We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shocking customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Chester
leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“shocking customer service”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

visited in october lots of problems gave my mum anchovies in her salad knowing she is a strict vegetarian then offered bread as a alternative starter.The bread was covered in blue mould and was clearly days out of date after a lot of fuss offered us a free return visit of our choice only to find 48hrs before had,nt booked us in so had to stay where they had room for us which was a sister hotel in the middle of nowhere. Paola the hotel manager let us down badly and the area manager stephanie hocking made nothing but excuses for her staff when there is no excuse for how we have been treated just cannot compete with marriot and hilton and a travelodge would give them a run for there money :(

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    564
    359
    181
    115
See reviews for
174
1,132
41
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Poor experience on arriving for early check in, but sorted out eventually. Hotel was built in late 19th century so comes with some atmosphere but poor plumbing so don't expect a power shower. Well located, but noisy if you have a room over nightclub entrance/exit. Breakfast was OK. Booked the room early, so value was pretty good. No parking though, which is a bit of a pain(£10 for 24hrs in nearby public car park).

Room Tip: ask for room not overlooking night club entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birkonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Pricey compared to some other hotels but despite a rather small bedroom we got the quality we have come to expect from Macdonald Hotels. Clean and comfortable room, nice bathroom. Dissapointed not to have ipod dock as we have had in other Macdonalds. very friendly and helpful staff, from check-in to check out. Great location for central chester shops and attractions. We did not eat at the hotel as we thought £15 each for breakfast was a bit steep so cannot comment on the food, but the restaurant and bar area did look welcoming and comfortable.

Room Tip: we were at the back, suspect front facing rooms maybe noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis_England_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My partner and I visited the hotel for a long weekend. The hotel is situated in the heart of Chester and a great location.

On arrival we found that we had been upgraded to a suite as they knew it was a special anniversary. The staff on reception were attentive and welcoming. Richard Brown in particular made our stay extra special with his attention to detail and organising flowers. The suite was spacious and comfortable and very clean as was the hotel. Whilst we didn't eat in the restaurant, the breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and the staff were always on hand. I would definately recommend the hotel for the service, location and value for money. Many thanks again to the staff for making our stay special.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel is ideally placed for visiting and shopping in Chester. Having stayed here last year, the staff have really up their game, and are now politie, helpful and welcoming. Our room was very nice, and as I requested, at the back of the hotel, as the front rooms tend to be affected by the noise of late night revellers. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff were happy to attend to your every request. The carpark only costs £10.00 for 24 Hours, which is more than adequate for an overnight stay. We will be booking again for next year, as we have yet to find a such a reasonably priced and welcoming hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the back of the hotel. You won't get any views, but as Chester is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soniajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel is bang in the city centre so no need to use car to see the many attractions. The snag is that there is no car park at the hotel so car has to be left in the nearby multi storey car park at a cost of £10.00 per day.
The rooms are very well appointed at the hotel with dressing gowns and slippers provided and nice toiletries. The food is excellent and service is good but costly.
Be careful when making a reservation and ask for a back room as rooms at the front are extremely noisy until the early hours due to hundreds of young people coming and going to the local night clubs.
All in all we enjoyed our trip and will certainly go again.


Good eating places in the city centre

Room Tip: Do not have any of the rooms overlooking the main streets better to miss the views than to have no s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekender16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Spent the weekend here for Christmas shopping. The room was very comfortable, good bathroom, comfortable beds. The staff were extremely obliging and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I travelled as part of a group and everyone seemed to enjoy their stay. The only grumbles were from those staying on the front being disturbed by noise from neighbouring establishments. The reason that I have not given it 5 stars is because of the previous comment and because some of the rooms were not ready unitl 4.0pm, when check-in time was 2.0pm. We had two breakfasts and one evening meal and they were all excellent.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,658 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#13 of 44 in Chester
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing