We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, room too hot, average food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Essex, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, room too hot, average food”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here for one night prior to a business meeting. The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Chester on a quiet side street. The room was nice and quiet, but the sash window only opened a couple of inches which on a hot July evening was very uncomfortable as there was no air conditioning or other ventilation. I ate in the hotel restaurant and chose the 3 course set menu which was OK but not great (a mushroom lasagne starter was a few pieces of stuffed pasta with a couple of mushrooms and watery cheese sauce added; fish pie was a very thin suace with some small bits of fish; knickerbocker glory had dried fruit and breakfast cereal in it which was odd!) If I had been paying for this stay myself I would have been quite disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    551
    347
    165
    110
See reviews for
167
1,103
38
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Myself and my partner booked this Hotel on lastminute.com as a last minute few days in Chester, the booking process was easy and fine and the hotel was paid upfront.

We where driving to the hotel and struggled even with the sat nav to find the hotel (having to drive through the city center) but got there eventually, there isnt any car parking at the hotel but there is a car park near by (Grovenor Shopping Center) at £10 per 24 hours.

The hotel reception was nice and clean with a small bar to the left and the hotel restaurant to the right, all nicely presented with champagne in coolers left on display.... we had a classic room on the third floor, the hotel lift was a bit "ancient" and only held 3 people or 2 people with luggage (yes that small!) the room itself was satisfactory and had all the furniture you would expect and was clean however all the furniture was dated which might appeal to some people.

During the night I couldnt leave the window open as the noise from the M&S loading bay behind and the clubs was too much, even with the tripple glazing windows I kept getting woken up.

The TV in the room had limited channels most of which where offline because the SKY box didnt have its viewing card, when I called reception to ask why there was no answer?!?!

We had Afternoon tea in the hotel bar one afternoon which was very nice and enjoyed.

The hotel was convienent and right in the city center which is a great location and I would stay there again but dont expect a perfect nights sleep.

Room Tip: We went for the Classic room, next time I think we'll upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_brookvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I have stayed in Chester a number of times but usually on the outskirts. I was therefore pleasantly suprised to find a very reasonable hotel within the town walls. Happy days.

Firstly the hotel was very clean, the reception staff on desk could not have been more friendly and the double room I had was exceptional (always remember the price) considering I was a lone traveller. I did not have a meal at the hotel or pay for the breakfast so I am unable to comment on the food.

The reason I stayed in the Centre was because I was late arriving and wanted to go to a couple of Chester's lovely hostelries. I did retire fairly early however was awoken as others have been by a huge amount of noise and shouting at 3.30am as it was kicking out time at a nearby club (this was a Monday as well). The racket went on for at least an hour before everything calmed down.

Personally this was slightly disappointing as it would have been a perfect stay. Two points therefore following others comments:
1) If you want a great central location in such a historic town then, like many others, parking might not be available. I had no difficulty finding somewhere which added to the cost but I had more than budgetted for this when planning the trip. Its advertised on the website.
2) Central location can also mean Central noise and party goers. It comes with the territory and it is unfortunate for the hotel but maybe an issue for Chester authorities to tackle.

Proof of pudding - would I stay here again - yes I would.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socialentrepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I have stayed in a few Macdonald Hotels and this led us to book the hotel. It is a city centre hotel, so we didn't expect a great view, and our room looked out on the pipes and extractor fans and other hotel rooms.
It was a very hot week and we asked for a fan which was brought up to the room BUT didn't work, We reported this to the front desk and they said they'd send someone to look at it. No one came that evening, so I again reported the matter. Again - no one came and no fan. I reported it again on checkout! As our room was overlooked, we couldn't really leave the curtains open to let in some fresh air, so we had a very hot stay.
The beds are comfy and the room and bathroom were good sized.
The bar is tiny.
The hotel is in a good central location, but car parking is a big issue.
I was disappointed as I didn't think the hotel delivered quality service. It seemed there were lots of young staff members, but no one to take ownership of problems.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I don't really know where to start with this hotel, as it was both good and bad.
I think that my problem is that I expected more from a McDonalds hotel(we've stayed in others), and I certainly expected more from a 4* hotel in Chester.
I booked this hotel ONE YEAR ahead of our stay, as it was a surprise to my wife to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary.
Six months before our stay, I happened to be in Chester and called in at the Blossoms to enquire about details regarding breakfast, evening meals and friends coming to celebrate with us, and their dining arrangements.
I had already requested a quiet room at the rear when I booked(one year before), and I restated my request when I popped in six months later. I was also told by the gentleman on reception(an east european gentleman) that there would be a "little surprise" for my wife when we arrived(as a 40th Anniversary present, I presumed).
WE GOT NEITHER A QUIET ROOM AT THE BACK, NOR THE "LITTLE SURPRISE."
When we arrived, the gents toilets opposite reception was floooded and out of bounds, and guests were advised to use the disabled toilets instead. We arrived on the Thursday, and I used the disabled toilets as advised, only to discover that there was NO paper towels to dry my hands with(and no hand dryer), I reported this, but there was still no hand drying facilities available on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. No matter how many times I reported this, NOBODY DID ANYTHING TO RECTIFY THE PROBLEM.
I thought this was very unacceptable. Any half-wit knows that lack of hand washing facilities in a hotel is a recipe for disaster. On the day that we left, I complained AGAIN. Incidentally, all this time, the gents toilet was STILL OUT OF ORDER.

Breakfast was OK, but the waitress had an annoying habit of sitting us down, taking our breakfast order, and then bringing the toast and coffee to the table, which inevitably went cold before the breakfast arrived.
Incidentally, the FULL BREAKFAST could have fit on a side plate - ONE small rasher of bacon, ONE sausage, ONE teaspoon of beans etc etc. YES, it was a full breakfast, just about fit for a dwarf ?

Other gripes - My wife ordered Salmon for her evening meal, and then when no sauce arrived with it, she requested some Hollandaise Sauce. A teaspoon of the sauce duly arrived in a very tiny dish ..... and she was charged £3 for the privilege. THAT WAS JUST SHEER THIEVERY. - Just a blatant rip off.
Most of the restaurant prices were overpriced, and the restaurant itself was not brilliant.

Other than that, the hotel was lovely.
I won't be returning to the Blossoms, as I don't deal with rip-off merchants, and charging £3 for a bit of sauce was certainly a rip-off.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chowdray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at Blossoms Hotel before it became the New Blossoms hotel. Housekeeping seems to have a problem using a duster! As a result we were upgraded. Unfortunately they also appear to have a problem with servicing rooms generally, by 4pm our bed was still unmade.

Parking is definitely a problem for the hotel and is should be made much clearer on the web page along with the terrible road signs which purport to direct you to the city hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easton_j1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

After reading the negative reviews about the hotel on trip advisor we were apprehensive about booking our stay, however no need to worry as this hotel was perfect for what we wanted.

When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly reception team who checked us in very quickly and even the young manager of the restaurant offered to take our bags up to the room he was very friendly and told us the sites around Chester, you where a great help Sean.
The room was exactly what we needed 2nd floor and you could see the city, also very clean and spacious.
Dinner that evening was scrumptious and service was professional and at the same time it was nice to be able to hold a conversation with the staff, not a wide selection of food but was a nice menu.
We didn't make it down for breakfast unfortunately but enjoyed a quiet morning in the room, check out was quick again and very helpful offering to store our bags for a while.
The only complaint we would have is the heat in the room over night, the young manageress told us this is something that the hotel our changing.
Overall can't wait to come back

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getawaygroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing