing unacceptable. The breakfast service was very much what one would expect in a provincial hotel but a nice touch was that the hot elements were cooked to order and served on very hot plates.

The staff we encountered were all really friendly and helpful.

This is the sort of hotel which is ideal as a weekend break venue where most of the time will be spent out and about exploring the city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLOSS27, Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback on your recent visit to the New Blossoms Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Luke Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews