We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oddfellows(Chester)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,961)
Filter reviews
1,961 results
Traveller rating
662
599
383
190
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
599
383
190
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkcentral locationlovely hotelexcellent locationon arrivalcooked breakfastblack puddingreception staffearly hoursevening mealcity breakbreakfast was excellentexecutive roomafternoon teasaturday nightfull englishmy birthday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,490 - 1,495 of 1,961 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is in the city centre and it has been reported be a little noisy. We stayed over a weekend and had a room at the front of the hotel, ok you did get some noise but nothing really intrusive.
We chose to travel by train rather than negotiate central Chester by car, it's only a 10 minute walk from the station and who needs a car in Chester?
Staff we very good, a special mention to the restaurant manager who was both pleasant and efficient. A tip regarding breakfast on Sunday morning, get down by 9.00am and the restaurant is less than half full so no issues regarding waiting time etc!
The hotel itself is located close to the Eastgate Clock & city walls.
For real ale lovers take the short walk to Lower Bridge Street and sample the Brewery Tap, Cross Keys and Bear & Billet...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minstermen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent 28, 29 & 30 November here. Whilst the reception staff are excellent the hotel is tired and the restaurant lacks atmosphere. We were kept awake on all three nights by noisy people in the street leaving clubs and bars. Sunday morning breakfast certainly gave Fawlty Towers a run for its money! We had to queue for 20 mins despite tables being empty but not enough staff to clear them. Had to remind staff twice for tea and coffee and we were served our cooked breakfast whilst still eating our cereal! Everyone was experiencing the same which created the wrong atmosphere. Parking is a pain because you have to lug your suitcases through the shopping centre to access the car park. Not the experience I expected from a Macdonald Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Sue F

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel.

I would like to apologise for the breakfast experience on Sunday morning and would like to thank you for your compliment towards our staff, they were delighted to hear about it.

You are able to drop luggage off at the hotel upon arrival before parking your car which our staff will be happy to store or take to your room. I apologise if this was not made clear at booking stage. As with any city centre hotel there may be a degree of noise from people in the street however we have an excellent location to enjoy the delights of Chester.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel and should you wish to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Excellent location, although no on site parking only a few minutes walk from the multi-storey which as a hotel guest you get discount. Ask at reception. Hotel staff were very friendly, evening meal at the hotel was lovely. Couldn't fault the rooms, spacious although as in previous reviews I think depending on where you are in the hotel it can be noisy. We were towards the back and there was the groaning of a fan until about 10pm which started again early in the morning. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spenner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here after a long meeting as there where no rooms left at the Abode, not very easy to get to by car, due to the one way system. There is also no onsite parking you have to use the shopping centre car park and walk round the block.

Our room was quite small for the money and very very hot, even with the rad off and no A/C available. As an old hotel you can hear every movement from the room above, so aim for a top floor.

Even though the room was clean and with a nice bathroom, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: My tip is be careful if using the hotel postcode in your sat nav as it does not take you to the hotel entrance.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fisher_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed 23 November 2013. My family stayed in the New Blossoms hotel last night and had a lovely experience, After shopping till we dropped in Chester City Centre, we got back to the hotel and relaxed, The room was comfortable and very clean, We had the evening meal in the Steak Grill restaurant and that was lovely. Breakfast this morning was lovely, you could choose from , cereals, cakes, meats, cheeses, fruit and juice, This was followed by their signature full English,

A lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews