We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We have just stayed for three nights in the New Blossom Hotel in Chester, we thoroughly enjoyed out stay, the room, breakfast and staff were all excellent. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing a central location. Will definitely use this hotel again if we go back to Chester and will ask for the same room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,747 - 1,753 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

I booked this hotel as a surprise weekend away for my husband. The location was perfect, tucked away just off the main street. Our room was clean and spacious; we had a suite which wasn't much more money than a standard room and well worth the extra cost. Also it was extremely quiet, a real bonus in a city centre hotel on a Saturday night! The downside was that there was absolutely no view from any window.
The only criticism I have is that they couldn't provide a non feather pillow (they'd given them all out) and the evening meal, in the steak and grill style restaurant wasn't up to the usual MacDonald's standard I've experienced before. However breakfast was perfect! I'd eat out in the evening next time. Also there is no parking, it was recommended we use a NCP 2 minutes away, for which there was an extra cost.
A lovely well appointed hotel, with good service. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahjane64_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

After booking the hotel we read one or two negative reviews about the hotel. All I can say is that the staff in this hotel are amongst the friendliest and helpfull I have ever come across. Right from the initial greeting at reception. Even the breakfast staff (including chef) had a cheery smile and welcome / goodbye. The food was excellent and the room was absolutely fine. My wife did find the room a little war but the hotel provide both a floor standing fn and a desk fan.

Ignore the soothsayers - this Hotel is great!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wakefieldchappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Our room 230 was a standard smallish double room, at back of hotel, was very quiet, don't expect a view, this great city centre hotel is all about location, 2 mins to the shops, bars/restaurants. Cooked breakfast was great,very hot. Staff friendly. No heating on in room but no problem as a small fan heater is provided. Yes, would recommend and would stay here again. Room at front of hotel could be noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stayed 2 nights. Delicious food and good value. Amazing afternoon tea. Very comfortable bed and good sized room.
Only drawback was lack of hotel parking - use nearby NCP carpark.
Superior service. Lost my watch in room, rang reception 2 weeks later and Holly the helpful, friendly receptionist had kept it in drawer for me and posted it back in her own time, free of charge. Thanks for a wonderful break.

Room Tip: Ask for king size bed - no extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annejo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stayed here in March and came back again last week as had such a lovely time. Hollie on reception recognised us and when we asked for the same room she was happy to accommodate us.
As everyone has mentioned, the location is unbeatable. You step out of hotel & are 10 yards from high street. The hotel can get warm as there is no air con so would be wary of staying here in summer months if you need a cold bedroom to sleep in like we do.
Also we had to wait 30mins for ice and had to ring down twice. Would prefer to just get my own ice if they could provide an ice machine somewhere in hotel!!
Breakfast is good as included in price but I wouldn't have paid £ 15.50 for it. Best black pudding I've ever tasted!!
Will definitely come here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed for 2 nights over Easter. We booked through Tesco rewards scheme. We had an executive room, this was on 2 levels with dressing area and bathroom on one level and bed and wardrobe down a couple of steps. Room was lovely, bathroom was very spacious. We had room 307, back of hotel, no view whatsoever, but room was very quite. On the downside, this is hottest hotel I have ever stayed in! No air con, and bedroom and all corridors were really hot. Im going through hot flushes, but my husband said it was too hot for him.
The location of this hotel is excellent. 10 mins walk down to Riverside one way, and just a few steps to Eastgate and The Rows in opposite direction. We went on an open top bus ride, food & drink festival at Racecourse, and just generally shopped, ate and drank. Chester is a great place to visit, loads to do, and everywhere really nice. I would stay at The New Blossoms again, because location so good, decor and all rooms very good quality and breakfast good.
We had a meal on the Saturday at the Blackhouse Grill, definitely one to try, and a lunch at the Pipe and Jug (i think thats name - next to travelodge) definitely one to avoid!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyhYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,542 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £76 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing