We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“check your bill!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“check your bill!”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We ate here with friends on sunday night. The restaurant has a nice ambience and is laid out nicely with room in between tables. The service in the restaurant was excellent and the quality of the food and the wine was suberb. The only criticism we have is that when paying the bill we were nearly charged 'a lot more' than the bill stated, so our advice is to check your bill before you sign for payment.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    557
    348
    174
    111
See reviews for
170
1,115
39
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel was lovely, really spacious, the beds were really comfy.
It was a little bit noisy but to be expected in the centre of Chester. Staff were really helpful and polite.
We loved staying there and will definitely go back to stay there next time were in Chester.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I grew up in Chester so I had never stayed at the Blossoms hotel before. Working at Chester Castle this was a good location. Blossoms is great for the city centre with everything just a short walk. Macdonalds are my default Hotel Choice and the hotel is well maintained, spotless and very well equipped. Staff and food are first rate. The two bed rooms I stayed in over the week were very luxurious.
My only complaint and this is beyond the hotels control is that there are revellers who are on the street even on a Monday and Tuesday shouting and fighting for several hours between 1 and 4 in the morning in the street below your window. This is a city centre problem and something you cannot reasonably expect the hotel to deal with and having spoken to a police officer the next day (as part of my work) they said this is a city centre wide problem so will effect all city centre hotels. Its a shame as the room had probably the biggest bed I have ever slept in. This Hotel shows how well Macdonalds manage classic buildings.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking Foregate street if you want to open your windows atnight. This is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We spent a night at The Blossoms in Chester in May 2012. It is situated right in the middle of this very well kept and living medieval town, just 50 mtrs from the famous bell tower (the second most photographed bell in England after Big Ben). What a great place to stay! Our room was spacious (30 square metres) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We can recommend this to all travellers!

Room Tip: Ask for a room fronting the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norwegian_couple4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Last week we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and could not fault anything. All the staff were very polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. I had only booked it the night before and when we got they they did not have the reservation but sorted it immediately and booked us into a room on the third floor. The room was more than adequate. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and had a lovely shower. Toiletries were provided, as was bottled water in the room and tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits.We asked on our way out for more pillows and when we came back these were on the bed. We asked for fresh milk for the room and was given it immediately. On returning to the room one time the keys didn't work and the man dealing with the locks happened to be passing and ran up and down all the steps three times until he sorted it for us. The food in the restaurant for breakfast ( which was included )was lovely. All fresh and beautifully cooked , as was the meal we had in the restaurant on the second night to celebrate my partner's birthday, the purpose of our trip. The hotel did not do decaff tea for breakfast but the waitress offered to go up to our room for us and get our own tea for us which we had taken with us. The hotel location is excellent. Very central but not noisy. Checking out was simple too. I would certainly visit this hotel again and would certainly recommend it. The only down side was lack of parking. We had to park in a nearby multi storey car park which cost £13.90 per 24 hours, which seemed a lot but when you looked at other car parks at £4.00 per hour this did not seem much in the grand scheme of things. I know this is a city centre hotel and it is not the hotel's fault parking is so expensive. At least I felt my car was safe here.

Room Tip: We had room 308 on the third floor and couldn't fault it. It overlooked the side street and caug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOKLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Had only booked one night and on arrival saw there was so much to do needed another night but unfortunately they were booked out. Due to this we were upgraded for the one night to an "executive suite". Richard was very professional and friendly and was disappointed that he could not accommodate our 2nd night request. Was put into room 307 which was as richard described "funky". It had a 2nd sitting room and the bedroom was small but fine. The pigeons sit on the window sill making interesting noises during the night which was quite pleasant. The floor boards are very creaky and the bathroom is large. It was clean but the pillows were a little bit FLAT!! Definitely recommend and give a star rating of probably 7-8 out of 10. Rooms a bit tired and knocked around.

Room Tip: Perfectly positioned for seeing Chester but car parking a bit of an issue in the local grosvenor car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The weekend before our stay we had got married and so this weekend was to be a mini-honeymoon. My husband had planned the whole weekend as a surprise for me and had taken his best man’s recommendation to stay at your hotel.
On arrival, we waited about 10 minutes while the receptionist was on the phone. We weren’t acknowledged until another receptionist came over. She tried to check us in but the computer seemed to be giving her problems. At this point the other receptionist was off the phone and used his computer to check us in. We went to our room which was quite pleasant but smelled quite strongly of smoke. The staff reacted quickly and we were moved to another room on another floor. Unfortunately, the next room had twin beds instead of a double bed so we were moved again, this time to the smallest room out of the three but it had the right bed and didn’t smell of smoke so it was ok. Each of these moves, we moved our bags without any offers of help. Before the final move, the receptionist had said that he would look to see if he could get us into a suite but couldn’t because they were full.
The next morning, my husband went to take a shower but the water wouldn’t heat up. The water in the taps (bath and sink) was hot but even after waiting 10 minutes the shower was still icy cold. As we were going to a spa that day and we were going to be late, he didn’t shower but we mentioned it to the receptionists on the way out and a maintenance man was sent up to our room while we were out. When we got back later that day we asked if there had been a problem with the shower and were told that as it is an old building the water takes a while to get up to the rooms (we were only on the second floor) and that we should run the water for 15 minutes. We said that we didn’t think that was on and actually it is environmentally pretty poor if customers are encouraged to run water for long periods of time. We went up to our room to find that neither of our room keys worked. Luckily, a lady was walking around checking that rooms had been cleaned so she let us in to our room. At this time, my husband was really disappointed that the hotel wasn’t as special as the marketing had lead him to believe. I was upset by how let down he felt and complained to a receptionist who was very nice. She said that she would bring it to the attention of the manager.
Later, the manager came up and brought us a bottle of Prosecco. We don’t actually like Prosecco but it was a nice gesture but it would have been better if they had asked what we liked and demonstrated that he didn’t know how we felt. It was our honeymoon and we felt very disappointed.
The next day, we tried out the shower again. After just over 15 minutes, we finally got hot water. The new problem was, we could have skin burningly hot or freezing cold. There was nothing in between!
After a day out in Chester, we came back to the hotel. Neither of our keys worked in our room again. My husband went down to change them but the next two didn’t work either. A member of staff came up with my husband next time with new keys. One didn’t work but one did.
On top of this, the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The hotel 'bar' doesn't really exsist. You go to the 'bar' in a restaurant and then are told to take them back to a lounge. Even on a Friday night in May we were the only people there so there was very little atmosphere which we would have liked . Obviously, that's a personal preference. The floow in the bathroom has cracked and there was a nasty stain in the sink that looked like some sort of filler.
I have written a complaint to the customer service manager. I will update this with his/her response.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#21 of 44 in Chester
2,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,074 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing