We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Chester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sheffield
2 reviews
“A Great Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Although the weather wasn't good the central location made the city very accessible and resulted in an enjoyable stay. All staff and particularly front of house staff were professional, courteous, helpful and friendly without being over the top. In general the food was very nice, my only negative comment would be that the wine seemed overpriced. Would we stay again? This was our second visit and certainly wont be our last. Mike R

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    540
    334
    159
    101
See reviews for
161
1,077
38
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and i went to the steak and grill restaurant last night within the hotel, very average meal but the service was far better than the food! One major mistake was offered fish pie and served chicken pie! In fairness they agreed to knock it off the bill and it was quite enjoyable. Would I go back?? Not sure its our second time there and like the review says Average and i dont like paying £60-£80 for average.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great Front of House Manager, Richard went to his apartment to lend me his personal blackberry phone charger - what a guy !!
Hotel is in a great location about 20 feet away from the main shopping street, easy overnight parking available for £10 at the Grosvenor Multi Story parking area. Room very pleasant with a sofa, chairs and table in the room. Only little niggles were the shower was only a trickle and took a while to get warm also it was quite noisey on the street outside until around midnight however my 18month baby slept soundly through everything which is the main thing for me.
However, all in all a great stay, great breakfast, very helpful staff, great room and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 310 is a lovely spacious room right in the eves of the property. It is on the St John Street si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyBEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We booked here last minute (literally walked in off the street!) and the staff were helpful and gave us a good deal which matched their Internet rate.

The king size room was fine - lovely comfy bed but bathroom was small and the water was either freezing or boiling. Windows in the room are secondary glazed and this helps keep noise out as it's in a good central location.

We booked their dinner offer and this is what spoilt it for me. They run a steak and grill restaurant so you would expect the steaks to be perfect. Mine was overcooked and tasteless. To be fair, the staff handled this really well. I didn't eat the meal so it was knocked off the bill and they gave us the wine complimentary.

They did the best they could to remedy the situation, but if I am in a 4 star hotel I would just like to enjoy the meal and expected better.

I think the hotel is a good place to stop and great location. I just wouldn't recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet-Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Would like to say a big thank you to all the staff Jessica on reception was a pleasure and should be retained by the hotel at all costs she went out of her way to make my stay truly enjoyable whilst attending a meeting at the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raggy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My partner & I have just returned from a night away at the New Blossoms Hotel..........great location & easy parking. Room clean with all the usual tea, coffee, kettle, ironing board, iron & trouser press. Tasty breakfast...... Unfortunately the hot water for the shower takes at least 10 mins to get warm so the 1st shower was a cold one!.....could hear the people above us walikng about plus when they had a bath! Also failed to mentioned online there no air con, which not really a problem as can open the window..........thats if you dont mind listening to the extremely loud music from the club from across the road & the bar next door! which kept us awake from midnight until 3am. We stay in Chester quite often & decided to give New Blossom a try, but it will back to the Kings Suite at The Queens Hotel next month...:)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed as a surprise by our family to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary, the location was ideal & our room was lovely & it was quiet. The meals were all faultless as were the staff. As I am a hotel housekeeper myself, New Blossom nearly gets top marks for cleanliness, the only thing I noticed was the windows & mirrors needed to be buffed streak free & gleaming, but this did not affect our stay, it was just an observation. It was a wonderful experience & the only fault was that we didnt stay longer. This hotel is highly recommended, and so is their afternoon tea.!!!! We both look forward to coming back again - soon! Thank you to all the staff on making our celebration a perfect one!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awiawi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing