We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location, truly in the Centre of Chester” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Chester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, truly in the Centre of Chester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Location, Location, Location, This Hotel is situated right in the Centre of the Town, Service & Food are Good, Rooms are clean, comfortable & functional. There is free Wi-Fi, albeit you have to collect a Metre long connection cable from Reception, the downside of this is you can only use your Laptop within a metre of the Wi-Fi Socket, located in our Room by the desk. We ate in the Restaurant on the One Evening of our Stay & had Room Service the Other, both Meals were Very Good, as Indeed was the Breakfast - my wife tells me McDonalds do the Best Scrambled Egg off any Hotel Chain we've stayed with, so kudos to them
On this visit we had a Room at the back of the Hotel, which was 'quiet' previous visit we had a Room at the front which overlooks the Pedestrian Roadway, there was some noise that Night from passing revellers. Whilst the Hotel doesn't have a Car Park they do have an 'arrangement' with a local Car Park so you get a preferential rate for your Stay
By way of a Tip, if you have a couple of Hours to spare, take a stroll down to the nearby River, go on One of the River Dee Cruises & then have Lunch in One of the numerous Bar Restaurants along the River side

Room Tip: If you want a 'Quieter Room' ask for One at the Back of the Hotel. While we were there, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    540
    334
    159
    103
See reviews for
161
1,079
38
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very well located, hotel was clean, historically fitted, we had a room with a view, found out the hard was that it was double glazed, noisy first night, but sound proof with the double glazing!! Staff were very helpful, changed our room to a higher one with no hesitation, only issue was there was no Internet in room, but available downstairs in the foyer!!!

Room Tip: Would stay here again!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moxa1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a gorgeous room with a complimentary tea tray, plenty of tea and coffee. The room was large, clean and very quiet. The bed was massive and very comfortable especially the pillows. We were on a room only basis so didn't eat at the hotel. Staff very friendly and the hotel is just a stones throw from the centre of Chester. Extra touches in the room are trouser press, iron and ironing board there was also a large fan which was handy as the room was warm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

After a few nights camping, a night in Blossoms was exactly what we needed to end our bank holiday weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Claire on reception was so lovely and extremely efficient in her role, she deserves to be highly commended for her professionalism, efficiency and overall demeanour. She made our stay so much more personal and enjoyable.
The room we stayed in was beautiful, comfortable and spacious. It was split over 2 levels and the bathroom was huge, and considering we were both in desperate need of a shower, it was a luxury. A bottle of wine was delivered to the room complimentary from reception which was a lovely treat. The littlest things really do matter. We will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 123 is on a split level, bathroom and large changing room is downstairs. Room faces the main sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefernee1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I love Chester it is one of my favourite places in the country and this hotel reflects why. It is built into an old building and the authenticity is still there within the main areas such as the grand stair case. We booked our weekend which included dinner on the night of arrival, breakfast on both mornings and two tickets to Chester zoo it was a bargain. The room was a nice size, clean with a lovely bathroom it looked onto the Main Street but we heard barely any noise or commotion. We were in walking distance to everything within the city which was helpful. The staff at the hotel were more then helpful both on reception and in the restaurant. Our meal on arrival was beautiful and you are not limited to what you can have, it's just anything off the menu. Breakfast had a good choice of both hot and cold food and we were full up for the day afterwards. When staying in Chester again I will definitely stay here :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B4S21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Wifi was at extra cost and difficult to set up. Noisy room, very small portion of chips via room service. Stairs on the way to our room despite the hotel being aware we had a baby and would be carrying a travel cot and buggy. However the bed was comfortable, the staff friendly and the breakfast very tasty

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippingtiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked through last minute.com and once we parked up in the grovesnor centre car park it was relatively easy to find although would recommend using lift in the centre if you have a lot of bags. We got there half hour early and room was ready. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would also recommend paying for breakfast when you arrive as it is cheaper than paying in the morning. Great Location near city walls and amphitheatre. We had a quiet room but l can see that depending on room you would hear a lot from the street. Nice room but only downside was the heat! Rest home style temperature which can't be adjusted in August made for a rather trying night's sleep although bed was very comfortable. There was a fan which helped.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedfordshirePickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing