We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was OK, but I was still disappointed ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Chester
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The hotel was OK, but I was still disappointed ?”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I don't really know where to start with this hotel, as it was both good and bad.
I think that my problem is that I expected more from a McDonalds hotel(we've stayed in others), and I certainly expected more from a 4* hotel in Chester.
I booked this hotel ONE YEAR ahead of our stay, as it was a surprise to my wife to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary.
Six months before our stay, I happened to be in Chester and called in at the Blossoms to enquire about details regarding breakfast, evening meals and friends coming to celebrate with us, and their dining arrangements.
I had already requested a quiet room at the rear when I booked(one year before), and I restated my request when I popped in six months later. I was also told by the gentleman on reception(an east european gentleman) that there would be a "little surprise" for my wife when we arrived(as a 40th Anniversary present, I presumed).
WE GOT NEITHER A QUIET ROOM AT THE BACK, NOR THE "LITTLE SURPRISE."
When we arrived, the gents toilets opposite reception was floooded and out of bounds, and guests were advised to use the disabled toilets instead. We arrived on the Thursday, and I used the disabled toilets as advised, only to discover that there was NO paper towels to dry my hands with(and no hand dryer), I reported this, but there was still no hand drying facilities available on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. No matter how many times I reported this, NOBODY DID ANYTHING TO RECTIFY THE PROBLEM.
I thought this was very unacceptable. Any half-wit knows that lack of hand washing facilities in a hotel is a recipe for disaster. On the day that we left, I complained AGAIN. Incidentally, all this time, the gents toilet was STILL OUT OF ORDER.

Breakfast was OK, but the waitress had an annoying habit of sitting us down, taking our breakfast order, and then bringing the toast and coffee to the table, which inevitably went cold before the breakfast arrived.
Incidentally, the FULL BREAKFAST could have fit on a side plate - ONE small rasher of bacon, ONE sausage, ONE teaspoon of beans etc etc. YES, it was a full breakfast, just about fit for a dwarf ?

Other gripes - My wife ordered Salmon for her evening meal, and then when no sauce arrived with it, she requested some Hollandaise Sauce. A teaspoon of the sauce duly arrived in a very tiny dish ..... and she was charged £3 for the privilege. THAT WAS JUST SHEER THIEVERY. - Just a blatant rip off.
Most of the restaurant prices were overpriced, and the restaurant itself was not brilliant.

Other than that, the hotel was lovely.
I won't be returning to the Blossoms, as I don't deal with rip-off merchants, and charging £3 for a bit of sauce was certainly a rip-off.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chowdray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    564
    359
    182
    115
See reviews for
175
1,133
41
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dollar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at Blossoms Hotel before it became the New Blossoms hotel. Housekeeping seems to have a problem using a duster! As a result we were upgraded. Unfortunately they also appear to have a problem with servicing rooms generally, by 4pm our bed was still unmade.

Parking is definitely a problem for the hotel and is should be made much clearer on the web page along with the terrible road signs which purport to direct you to the city hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easton_j1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

After reading the negative reviews about the hotel on trip advisor we were apprehensive about booking our stay, however no need to worry as this hotel was perfect for what we wanted.

When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly reception team who checked us in very quickly and even the young manager of the restaurant offered to take our bags up to the room he was very friendly and told us the sites around Chester, you where a great help Sean.
The room was exactly what we needed 2nd floor and you could see the city, also very clean and spacious.
Dinner that evening was scrumptious and service was professional and at the same time it was nice to be able to hold a conversation with the staff, not a wide selection of food but was a nice menu.
We didn't make it down for breakfast unfortunately but enjoyed a quiet morning in the room, check out was quick again and very helpful offering to store our bags for a while.
The only complaint we would have is the heat in the room over night, the young manageress told us this is something that the hotel our changing.
Overall can't wait to come back

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getawaygroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We had a lovely time. The hotel was central and gave easy access to all the main attractions. It is a lovely old building and because of this we were able to open our room window -so much better than the air conditioning of modern hotels. The room was quiet because we were at the back of the hotel. The food was good. Most impressive of all were the staff who were absolutely delightful from the moment we arrived. They were always helpful and friendly and seemed as if they enjoyed their work and were keen to make the hotel successful. We have stayed in many hotels but never have staff been so friendly and cheerful as in this one

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room you probably need to be at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardy11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Ignore bad reviews, cant find a fault with this hotel. Hotel is lovely with lovely rooms and close to the city. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the general manager Amanda. Check in was quick so was check out. Our room was ready at 1.00pm as I email to explain we were arriving early due to a special occasion. Room service is also quick, which you don't get often I a hotel. Really glad I stayed here, hotel made our night even more special. Will be retuning for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msfi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I enjoyed a long weekend with my finacée at the New Blossom Hotel earlier this year in February. It was our first visit to Chester and we booked the hotel using Tesco Clubcard Reward vouchers. Reading some of the reviews I had some concerns, especially regarding noise from the nightclub opposite. Our room was on the 2nd floor room and overlooked the club, but I can honestly say we were not disturbed at all by any noise. Perhaps it was a quiet weekend?

The hotel has a great central location which is ideal for a weekend break. While the room was not what I would call particularly modern in its furnishings, neither was it at all tired, or lacking in cleanliness. The room was of a generous size, with a king sized bed, bedside drawer units, wardrobe, chest of drawers, desk & chair, coffee table, tv and sofa. As can be expected of many city centre hotels, there was a short walk from the nearest car park to the hotel.

We found the staff (both front desk and restaurant) to be friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast comprised of a large, varied buffet of cereals, fruits and pastries with a cooked breakfast served at the table. A more than adequate start to the day.

I wouldn’t hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1972daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend and I have to say was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor but thought we would give it a go. We were pleasantly surprised, the staff were really friendly, the rooms were really nice, modern. There was some noise late on outside on the street but it's a city centre hotel so I don't suppose you can get away from that. Breakfast was fabulous. Chester was a beautiful city and the blossoms is a great location to see everything.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clowalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,095 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing